We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant and owner are number one!”

Doc'ks Tiki Bar & Grill
Ranked #8 of 191 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$25
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Whether you're looking for a delicious meal or a cold beer or cocktail, we've got it! We serve a variety of dishes including Belizean cuisine, chicken, locally-caught seafood, and our favorite, Texas BBQ! You're sure to enjoy an incredible view of the ocean from our upstairs patio. We are located right on the beach, across from Ambergris Divers.
Lake Elsinore, California
2 reviews
“Restaurant and owner are number one!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great view of the water, beach and the people as they go by. Great food ... and they're not afraid to personalize your meal if you have a special need or request. Portions are generous. Just don't forget to chat with Mario! He's a wealth of information about the area and he's happy to share. Plus, you've got to get one of their t-shirts!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    799
    166
    57
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice little beachside dining place”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Licks is definitely a nice place to eat or have snacks on the San Pedro beach. A great location where you can watch people arrive on the ferry, the front porch is prime for people watching.

The food is good, but you do pay for the location. Keep an eye on prices and you'll be fine. We ordered lobster fritters for a large group and had a bit of sticker shock. My bad for not watching prices. Generally you can eat well and cheap off the beach. But for dining with a nice sea breeze, and fresh food, this was great.

The proprietor is very social and will likely chat with you, so it's not a place to go and be anonymous. The wait staff did forget a couple of items we ordered. I was full from the appetizers and shared some of my co-diner's food, so that was ok, but if you are truly hungry and your food doesn't appear with the other orders on your table, it's best to follow up on it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dscotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navarre, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You've arrived”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The ferry ride from Belize City was a pain in the butt,..literally. 1hr and 20 minutes if you don't stop in Caye Caulker. There at the end of the pier is Lick's. Mario welcomes you while you wait for you luggage to be off loaded. He's got the outside grill fired up cooking up this evenings' feast. Here have a Belikin while you wait. Come back for a snack, lunch, dinner or another beer. It's worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrbob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio TX
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great food & a good spot to hang out!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We drank and ate here four times during our 12-day stay - and liked it every time! Licks is literally at the water taxi dock, so you can spend some time there on the front porch awaiting your arrivals, which we did twice. (It also gives you a good chance to run down the dock to greet your loved ones - very dramatic.) We also ate breakfast and had mid-afternoon drinks there. Mario is great with a blender and makes inventive frozen drinks...have several and DO NOT miss the lobster fritters in season. So very delicious!!! Friendly staff and best front porch in San Pedro.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flavorchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks, CA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Last dinner feast”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We were walking down the beach, came to licks. I knew TA reviews were good so we went in. So glad we did. I had blackened lobster (2 tails) with a mango salsa, and two sides for $20 us. My buddy had a snapper dish he loved. Our waitress was delightful, and because we were the only diners upstairs she spent time talking with about her life goals and plans. It was very windy that night but we were happy we stopped in.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank EEBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doc'ks Tiki Bar & Grill also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Doc'ks Tiki Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing