We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belizean Shores Resort
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
141 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Our family, part of a larger group, had a great stay at Belizean Shores.

The water taxi from San Pedro is convenient. Make sure, though, that your luggage makes it from the airport all the way to the boat - some of our group's luggage was left curbside by the taxi about 100 feet from the boat. The arrival process is nice, with a guest services representative taking you directly to your room. Once you have had a chance to relax and unwind from your travels, you can then go to the front desk to complete the check-in process.

The rooms are all spacious suites, with a full kitchen (well-stocked), dining area, and living room. The upper units also have a loft with bedding (varies by unit). Housekeeping was fantastic - the rooms were spotless! Divers would probably do better with an upper unit as their dive gear can be hung-up to dry without the risk of walking off. Laid out in a horseshoe shape around the pool with all units facing the Caribbean, all of the units have a great view. The pool is fantastic with a swim-up bar. A limited menu can be ordered poolside.

The only drawback of Belizean Shores is the restaurant. The food is good, but the structure itself seems to be an after-thought, set-back behind the accommodations on the third floor of a building. So not only are the views poor, two flights of steps are required to get to it - not ideal for anyone with any form of disability. The food is relatively expensive with everything having to be transported in from the mainland. Each unit does have a kitchen, but don't be surprised by the high prices in the grocery stores. Talk to the locals to find out where they go for groceries. Golf carts are available for rent. It is about a 20 minute drive by golf cart down the main road to town. Lots of restaurants are along the road going into town.

The service is outstanding with very friendly staff members. They memorize your names and greet you by name each time they see you. Visit the bar or restaurant enough, and there's no need to order - they know what you want and how you like it.

A wide variety of activities are available from swimming to scuba diving, with paddle boats, sea kayaks, and jet skis also available. The front desk will arrange for spa services either in your room or on the beach.

Room Tip: Buildings 12 and 1 are on the water, but all building have good views of the water. Upper units h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    264
    51
    10
    3
See reviews for
207
387
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This is my third trip to Belizean Shores/COCO Beach properties and cannot say enough wonderful things about this Tropical Paradise on the shores of the Caribbean’s clear blue waters. I have read many of the other writers’ here and I’m at a loss for words for those who wrote negative remarks or comments about the staff, location, food or onsite services.

First off Belizean Shores is a family owned resort on a tropical island, situated on the second largest barrier reef in the world. Their staff; starting with Marianne and Rhoda, the onsite managers are some of the best I’ve come to meet in my travels. They are there to make your visit something to remember and enjoy from start to finish. Then comes the bartenders Mikey and Milton at the Blue Hole pool bar, who too make your visit not just to the bar and pool area something special with custom made drinks, Mikes “Dirty Barrel” rum drink, but are at your every call when on duty, again making sure your visit is a special one. Finally you have the guys at Tuff-E-Nuf (located right on the dock at the resort), from Rico to Sidney, who go out of their way to make you feel at home and provide you with the best taxi, diving and snorkeling services around. Yes they do want your business too, but they also want you to return home with great memories of your trip.

As I said in the beginning, you are on a tropical island, therefore the food is shipped from the mainland out to it, as well as their beer, soda and other products needed. This I’m sure is not an inexpensive service for any of the hotels, stores or restaurants and sadly the cost is passed on to the locals as well as the tourists and other customers. I myself made several trips into town to both the Greenhouse Grocery and Super Buy for provisions, in order to cook a few of my own meals not just for the experience of island life, but to save a few dollars here and there as well.

For me the resort has everything I needed and more, for great tropical vacation. But if you’re expecting a limo at the airport, day care or even MAC’d’s on the island then you need to go to Cancun or Cabo. This is a small and simple property with a total of 48 spacious units, one of the best pools on the island, a well-lit tennis court, bike or golf cart rental service, a restaurant and a water taxi service right at your door. All with ocean views you cannot find any better along the entire Ambergris Caye. For the second time I requested the ocean front room of 11c in the second building back from the beach and ocean. It is a ground floor unit with a small patio in front, and a large living room with loads of curtain covered windows and a sofa sleeper if needed. The bedroom has a “very comfy” king size bed, large closet with safe and an adjoining full bathroom with a glass block shower. The fully equipped kitchen has all handmade cabinets, with “local granite” countertops and stainless steel appliances. There’s a small four chair kitchen table and lovely local artwork donning the walls. The unit has a flat screen TV with both local and national channels from the US and WIFI service that works quite well as each building has its own repeater and my signal never dropped.

I have not stayed in a second floor unit as of yet and do not expect to as I have no need with such a great ground floor unit. I did look at a few and they too are also well equipped and have a loft above the master bedroom with extra beds or a sofa sleeper. They would be great for a large family or a couple that wants the privacy of the upper floor and views. Regardless the AC can keep you quite cool any time of year or if you like warm sea breezes then simply open the well screened windows and enjoy. The hot water in each unit are from an on-demand systems and sometimes the water pressure does drop when all four units are using water at the same time. It’s just part of life in the tropics.

While at the resort I would recommend taking a bike ride along the beach as there’s so much to see and there are many other restaurants in both directions from the property. Make sure you take along some water, sun screen and some cash as there are local vendors along the way and there’s even a young man who sells the best breakfast burritos from his bike each morning. Funny as it sounds the path gets very narrow in places and you have to make way for the locals as they go to and from work or home along the beach as well. You can go all the way into town on the path and come back via the road, as I have stopping along the way. Either way it’s a safe and interesting experience.

Weather if you’re on a bike, golf cart, or water taxi, make sure you stop and try the Palapa Bar along the beach, or Fido’s and Elvi’s in town for lunch, dinner or just drinks. They all serve great food and you’ll have a time of your life hanging out with the locals, Ex-pats or other tourists. If you’re into breakfast than going to Estelle’s is a must. As you can go wrong with anything on their menu, the services is fast and the views are outstanding.

In closing make sure you plan ahead for this wonderful adventure to the tropics and this great little island world. Regardless if you’re just going to hang out around the pool or be on the move every day, plan ahead. You are 3.5 miles from town by bike, boat or golf cart and 35 miles from the mainland by plane or ferry. If you’re wanting any off island sightseeing I’d suggest you book it in advance through the resort or Tuff-E-Nuf as the local sightseeing is easy to do and can be booked the day before. If you want any food and drinks I’d pick them up in town or have them delivered in advance of your arrival. In any case they will be a bit expensive! Finally you won’t need to bring a ton of clothes, this is the tropics and you’re NOT going to impress anybody by what you wear. Last, if you’re planning on buying some local crafts or gifts bring an empty bag as it will make things easier for you going back through customs at the airport.

Belize it or not you’ll have a wonderful time at Belizean Shores resort.

Room Tip: For the second time I requested the ocean front room of 11c in the second building back from the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morefun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

This was a great resort and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was spacious and we had a full kitchen and large living area. Other reviews have commented about the lack of privacy because the upstairs has to walk through the porch area, but that was not an issue for us. We also did not experience any noise issues from those staying above us.

We did have one maintenance issue on the A/C unit, but that was quickly repaired by the resort's maintenance staff.

The pool is excellent with a swim up bar and nice features. A definite plus for the resort.

The beach area is small, but that is standard for resorts in Belize. My one negative for Belizean Shores is the distance from downtown San Pedro. We were in Belize for an event that required us to go to town everyday. The primary means of transportation to town is water taxi that leaves from the pier in front of the resort. This is an additional charge, but a 5 day pass can be purchased for only $30. The frequency of the water taxi makes this means of transportation less than convenient. Unless Belizean Shores (Sandy Point Resorts) increases the frequency of the water taxi, I would recommend staying here only if you don't want to visit San Pedro too frequently.

Room Tip: If you like to sit outside and take in the sights, I would recommend an upstairs room. You can also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LewieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Illinois
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This resort is really nice. It is a little ways away from the town of San Pedro, but you can buy a multi-day ferry pass and they will take you by boat at set times. It was nice to have a kitchen because the town offered some fantastic fruits, vegetables, and seafood that you can make yourself. The pool was nice; I like that it actually had a deep end. The only downside was that the hot tub was set way too hot and made it impossible to sit in there for more than 5 minutes, even at night. The grounds were beautiful and they had kayaks you could borrow that would get you to the coral where the snorkeling was pretty decent. Overall, it was a great trip, which was made better by the fantastic staff. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the proximity to the city of San Pedro.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be in a good location, just some closer to the ocean than others; but all ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChutTheGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

My husband and I went on a spur of the moment trip to Belize in January. We were so pleased with the resort that we extended our stay.
It was perfect from the moment we arrived and were greeted by Marianne with an icy Rum Punch till we regrettably left in the complimentary boat that took us to the airport, Our stay was perfect.
The condo was well appointed with nice furniture and comfortable beds. Rooms were cleaned daily and immaculate.
The location of the resort is on the north side which is free from the hustle bustle and noise of the town, but easy to get to town if desired by boat at a nominal charge. You can also easily bike to town on one of the free beach cruisers. Also free SUP and Kayaks make for fun beach activities
On site excellent dive facilities with TuffEnuff made diving a breeze. Ask for Billy or AC. Very professional.
Can't wait to go back!!!
Worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirtless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Outstanding little resort, perfect hideaway, undisturbed vacation, good services, spacious apartments, with perfect comfort, central a/c, ceiling fans, kitchen, large fridge, very large terrace.
Fantastic pool, all just a few yards away from the beach.
Good , casual dining, with a nice latin touch, great BBQ, with fresh vegatables and salads, great happy hour , starts at 2pm.

All resort staff are bilingual, some speak german as well.
Easy reach to san pedro by watertaxi, we only went once to san pedro, preferred the safe and pleasant ambiance of the resort.

Room Tip: 5 a all rooms - apartments facing the pool and beach, plenty of sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We just overall had an amazing trip. All staff was exceptional, especially the front desk and the bartenders. Maryanne and Levi were just perfect! Funny, accomadating, easy to get along with and friendly! Had a great time at the swim up bar and late night swimming where no one bothered you. The beach was very cute and the view was phenomenal. We loved the rooms. We were in Coco beach next door and we prefered the smaller resort and our rooms as it felt more inviting and had better a nicer bathroom. Even some friends from Coco beach next door were also impressed! You must rent a golf cart and you must try resturants up and down the beach. And you must do nothing and lay around and enjoy the resort! We were in Belize for 2 weeks but we spent out best 4 days were here!! We want to say a special thank you to Mike, Deon, Milton, Maryanne and Levi ! You guys made out trip so relaxing, yet so exciting!!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
6.1 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
1.2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belizean Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Shores Resort

Property: Belizean Shores Resort
Address: San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Belizean Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, casual and comfortable resort, Belizean Shores is the perfect choice for travelers seeking adventure or peaceful relaxation. Our resort features a brilliant pool, pool side snack service, a fun swim up bar, onsite concierge and one of the island’s highest rated tour operations right onsite. Complimentary kayaks and paddle boards are available during the day along with giant chess, ping pong and a dual basketball/tennis court. Bicycle and golf cart rentals can easily be arranged at the front desk as can waterfront or in-room spa services. Located right on the water, guests can also enjoy swimming in the warm Caribbean right from our dock. Located 3.5 miles north of San Pedro town, the resort is outside of the hustle and bustle of town, yet easily accessible via water taxi or ground taxi service or bicycle or golf cart rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Belizean Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Shores Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Shores San Pedro
Belizean Shores Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing