We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really creative chocolates - can you say "yum"?”

Belize Chocolate Company
Ranked #1 of 15 Shopping in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bean to Bar Chocolate maker offering everything chocolate. From bars to truffles, cookies to chocolate tea, chocolate soaps to cocoa powder. All made by us in Ambergris Caye. Now including chocolate making classes.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“really creative chocolates - can you say "yum"?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I can't even tell you everything they put in their chocolates, but they are so delicious and like nothing you have had. I just had them select for me a box of 15, all were scrumptious. Right in the heart of San Pedro, if you love chocolate don't miss this place. All made locally.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    50
    14
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Disappointing when owners are on vacation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

On our first trip to Belize, we travelled with 3 children (ages 5-10 yrs) who were so hyped up on visiting the Belize Chocolate Company. We read all the write ups from sanpedroscoop, ambergris today, their own webpage and their own facebook page, etc, but upon our arrival, we were so let down. The owners were on vacation, and we found little to what we reviewed online: no tours or any chocolate making discussion to offer, no chocolate spoons, no choc lobster game, no cacao bean earrings (my girls were soooo bummed! as the ambergristoday.com website showed beautiful cacao bean pendant earrings....less than 2 year old article!), NO white chocolate....other than a 5"x8" bark and no offer to give me a single portion cube!, very little selection in the case to choose from or to prepare as gifts (6, plus some skinny dried dipped fruit "sticks" and the huge white chocolate bark!). I spent a month reading with my mouth watering about the different flavors (chili, tequila, stout, red velvet), the cute sea animal shapes, the white, milk, dark chocolate spoons.....NONE of this available. we settled on cookies and left...heart heavy, sweet tooth unsatisfied, kids still looking for someone to talk to them about how chocolate was made. Any website (their own and local tour info) state that Kakaw chocolates can be found in resorts and stores.....NOTHING. All we found in several gift shops, groceries, stores by the water taxi, and hotels was Cotton Tree Chocolates. Nothing in the Airport either. Everything on the website made it so inviting to stop and try. The location is gorgeous, right on the beach with a cute back porch. But during our only trip to Belize, it no where near fulfilled our chocolate dreams or matched what we read online.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank julesCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A MUST if you love chocolate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Being a chocolate lover, I was delighted to find the Belize Chocolate Company. Over the course of our stay, we visited twice and purchased numerous things - all of which we enjoyed. Cookies, chocolate bars, cheesecake, etc. We even purchased brownie mix to make at our condo and brought cocoa home to use in hot chocolate and other recipes. A great place to visit if you are in San Pedro!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bgrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Oh. My. Gosh. Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We had the chocolate shake quite a few times while here. It is so delicious. The chocolate fish and the cookies...basically everything here is wonderful. Wishing I were drinking a chocolate shake and breathing in the chocolate air of the shop right now. Love this place.

Helpful?
Thank Molly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Chocolates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing mix of handmade chocolates with local Belizean chocolate. Many different unique flavor combinations. Good prices as well.

Helpful?
Thank jmarte05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belize Chocolate Company also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Belize Chocolate Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing