We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belizean Shores Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belizean Shores Resort
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at Belizean Shores in July 2012 for our honeymoon. This was our third stop in Belize and it was a great way to end our honeymoon. The first two hotels had no A/C so Belizean Shores felt like a luxury resort! We stayed in an upstairs room facing the ocean. It is a very big space and we were spoiled with the A/C and TV! Ha, the Olympics were on and we did not have TV in our two previous hotels, so it was a treat. The room was great, the bed was so comfortable, there was a little kitchen which was nice, the staff was nice also. The resort is actually a bunch of privately owned condos whose owners rent out as a resort, so it was funny to meet some of the owners in the pool and hear about their life in Belize! The pool was very nice and the swim up bar was fun. We are not really lounge at the pool or beach people though so we did not spend too much time there. The restaurant is not that nice, but was convenient when we needed a snack. We bought the water taxi pass and went into town for all our meals. For breakfast there was a vendor riding by on a bicycle every morning selling breakfast tacos! (Or go into town to Estelle's!) There are not a lot of restaurants in close walking distance so we definitely made use of the water taxi. But going into town was a lot of fun and part of the experience. Overall we really liked the resort and we liked that Tuff E Nuff tours was right there at the Belizean Shores dock!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrienneCowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    258
    48
    9
    3
See reviews for
199
378
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dime City, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

My girlfriend and I were completely blown away at the level of service we received at the Belziean Shores resort on our recent stay. The staff was extremely friendly and took care of our every need. While in the restaurant we met the woman who owns it who was on her way the door after a long hard day yet she still stopped to ask us how our food was and give us some notes on things to do/see while on the Island. It is apparent that everyone who works here is proud of the establish and takes great pride in their part of making guests feel right at home. Would we stay here again? Absolutely, without hesitation!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

My fiance' and I had stayed at this resort for 7 days in March of this year (2012). It was cool having to ride the small plane, then a taxi, then a boat to the Shores.

The place was nice and quiet. The furniture was a bit old-school but it gives a true island feel. (Reminds of the Philippines). The staff was always helpful and Tuff E Nuff staff was awesome. Shout out to Raul!

We had an upstairs villa closest to the sea with the balcony facing the ocean. We left the balcony doors open all day and just layed there. Great breeze, great weather.

The food at the restaurant could be a bit better and not too expensive, but we ended up grocery shopping in San Pedro and just cooked breakfast daily and ate in the balcony.

We didn't do too many adventures as I wanted to relax, but next time will do for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 16Diamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Belizean shores consists of privately owned condos that are operated as a hotel. We had a three bedroom right on the beach. This is not a Ritz-Carlton, but if you want lots of space, be on the beach, have a pool and restaurant, and have it be relatively cheap and very clean, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 128Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

getting to belizean shores is a little adventure in itself from the cramped paper airplane ride from belize city to the 10 minute water taxi then a cold rum punch into your weary hand and all is well. cannot say enough about the staf and how friendly everyone is. on site diveing is a plus and tuff e nuff does'nt dissapoint. food and drinks were great at the pool bar and restaurant. all served very timely for island standards. room was very clean and comfortable. rent a bike for the day from the office and cruise down the beach for some island sightseeing. they warn about going to the reef with the kayaks and you should take heed. tried to kayak surf the break and didnt make out that well lol. pool is great except hot tub was a little hot. great resort and will definately return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

This is a very clean resort, drinks are pretty expensive compared to town. Make sure you bring bug spray for the night time. The rooms were great kind of like a condo instead of a room. If you want to go into town a lot I would recommend a hotel closer. Its about a 30 minute bike ride or 20 minute golf cart ride. The food at the resort is pretty good but I definitely recommend going to town for food and drinks. If you want to do excursions just walk down the beach and find a guide for snorkeling or fishing it was a lot cheaper. As far a places to eat Waraguma's in town was the best and cheapest food of the trip. Ak Bol was halfway from the resort to town and had great breakfast menu and lunch and was very affordable. I like quiet and this was definitely the best place for me to stay, I would go back

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMV88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We were greeted at the dock with cool rum punch drinks and a smiling staff. The room assignments for our party were goofed up and so there was some reshuffling and confusion to get started. There were twelve in our party spead out in five rooms. The staff did not come to the room for over an hour to complete registation and then only when called by us. We were supposed to have a gallon of water in the refigerator that is to be refilled at a central set of spigots that are fed from a reverse osmosis unit. The jug of water was missing and we had to call for it.

The room was very nice. It was clean and the air conditioning worked splendidly. The kitchen was well equipped. Housekeeping was consistently good and detailed. The coffee maker spilled coffee (which we had to provide) until I worked on the strainer basket and got it working. The spring in the shut off valve was too strong so I modified it to allow the basket to empty (I think the real issue was a replacement decanter that was not exactly the correct height).

The pool is of a beautiful layout and is well kept. It is not really a kid friendly pool as it has a lot of steps, a hot tub in the middle, and a deep step off near the swim up bar. No problem for us as we were all adults. There was an ample number lounge chairs. My down arrow here is that there is no music or entertainment. The bartender has a small IPod player that is discernable in the bar area but that is all. There is a volleyball court layed out in the pool, but no net or poles are available. The bar tender reported that the net and poles have not been seen in a very long while.

The beach front is beautiful and is kept clean. Seaweed collects every night and is cleaned up early each morning. However, there is no defined swimming area along the beach and the grassy bottom discourages wading in. I was disppointed at how much trash in general is in the ocean along Ambergris Caye, so you can expect to encounter lots of small plastic along the shoreline and in the shallows.

The drinks at the bar are tasty but are very expensive. Happy hour was two drinks from a select list for $12 US. You could instead get a double but it really wasn't a double pour. Our first bar bill on the evening we arrived was $46 US. We had only a few drinks each, so we ended up buying beer and liquor in San Pedro and making our own to drinks around the pool. I recommend taking a Tervis cup or the like to take advantage of the blender in your room.

The on-site restaurrant was average. The prices are in line with all of the food on Ambergris Caye; expensive. We also bought food in town and seafood at the dock. We made breakfast, most lunches and a few dinners over the week. Shop the local roadside vegetable vendors for fresh stuff and beans and rice at a locals price. There was a BBQ on Thursday night with live music. We found out about it when we saw it being set up. Unfortunately, we had already made plans to eat in town. The restaurant does not a very good job communicating their menu or specials.

The hotel is 3.5 miles from town. Water taxis are available but have a set schedule. The cost is $6 one way. We rented three golf carts for the week for $150 US each to give us mobility. I use mobility lightly as the road from San Pedro is full of potholes and deep mud holes after each rain, which occurs frequently in this part of the world. It takes about 30 minutes to make the 3.5 mile trip. Also, there is bridge over the inlet that costs $5 US for a round trip crossing. Mosquitos are abundant so take your insect repellant.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nukedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
6.1 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
1.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
3.9 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belizean Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Shores Resort

Property: Belizean Shores Resort
Address: San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Belizean Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, casual and comfortable resort, Belizean Shores is the perfect choice for travelers seeking adventure or peaceful relaxation. Our resort features a brilliant pool, pool side snack service, a fun swim up bar, onsite concierge and one of the island’s highest rated tour operations right onsite. Complimentary kayaks and paddle boards are available during the day along with giant chess, ping pong and a dual basketball/tennis court. Bicycle and golf cart rentals can easily be arranged at the front desk as can waterfront or in-room spa services. Located right on the water, guests can also enjoy swimming in the warm Caribbean right from our dock. Located 3.5 miles north of San Pedro town, the resort is outside of the hustle and bustle of town, yet easily accessible via water taxi or ground taxi service or bicycle or golf cart rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Belizean Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Shores Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Shores San Pedro
Belizean Shores Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing