We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and close to island life”
Review of Sands Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sands Villas
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Elegant and close to island life”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Sands Villas is a unique & elegant resort. Its brand new and spacious, with spectacular views, elegant furnishings, right down to the dishes and coffee maker, and a warm helpful staff. The location is the best on the island. Securely and centrally located. We could easily beach walk to town and mingle with the natives, browse the gallery-shops and fabulous restaurants, just hang out by the pool or do morning stretches on the pier. Close by is a grocery store, a fruit and vegetable stand (ask Dona Maria to blend you a gallon of fresh juice) and a blocks walk to Crazy Canucks, the most happening place on the island every sunday. Scuba Diving, snorkeling, sailing, wind surfing are just a few of the attractions, an easy walk away. Each unit is alike but different, personalized by the owner, not unlike a boutique hotel. Don't miss the laid back paradise.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views, but treat yourself to a beachfront unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glowtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Just returned from a wonderful vacation at Sands Villas. Great 2 BR/2BATH condo that we shared with friends had plenty of room, beautiful finishes and separated bedrooms (with extremely comfortable beds & pillows) & baths. Wonderful ocean and pool views from extensive balconies. Also the best view on the island for the New Years fireworks display. Perfect location across from shopping is walking distance to great restaurants and fun outdoor bars. This is the place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

What a fun trip. Sands Villas were delightful. The rooms were spacious and very clean, the view was spectacular and the location was very convenient. We stayed with friends in a two bedroom unit, it was a perfect vacation spot. Everyone staying at Sands Villas (some owners, some just guests like us) were friendly and it became one big party. The owner even sent everyone on a water taxi out to a great spot for breakfast. You will never find better snorkeling than Belize and we have snorkeled all over. The only negative about Sands Villas is although the exterior is completely finished and beautiful many of the rooms are not complete, but this worked in our favor - it wasn't crowed!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Unbelievable, rooms not remotely like seen on Expedia. They have one room that looks like the advertised ones, they just don't give it to you. We literally were screamed at for asking to be moved due to the infestation in bugs in the tub and lack of cleanliness. They have not refunded our money and Expedia is zero help. I highly recommend going to the Grand Colony Island Village down the road, more money but gorgeous and amazing staff.

Apparently the condo owners and hotel management are having some sort of disagreement and most rooms are closed as is most of the resort amenities. Scary stuff....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 34tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
794 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambergris Beach House
Ambergris Beach House
#25 of 31 in San Pedro
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel
0.4 mi away
Changes In Latitudes Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Ambergris Lake Villas
Ambergris Lake Villas
#12 of 21 in San Pedro
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Villas

Property: Sands Villas
Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sands Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Villas Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing