We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Wedding and Family & Friends Vacation Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belizean Shores Resort
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
BC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Perfect Wedding and Family & Friends Vacation Spot”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We were married on the property on March 21; and the day came together relatively seamlessly. Some communication difficulties existed between Canada and Belize during the planning stages during the preceding several months; but the day itself was perfect! The chief wedding planner, Melany Alongi, and the wedding accomodations coordinator, Paula Chun, were professional and thorough- we thank you kindly! Marianne, the guest manager, was warm and perfect for her job! I would recommend this property to a bride wanting a hands-free wedding planning experience! The ladies the resort recommended for various other wedding-related appointments (seamstress, manicurist, pedicurist, and hair and make-up stylist) were all A grade.

The apartments were starting to show their age a bit in the humid washrooms, but were still beautiful and comfortable (air con!) nonetheless. The amount of furniture and kitchenware was adequate.

Housekeeping did a very good job of re-making up the apartments on a daily basis. It was difficult to predict when exactly they would come during the day though. Please remember to tip them :)

The AWESOME thing about the pool is that it doesn't have designated off-hours! The pool is super fun, with many interesting features (built-in seating, fountains, shape, etc.). It gradually becomes deeper from one end to the other, with the deep end (with swim-up bar) named after the country's famous diving hole. The hot tub was relaxing and a great place to soak in the evenings.

We also figured out that you didn't have to necessarily buy drinks at the pool bar to hang out there. We made mixed drinks from the pitchers supplied in our apartments and carried them down to the pool deck :) The same goes for hanging out at the sister property next door, Coco Beach- so bring your pitcher if you don't mind some light strange looks from the swankier guests :)

The wi-fi was of inconsistent strength from area to area, room to room, and even within the same room. A trick my brother discovered toward the latter part of the week was that all the resort phones were VOIP- so, you can plug the phone's ethernet cable into a laptop for fast, wired internet. We even laughed that one could bring their own wireless router!

A strong negative:
An annoying, rude experience was being falsely accused by the bar owner and/or manager, Tania, of being responsible for a late-night break-in of the pool bar and hot tub area the night of our wedding. The wedding partyers were not on site at the time; and she stated the security guard on duty could identify those responsible as being with our group. She also stated she had eyewitness testimony and video surveillance. The witness she spoke of turned out to be one of our wedding guests, who confirmed that another party was at the hot tub during those early morning hours, not ours. She also stated the security guard had chased the hot tub partyers to suite 1C of the property, one associated with the wedding. 1C was rented by my sister and her boyfriend- not harbourers of break-and-enterers. Had we not assertively stated we were not responsible, I believe she would have pressed the issue further- at which point, I would have liked to see the video evidence produced. I was deeply irritated by the lack of due diligence fact-finding performed before bogus accusations were thrown at the NEWLYWEDS the day after their wedding.

The independent tour partner company, Tuff E Nuff, is located right on their dock, and provided a fishing excursion to my husband and his crew on the wedding day- it was very good. However, for snorkeling, it is slightly less costly, with more stops (three vs. two) using Babar from Amigos del Mar, located downtown. We had a group of ten; and he really took care of us, safety and good-time wise :)

Though the second-last paragraph may have painted things in a negative light, please understand that it was a DELIGHT overall staying at this resort; and I would wholeheartedly recommend it! My hope is that someone at the resort reads these words and takes them as points to improve and grow upon. I hope as a holidayer, you can take away a couple pointers. Cheers.

Room Tip: If you're going for ocean-front, house number 1 is more protected by larger palms than house num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonbonshabubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    269
    52
    10
    3
See reviews for
214
394
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We just returned from an 8 night stay at Belizean shores. First let me say Marianne meeting us at the dock with Rum punch was refreshing after a LONG boat ride (spend the extra $ and fly to Ambergris Caye). Belizean Shores provides a complimentary boat ride from San Pedro to the resort. The room was exactly as we saw on the web site. I have to say the bed was so comfortable. The grounds were well maintained and the pool was refreshing! The room was cleaned they even did our few dishes! If there was one complaint it would be the water pressure very weak but who cares when you are in such a lovely place it was sufficient enough to shower. We did not eat at the restaurant so I cannot comment to that but will say the drinks pool side were a bit pricey. Overall we had a wonderful time and the service was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawki34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Just home from a 2 week visit to Belizean Shores, our third time. What the property may lack in fancy new " bell's and whistle's", the staff more than makes up for. Our problems were solved by Maryanne and Rhoda almost immediately and with warm smiles. When we left, saying goodby to Adolfo, Levi and the rest, was hard as they have come to be friends and we will miss them until we can return. It is hard to imagine any place that would work harder to see that your vacation turns out so well as they do at Belizean Shores.

Room Tip: Ask about neighboring construction. Second floors have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiplee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Had a great time staying at Belizean Shores. Marianne and all the staff are awesome BEST service ever. From arrival to departure we had excellent service. The condo was great clean and very cozy, pool and bar are great place to relax. Had many great meals at the restaurant, you have to try there Shevachi, (aka ceviche) one of the best on the island. Location is great close enough to every thing but far enough away to just relax. The staff at Tuff E Nuff Tours Provide a excellent service for any tour you want.

Room Tip: Ocean front is great but a little windy at times. But the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dale470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The Belizean Shores was a great place to stay in San Pedro, Belize. When we landed, in San Pedro, they met us at the airport with a taxi, and after two short blocks, they dropped us off at the Tuff Enuff Dock for a boat ride to the resort. They loaded our luggage on the boat and whisked us away. Maryanne, the guest services manager was waiting with Rum punch or fruit punch as we approched the dock. The porter put our luggage in a wheelbarrow and carried it to our awaiting room. After a little bit, we went to the office to register and get the golf cart we rented. We made our way to a grocery store about 3/4 of a mile up the rode to the north. The road is very rough and had been washed out a few days before. The resort had a great pool area, and my wife loved the coconut mojito's (Thanks Maryanne for the recomendation). The restuarant at the resort was good, we ate there twice. The resort is not far from some other good restuarants as well. The resort has free kayaks, paddle boards, a floating trampoline, and a slide off the dock, all of which was great to use and try. Tuff Enuff has an office at the dock and it was easy to either catch the water taxi or book a snorkle trip. They even let you bill it to your room if you want. I really like the fact that the room was a condo unit instead of a stuffy hotel room. We were able to eat on the front porch and watch the ocean or the sunrise. One day my wife got tamalles from the guy on his bike with a cooler on the front, filled with yummy food. We even got a good recomendation for a place to eat lunch one day from the staff, the Lazy Croc BBQ. The staff was very friendly, and Marianne, remembered everyone's name when you saw her. For our first time in San Pedro Belize, I booked it by expedia and didn't know a thing about it other than the reviews. We were impressed and will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keithfritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This place beat my expectations for what I thought would be a relatively modest budget-conscious vacation rental. First of all, the units are one-bedroom condos, not hotel rooms. They come complete with a kitchen. living/dining room, and bedroom. Each unit is differently furnished, as they apparently are individually owned, but centrally managed. Speaking of management, I have to give the place very high ratings. We were greeted on the dock by two welcome rum punches (they call ahead to find out your preference - booze or no), and the friendly, smiling face of Marianne, the guest services manager. She gave us a nice tour of the property, and arranged to have us moved to a unit closer to the beach the next day. Every single person you encounter in this place is friendlier than the last. It is rare to find a place where you have nothing bad to say about the service; usually, this happens at very high-end hotels like the Orient Express chain of hotels, but this modest condo complex delivers.

The cons: the beach is, at best, for sitting, only. There is mostly seagrass in the water, so you really don't want to go in. The food is at best, unspectacular. Don't bother eating there other than breakfast (which is pricey, at about US $12 plus drinks). Visit San Pedro town instead, or walk up the beach about ten minutes to the Terrazas resort, which has a good restaurant.

Overall - what a terrific place. It's not a super-lux hotel, but the service makes it seem like it is!

Room Tip: There are only a few oceanfront rooms. The rest are all set back a bit, but the ones closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We enjoyed an very peaceful 8 day visit at this resort. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very clean. The pool is very beautiful and is the jewel of the resort. The swim up bar at the pool perfect for a hot afternoon!

The staff help to organize your visit and give great recommendations for outings and dining choices. The staff at the dive shop are very knowledgeable about the area so it makes your diving experience that much better.

You can rent bikes to go into town travelling via the beach. As the hotel is 4 or so miles north of San Pedro, so it is a bit of a ride. Great way to see the sights and discover the town. You can stop at the Palapa Bar and have a refreshment overlooking the sea! A water taxi is available as well on a set schedule so you have to plan a little bit to take it.

Diving and snorkeling is great. Blue Hole trips don't go everyday so plan ahead!

Great value for the money!

Room Tip: Building # 2 is close to the ocean and has an ocean view. Top units are bigger as they have a loft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kruperl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
800 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
851 reviews
0.9 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
459 reviews
2.6 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#19 of 53 in San Pedro
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belizean Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Shores Resort

Property: Belizean Shores Resort
Address: San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Belizean Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, casual and comfortable resort, Belizean Shores is the perfect choice for travelers seeking adventure or peaceful relaxation. Our resort features a brilliant pool, pool side snack service, a fun swim up bar, onsite concierge and one of the island’s highest rated tour operations right onsite. Complimentary kayaks and paddle boards are available during the day along with giant chess, ping pong and a dual basketball/tennis court. Bicycle and golf cart rentals can easily be arranged at the front desk as can waterfront or in-room spa services. Located right on the water, guests can also enjoy swimming in the warm Caribbean right from our dock. Located 3.5 miles north of San Pedro town, the resort is outside of the hustle and bustle of town, yet easily accessible via water taxi or ground taxi service or bicycle or golf cart rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Belizean Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Shores Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Shores San Pedro
Belizean Shores Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing