We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Cascade, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was our first trip to Belize, the value for dollar at the Tides was excellent, the rooms were old but clean and just fine, I liked that they had a fridge, the staff was amazing, so helpful,anything you need they would arrange, the bartender Jullio, was the best, the location was great, near to a lot of things , yet not right in the heart of town, I would recommend a golf cart no matter where you stay, the view was great from the tides. Very relaxing !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanTideBeach, General Manager at Ocean Tide Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Greetings Kathy,

Thank you so much for your review of the resort. I am happy to hear that you had a relaxing stay here at Ocean Tide Beach Resort. We really work hard to give the best service, and I'm glad to see those efforts pay off on your visit. I will make sure Julio gets the recognition he deserves.
Hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    100
    41
    14
    11
See reviews for
45
148
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great location right on the beach within walking distance to the center of SP. The owner has spent some time upgrading the exterior of the building as well as the pool area which is quite beautiful and relaxing. Bartenders are really friendly and happy to assist with whatever questions you may have about the island. Our issue was with the actual room. The air conditioner was not in good form. The room never really got much colder with the air on then without and the small bar fridge made so much noise through the night that we finally had to unplug it at 3am so we could get some sleep. Perhaps the other rooms are in better condition? Regardless we enjoyed our stay at Ocean Tide and would return. We'd just ask for a different room next time around!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Newfie_Chick2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanTideBeach, General Manager at Ocean Tide Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Greetings Newfie_Chick2014,

Thank you for posting a review, renovations have been done to the exterior and interior building. As we make progress everything is going to be updated. You can also find us and the new pictures on our webpage as well as Facebook. We are sorry you had to experience some of the things we have not updated yet. When you come back please reach me direct at 501-651-8599 if I can be of any assistance. My sincere apologies again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We spent 5 nights in May 2015 and had a very nice stay here at a reasonable price, compared to many other hotels on the island.
The hotel is quite close to the center of San Pedro (5 minutes walking) so no need to rent golf carts or bikes, and it is basically by the beach. Very good location, I would say.
The staff was very friendly, too.
Definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Niccolò D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanTideBeach, General Manager at Ocean Tide Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Greetings Niccolò,

Thank you for your awesome review of the resort. I'm happy to hear that you had a nice stay here. My staff has been working really hard to give the best service and I'm glad to see those efforts pay off. Everyone is so nice and friendly because we have the best guests.
Thank you for the great comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in early May 2014. The hotel was nearing the end of some renovations while there but it did not disrupt our stay in any way and it will make it much nicer for anyone going there now. The new pool area and bar is very nice and is 6 feet from the beach so a beautiful spot to sit and relax.
The hotel itself is basic - not a resort by any stretch - but perfectly nice and good value given its location. The rooms are large, airy and extremely clean. Good showers, working aircon and the beds are comfortable. Some minor details are lacking which would enhance the place (glasses in the rooms, there is a coffee maker but no mugs, shampoo/toileties in the bathroom) but these are minor details really and overall, the room is very good value for the money.
The hotel's major selling point is the location. Literally on the beach so pristine views right outside the door and it's just on the edge of town so it's quiet and tranquil of an evening yet only 5 mins walk down the beach to the centre. It's walkable to the water taxi stops and 30 seconds to 2 convenience stores so location wise, it was spot on for us.
The hotel staff are all super-friendly and very helpful and will do whatever they can to help you. Overall - a really nice stay here and can definitely recommend. If you're after a clean, relaxing, friendly place in a perfect location by the beach that's great value for the money, this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TybaltManchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanTideBeach, General Manager at Ocean Tide Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Greetings TybaltManchester,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay. We appreciate your kind words about our resort. I will pass along your praises to the staff.
When you come back again, make sure you give us a call or send email direct.
We will all be so happy to have you back.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piacenza, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

- PROS: Friendly staff, large and bright room, beautiful view of the ocean (Island Room, third floor) and good value for the price.
- CONS: The wardrobe could be too small for two people in a long stay. Some hangers in the room and in the bathroom could be useful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank VeroAnausta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanTideBeach, General Manager at Ocean Tide Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Greetings VeroAnausta,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate that all our guests share there experiences at our resort. Sending us good feedback, so that we can make future guests more comfortable on there stay here. I will pass your along your praises to my staff. Thank you again for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stood in the room with a king bed. Much better than the two doubles. There is a new poolside bar. It just opened so there are limited drinks but the bartender assured us there is more to come. Right on the beach and in walking distance to food. The DJ has an awesome playlist. If you're looking for a quiet place to stay in though this is not the island to stay in. Anywhere you stay you will hear construction from nieghbors. The staff is very friendly. I would recommend to anyone staying in San pedro. Great price too!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanTideBeach, General Manager at Ocean Tide Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Greetings Karina R,

Thank you so much for your review. I'm happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. I will make sure to pass your review to my staff and thank you again for an amazing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandria, virginia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We spent one week at the tides. The representation in pictures is what we got. The best way to review this hotel being fair is giving all the Pros and Cons.

Pros:
Large rooms, ocean front, awesome view, staff very attentive and caring.
Rooms have small frig and small coffee maker as advertised
Pool is clean, bar has big screen tv, and music plays all day. Seating around pool sufficient.
Area to park golf carts if needed. Close to grocery store and restaurants. Dive Pro on site.
Third floor was the best, no noise and best view.
Mattress and air conditioning were fine( very important to us)
Feeling of good security, cameras installed in all the common areas.

Cons:
No coffee or mugs in rooms, no glasses or cups either
No shampoo, ( hotels, motels, resorts offer these)
Pool chairs do not have cushions.
Construction and painting still going on at tides. I complained about the noise and the electric saw stopped.

New bar brings many locals to tides. My concern is that the hotel cater to its registered guest, and pool area and pool not become the local community recreation center. The first three days the pool area and pool was so full of locals we decided to go else where. Some one must have complained because by the 4th day, it had cleared out and was finally able to use a pool chair and take a dip. My concern was because the hotel was sold out.

The tides is a very clean and reasonable choice on the water in a great location. It is an Inn not resort.

Room Tip: Top floor room has best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tikibartobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanTideBeach, General Manager at Ocean Tide Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Greetings tikibartobe,

Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay. We appreciate your kinds words about our resort. We have been upgrading the rooms as well for amenities for our guests. My apologies that you stayed here during our renovation time, the renovation of the exterior of the building has ended. We will start the renovation for the rooms which will be more amenities for our guests than they had when you were here. Thank you again for your feed back and we will ensure that we add those needed amenities. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.5 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#19 of 53 in San Pedro
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#25 of 53 in San Pedro
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,026 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#40 of 53 in San Pedro
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Tide Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Tide Beach Resort

Property: Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Address: 57 Boca Del Rio Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye SP-00000, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Tide Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the town San Pedro, on the island of Ambergris Caye, you will find our beachfront resort with unobstructed reef views. Enjoy snorkeling, diving, fishing, along with free wi-fi all walking distance to downtown.Ocean Tide Beach Resort is Different from Other Belize Vacation Resorts: * Ocean Tides is a property offering an outdoor pool and is located in the beautiful beaches of San Pedro. * We serve breakfast and lunch poolside from the beachside Bar / Lounge, The Lazy Pelican. * Free Wi-Fi access is available in this property. * These functional rooms offer air conditioning, cable TV, coffee maker, and a small fridge. The bathrooms feature a bath and a shower. These rooms overlook the great barrier reef. * Other facilities offered include a tour desk and a laundry. An array of activities can be enjoyed on site or in the surroundings, including snorkeling. * San Pedro Airport can be reached in a 5-minute golf cart drive. The property offers free parking and is located right on Boca del Rio Beach.* Every room has an ocean view: Whether you stay in our charming 2nd floor Beachfront suites or the 3rd floor Reefview suites, you'll treasure the views from your windows. * We're small enough to offer you the best: You'll get individual attention, and won't be over crowded. Our resort is modern and charming. We make people feel like long missed family. * We have our own dive shop, snorkel/fishing guide and massage therapist: We're give you all that a Belize vacation has to offer: mysterious Mayan ruins, world class fishing, spa treatments, boating, jungle exploring, snorkeling, some of the best scuba in the world and plain old beach bumming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Tide Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Beach Hotel San Pedro
Tides Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing