We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Cheesy Cheese Burger” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DJ's - CLOSED

DJ's
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Loved the Cheesy Cheese Burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our hotel was nearby so we ate at DJ's twice and got the Cheesy Cheese burger both times. I was so good, a hunk of mozzarella cheese on top of the patty... it was all cooked just right, served with fries...

It sits about 30 yards off the ocean next to a community basketball court so lots to take in while you sit there. I miss it already...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    18
    7
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Absolutely incredible burger and fries!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I normally don't crave hamburgers but DJ's had received such good reviews I figured I would try it. This restaurant is located just south of the Boca del Rio bridge between the "downtown" part of San Pedro and the northern part of the island. Just walk up the street past Richie's Market and it's just before the bridge on the right.

DJ's is an open air bar right on the beach. The atmosphere is casual and fun. When I was there there were several people just sitting around the bar, including locals (which is a good sign). I was attended to right away and given a menu. This is a "build your own burger" place. You pick the patty you want and add your toppings. They have different kinds of lettuce, cheeses, and sauces. I ordered a basic burger with lettuce, tomato, and barbecue sauce and some fries. The burger was cooked perfectly and was really juicy. The fries were great as well. I'd say it was one of the best burgers I've ever had.

This place is well worth the walk. The food was great. The service was great. The atmosphere was great. The meal (with soft drink and tip) was about US$12.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ElGringoViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, New York
Level Contributor
424 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“One of the best burgers we've ever had anywhere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This little spot (a bit hard to find since the signage is vague) is worth a spot for a drink or, especially, a burger. It is truly delicious and inexpensive. It overlooks a lovely spot on the beach. It is not fancy at all, but has a dynamite cheeseburger and friendly wait staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank milliegordon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We came back twice - Our group of 16 was served in no time. The staff was friendly. One of our group members raved that it was the best burger he has had.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
1 review
“Great food and gorgeous view of the Caribbean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I live in San Pedro, Belize so I can dine anywhere. I often choose DJ's as the food is really fresh, tasty and nice portions. DJ's faces the Caribbean sea and the reef, so its a great spot to drink and have lunch or dinner. There's a park next door where kids play basketball, golf carts go by and little produce stores dot the street behind DJ's. Its just a cool location. Also, say hi to the manager Karen, who really cares
about quality.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chefbrucewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DJ's also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing