We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere, Wonderful Food!”

Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar
Ranked #47 of 185 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$50
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Only restaurant that specializes in wonderful recipes of the famous invasive lionfish! Other seafood & meats served as well in a rustic outdoor island setting (Walk Ins). Try our Chef's Table Option for the ultimate dining experience where you watch your meals prepared in front of you by Belize's Taste Of Belize Master Chef Competition 2016 Top Finalist, Chef Mar.(Reservations Required.) Fun Bar Atmosphere
Itasca, Illinois
1 review
“Great Atmosphere, Wonderful Food!”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My husband and I stumbled upon this awesome restaurant while exploring North of the bridge.
We stopped for dinner and drinks and were very pleasantly surprised.
Our meal began with the best jalapeño poppers we've ever had. The tropical drinks were good too! The coconut husk smoked pork chops were soooo tasty.
We ended up going back the next night for an equally great experience.
I wish we found this place earlier in our trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefMar, Owner at Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Oh Kevin and Cindy, how we miss you both here at PirateVillas/Pirates Treasure! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your meals and other happy experiences here. The staff says hello and we hope to see you both sometime soon. keep in touch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    41
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food, Fun atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My wife and I were in San Pedro for 14 days and ate most of our meals at Pirates Treasure. The food is excellent no matter what you order and the staff are all friendly and make you feel welcome. My wife and I are gonna miss Jason, Mareesha, David, and Naomi. They are a bunch of great people and very good at their craft.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klt1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefMar, Owner at Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
It is almost that time for some great 'Belizean Sun' and Kevin some late night snack..haha

It was such fun meeting you two and having you as our guest at pirate Villas! Moments never to be forgotten! Come back for some excellent food and nothing to do time!

Thanks for the awesome review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyville, Belize
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yum, Yum, Yum”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Oh the Lionfish ceviche.....what a delicious treat...(more like a meal in itself) Great little spot, just on the Northside, on your way to anywhere across the bridge. We'll stop again, WITH appetites!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefMar, Owner at Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
We sure hope you stop in again! We will have much more lion fish specialties ready for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Well Worth The Trek From South of Town!”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We made the trek twice - once on bicycles, and again in a golf cart. Such a nice, laid-back atmosphere. The owner is from Atlanta and allows free phone calls to the U.S. His dog is really sweet, the cocktails are super, I only wish I'd tried his award-winning lionfish. (They're a pest there.)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martrese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefMar, Owner at Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your time spent our place and came more than once. We work hard to keep everyone happy with a laid back atmosphere and great food. Be sure to try the 2011 Award winning Pina Colada Lion fish..it is yummy and it helps to eliminate this invasive specie from eating all of our beautiful juvenile fishes that makes our barrier reef what it is....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
78 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pirate's Treasure - a Real Treasure on Ambergris Caye”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Mars and Jas provide an unbelievable dining experience at Pirate's Treasure. The ambiance is outstanding. The lobster and lionfish is to die for.. all for a fair price... We loved our time on Ambergris Caye and really loved Pirate's Treasure. They also do take out... one night we had a seafood pasta that was to die for... Must visit when on the island....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefMar, Owner at Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
So good to hear you had a wonderful time here at Pirates treasure restaurant! Yes, all the treasure is in your plate whether you dine in or take out. We now do free deliveries within close proximity! See you guys when you come back to la isla bonita!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Pirate's Treasure Restaurant and Chilled Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing