We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have Mercy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belizean Shores Resort
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

There are truly no words to express how lovely this stay was. We stayed for five nights and six days and from the moment we stepped off the water taxi we were greeted by Penny and given drinks and a warm greeting. I must also note that this is by far the cleanest and prettiest part of the island (I biked up to San Pedro and back). The staff will comb the beach and grounds each morning to help keep debris away. The room was pristine and comfortable. The entire resort felt way more like a friendly neighborhood rather than a hotel or touristy resort. The residents who actually own condos there were very friendly and helpful. We were very blessed to be able to stay here, and I honestly won't stay any where else upon my return. Very highly recommended, ask for Penny!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alyson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

After reading many reviews on this property it proved to be everything we expected. They arranged our flight over from Belize City via TropicAir, met us at the airport and water taxied us to the property where Penny met us on the dock with a rum punch! The property and staff were very professional and exceptionally accomodating! We stayed near the back of the property in 6A. Our unit was clean and comfortable (coffee pot, blender, sparce on utensils, microwave, etc). This vacation destination is not for those that want to sit by the pool and have drinks and food brought to you ... you must be willing to fend for yourself and enjoy the experience of buying groceries/cooking in, taking the water taxi into San Pedro or walking to near by resorts for meals. It was perfect for us! We only ate one meal at the Belizean Shores resturant. As most reviews guided .. it was just ok. We also ate at Captain Morgans and White Sands. Both were good. Our best meal was in San Pedro at El Fagon! We bought breakfast burritos 3 mornings from a guy that comes to the property around 8am.
Most of the nicer properties are North of the bridge (3+ miles from town) ... you will have options to get to San Pedro for meals, shopping, etc.-> water taxi, bicycle or golf cart. We tried all of those options! The golf cart was quite an adventure that we enjoyed (3 miles of VERY bumpy roads). The bicycle ride along the hard packed, sandy beach was a nice workout! The water taxi was great ($5 per way)... you just need to remember the scheduled pick up times. We used Tuff E Nuff tours for several excursions. They were exceptionally accomodating and very low pressure. The property has kayaks, paddle boards and snorkel gear for guests to use for free. The reef is a comfortable kayak trip out. We saw some colorful reef life, some small fish and even a ray at the bouy straight out and to the right. Would highly recommend the Hol Chan Marine trip, the Mayan Ruins and the Cave tubing ... Tuff E Nuff can set all of that up! This was the most relaxing vacation I have taken in quite some time! I wasn't ready to leave!

Room Tip: Front units have ocean breeze, middle units are closer to the pool, near units are near resturant an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CynthiaL1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

After reading the reviews on this website, I couldn't wait for my arrival at the Belizean Shores... and I was not disappointed. Meet at the dock with drinks in hand was the manager Penny, who never failed to serve us in a courteous and professional manner during our entire week stay. The property is beautifully maintained and landscaped, and the second I saw the pool I couldn't wait dive right in. Of all the properties we visited during our week, I was most impressed with the amenities and value at the Shores.
Our upper-level room had an amazing view of the beach and pool and included a fully equipped kitchen and loft with additional beds. If there was any need to visit San Pedro (only 3 1/2 miles away by an easily accessible road or 10 minutes by boat) everything could be arranged by the exceptional staff at the front desk. Food in the restaurant wonderful (try the banana pancakes) and William was the best bartender ever.
The ONLY disappointment (if it could be called that) was the lack of American water pressure in the shower.... but after spending the day in the most beautiful place on the planet, swimming in the pool and taking adventures with Tuff E Nuff Tours (more on that later) I could have cared less about this minor inconvenience. If you do one think in your life, stay here for a week.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGIrl3122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My boyfriend and I just got back from a 6night stay at Belizean Shores and we couldn't have been happier with our stay. For the price for this hotel, the service and experience far exceeded our expectations. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful - everyone from Penny, the fantastic hotel manager, to the bar/restaurant staff, to cleaning staff. We took advantage of almost all of the hotel amenities (bike rental, tennis courts, pool, etc) and had no issues with any of them. Also, one of the great benefits of staying here is that you are also able to utilize the amenities of its more expensive/fancy sister hotel, Coco Beach, which is a 2min walk down the beach.

We especially loved that our room had a fully equipped kitchen which we took advantage of. If I had to think of a downside, the on-site restaurant is only ok so we ended up buying groceries in town and cooking a lot of our meals. As a general rule, since the hotel is a ways away from town, all the food nearby is more expensive so be prepared to pay or go into town and stock up on a few things.

If you're nervous about not being right in town, don't be. San Pedro itself is small and not extremely noteworthy so you'll want to spend most of your time at the resort. The hotel provides a regular water taxi service throughout the day that makes getting to town convenient ($10 USD/roundtrip per person or you can get a 7-day unlimited pass for $40 or a 5-day unlimited pass for $30).

Onsite is also a tour provider, Tuff Enuff, which you can book all of your diving/snorkeling/day trips with which is also very convenient since they operate right off the dock.

Also, there's free wifi throughout the resort but it only really works outside of the rooms, on the deck and in the open areas by the pool. It didn't bother us really since we were there to unplug but just know that the connections in the rooms are essentially nonexistent.

Overall, we HIGHLY recommend Belizean Shores and can't wait to one day return. You won't regret booking this hotel!

Room Tip: The buildings are
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KateSF28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The resort is very laid back, very relaxing. The staff are wonderful, anything they could do for you they did. The managers remembered all the guests names and addressed us by name when we saw them. The pool was refreshing and the hot tub was great for a soak after a day of hiking. We were able to walk from the resort along the beach to town and did so throughout our stay. The resort was very clean and although full most of the time we were there, we never had to search for a lounge chair or fight for a spot at the pool. There are many restaurants which are a short walk away. We loved it so much we bought our own Condo in this paradise.

Room Tip: All condos face the beach, but the Condos at the front have more breeze. All areas of the resort had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My 2nd trip to Belize - first time with Belizean Shores Resort. We stayed for 9 days and my wife and I definitely recommend this resort. The units are clean, bed was comfortable. The internet worked reliably if that is important. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially Penny, the guest services mgr. The grounds are meticulously maintained. Housekeeping is very good, timely and attentive. As some others have pointed out the kitchen could be a little better stocked with things you don't miss until you look for them - various knives, spatulas etc but there is enough to make due. There is no foil or cling wrap so bring some or prepare to buy some. The resort is relaxing and peaceful. The pool is nicely situated in the midst with nice trees and flowering bushes. Bikes and golf carts are available for rent. There is a dive/tour/activity shop associated with the resort which is convenient as many resorts do not have this amenity and guests must travel to other places to make arrangements. Belizean shores also has their own water taxi fleet which again is very convenient. The resort has it's own restaurant on the grounds and there are several more close enough to walk to. A small grocery store (expensive) is a short walk away; we recommend going to San Pedro and bringing groceries on the water taxi or by golf cart. There may be fancier places but not as good of value. Great place in all ways.

Room Tip: upper rooms have a loft; lower level rooms do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We have been wanting to go to Ambergris Caye for awhile now and decided this was the time. It was the best decision for location, people and the most relaxing vacation ever taken.
You did not need to know what the time was, date, actually had to really thing about the day only when we knew it was nearing the end of our time there at Belizean Shores.
The service we received at Belizean Shores was above and beyond. Anything you needed they would do their best to provide it, and that was including getting someone to come directly to the resort to sell us a variety of fresh fish.
Penny Bonilla one of the Resort's best assets, was such a great host and made sure our stay was all about us and made sure we were happy always, Also, at the reception desk, Jose, Denis and Oscar you were so great and helped us in any way possible. You are all the best!!!
From riding bicycles along the shoreline, walking up and down the shores, jumping off the dock for a refreshing swim and fishing from the peer for your dinner, and meeting such genuinely kind people everywhere we walked, stopped, making new friends.
We would definitely go back and stay on this island and at Belizean Shores resort without hesitation. The grounds/beach are well groomed, very clean immaculate and beautiful.
The only cons, if they are cons would be the road behind the resort is unpaved and with large pot holes, made getting around a bit difficult even by golf cart, but we found that using the bicycles were a very nice option and actually enjoyed it better. Also another thing is having the kitchen is nice, but there is no dishwasher, but the maid service does your dishes for you. So with these cons are added pros to the awesome service provided.
There is no "fitness" center, but the resort and island give options of the bicycles and walking and running on the beach as great options.
.

Room Tip: At Belizean Shores the rooms at the very front of resort by the sea on the second floor especially o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,364 reviews
0.9 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
858 reviews
2.6 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
647 reviews
1.8 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 53 in San Pedro
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belizean Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Shores Resort

Address: San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £117 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belizean Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, casual and comfortable resort, Belizean Shores is the perfect choice for travelers seeking adventure or peaceful relaxation. Our resort features a brilliant pool, pool side snack service, a fun swim up bar, onsite concierge and one of the island’s highest rated tour operations right onsite. Complimentary kayaks and paddle boards are available during the day along with giant chess, ping pong and a dual basketball/tennis court. Bicycle and golf cart rentals can easily be arranged at the front desk as can waterfront or in-room spa services. Located right on the water, guests can also enjoy swimming in the warm Caribbean right from our dock. Located 3.5 miles north of San Pedro town, the resort is outside of the hustle and bustle of town, yet easily accessible via water taxi or ground taxi service or bicycle or golf cart rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belizean Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Shores Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Shores San Pedro
Belizean Shores Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing