We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“By the end of the trip it really felt like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belizean Shores Resort
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“By the end of the trip it really felt like home”
Reviewed 6 April 2010

The rooms were very clean and the staff friendly. I have never been treated this well before at any resort. While it is fairly common for the people of Belize to be very proud of their paradise and have a genuine love for sharing it with guests the staff and the Belizean Shores are a shining example of such hospitality.

Belizean shores was very low key and relaxed. The resort was completely booked and it was dead from 8:00pm - 10:00am which was perfect for our romantic getaway. We felt like the entire resort was ours.

After a long days outing it truly felt like we were coming home when we hit the docks at the Belizean shores.

I did knock the rooms down a peg or two because the wicker living room furniture was far from comfortable. While I would say that you don't come to Belize to sit in your room and watch TV there are some days (like a full day diving or venturing to Lamani or Tikal) that you just want a soft couch to crash on.

I also knocked service one peg because the internet connection was sub par. It is $35.00 for the entire week and I had consistent problems authenticating and creating a connection. After connecting I could not reliably use more than one page at a time and certain pages, especially ASP timed out because of latency. This made banking an issue. I have worked on computer networks for almost 10 years now and I can count out my own equipment or expertise being the cause.

I however did not have any problems with the restaurant. It is cost effective and well cooked basic food which is exactly what you need as a staple if you are not cooking for yourself.

Overall though the Belizean shores is a top notch establishment. I would definately stay there again on a return trip.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NateRunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    264
    51
    10
    3
See reviews for
207
387
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We stayed at Belizian Shores Resort for 10 days with our three young children. From the moment we stepped onto the water taxi to get from San Pedro to the island we were hooked! The resort was beautiful and the accommodation lovely. We had a first storey apartment that looked over the Caribbean sea - idyllic! We either swam in the resort pool or the sister resort (Coco Beach, next door) pool. We preferred the sister resort pool just because there were lots of areas of shallow water, perfect for our two non swimmers. The resort staff are all very friendly and cannot do enough to make your stay perfect. You could easily spend the trip at the beach and the pool because both are lovely (the beach outside coco beach resort is one of the nicest locally as a very big patch of sea grass has been removed to accommodate swimmers). But if you want to do more there are so many options. Snorkeling or diving off the reef compares to the Barrier reef - masses of turtles, nurse sharks, rays and fish. San Pedro offers alternative eating to the resort - every meal out was excellent. You can visit the Mayan ruins, the blue hole etc etc etc. We would highly recommend Belize. Things to avoid were limited, but for us they would be - stick to the resort water taxi service, the alternative can be unreliable, be aware of late afternoon early evening pool bar drinkers who like to wallow in the jacuzzi, atmosphere might not always be appropriate for little kids, bring plenty of bug spray - some nights the mosquito's are abundant!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCDad001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We just returned and had a great time. We took Maya island shuttle ($45 - one way) from Belize city and the hotel made arrangements for a land taxi then water taxi to the hotel. They handled our bags and took is straight to the room to settle I'm before having to check in. We rented an upper and lower room to accomodate the 6 of us. It was lovely. We had groceries delivered by Matagrande (online) and they put them away for us. The hotel restaurant was just ok (upper room), the pool drinks were very expensive ($7-16). Also mediocre experiences with captain Morgans and La Terazas restaurants within walking distance. In contrast, wild mangos was ome of the best meals we have ever enjoyed. We scuba-dived thru white sands (PADI) dive shop just north of the hotel. They did a terrific job with the dad (discover scuba diving) resort course. Junior is a patient teacher. We would definitely return to this hotel and dive shop!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicago_is_first
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2010

My husband and I just returned home from staying at the Belizean Shores for 5 days. We chose to spend our very scarse vacation time in Belize because we love beautiful beaches, amazing snorkeling, and great fishing and because Belize has all of this AND is only a 2.5 hour flight away. We chose Belizean Shores because of its location on Ambergris Caye and the value- allowing us to spend more of our time and money on things like snorkeling and fishing trips instead of a room we would not be spending much time in. It turned out to be a great choice! Our room was great- spacious and clean with all the conveniences you expect at home (i.e. hair dryer, microwave, fridge, TV, ceiling fans). The only aspect of our room that could stand some improvement was the bed- though I've heard that extremely firm beds are great for people with bad backs, we found it to be quite uncomfortable. Luckily, we were so exhausted at the end of every day that it didn't really affect our sleep.

Definitely the BEST part of the resort (for us at least) is the dive shop / activity center right out on the dock in front of the resort. They can coordinate most anything you might want to do- diving, snorkeling, fishing, kayaking, cave tubing, zip lining, and on and on. However, I recommend bringing your own snorkel, googles, and fins if you want to ensure you get a good set- the snorkel I got the first day tended to leak which was annoying. One of our favorite things to do was just take one of the shop's kayaks to the reef right out front of the resort and do some snorkeling on our own- another good reason to have your own set of snorkel stuff. However, absolutely do NOT leave Belize without going on a snorkel trip to Hol Chan or Shark Ray Alley!! The shop can usually arrange a trip any day of the week.

I highly recommend renting a bike from the front desk and riding into San Pedro for lunch / drinks and sight seeing. The one dirt road that runs behind all the beach-front resorts is interesting, though a little more "off road" than a leisurely ride down the beach thanks to all the pot holes. We stopped to eat at a BBQ place called The Lazy Croc (about a mile south of the resort) and had one of the best meals of our trip for the LEAST amount of money! Food, in general, is pretty expensive on the island. I recommend picking up some groceries in San Pedro (Richie's Grocery is good) if you don't want to spend a fortune on dining.

Again, overall the Belizean Shores was exactly what we needed. I know that Coco Beach next door and a couple of other resorts tout amenities like granite counter tops, etc. but who needs that when you're already in mother nature's masterpiece! Spend your money on a couple of margaritas instead.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerbearSmalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2010

First with the negatives:
1. Far away. The water taxi from San Pedro to the hotel is $5 to $6 US for a one way trip. It adds up.
2. We did not get our sheets/towels on the second day. We had to ask for them.
3. The pull out couch did not work, and was not fixed/replaced.
4. Pool was a little dirty, (probably due to sand)
5. Restaurant is not that great.

Now the Positives:
1. The rooms/condo is really really nice.
2. Comfortable beds
3. Cool A/C
4. Grounds are pretty
5. Free internet when the office is open.
6. Our phone was broken, so the hotel allowed us to make free calls to the US from the office phone.
7. Free drink when you first get there.
8. Free kayaking

Overall, this is a nice hotel, rooms are very comfortable, but it is far away. Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyPointResorts, Answer from the Group General Manager at Belizean Shores Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Belizean Shores. Our resort is a 9 minute boat ride from San Pedro Town. There are a number of transportation options to town including: speed boat, bike rentals and golf cart rentals.

It is resort policy to immediately fix all reported maintenance issues. We keep permanent records of maintenance requests in our front desk log book. I was unable to locate any reports of a broken sofa bed. Therefore, I would ask that you private message me your room number so that our maintenance team can fix the sofa.

Our Housekeeping staff clean all rooms and are instructed to change linen daily unless there is a do not disturb sign on the door or guests indicate that they wish to reuse their linen. Each housekeeper is assigned the same rooms everyday so again I would appreciate a private message so that I can speak to the individual housekeeper who was responsible for cleaning your condo.

Your observation regarding the swimming pool is correct, although we provide a shower and foot baths many guest do not rinse their feet before entering the pool. Until the sand falls to the bottom of the pool and can be vacuumed it can appear a bit cloudy.

The Upper Deck restaurant serves a good variety of pub quality food on par with pubs and bars throughout the US and Canada. In the fall we will be opening a new fine dining restaurant at Coco Beach our sister resort next door; this will give our guests more options and variety at Belizean Shores.

Again thank you for your review and we hope you visit us again in the future.

Kind regards

Cynthia O'Connell
Group General Manager
Sandy Point Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We were very please with our first visit to Ambergris Caye and Belizean Shores Resort. We found the accomodations to be as good or better than the website described them. The location of the resort was perfect for us, far enough away from San Pedro to feel like an island getaway but close enough to enjoy what the town has to offer. There are several very good restaurants within a beautiful beach walk away. Each offering delicious seafood dishes.The water taxi system is definately the way to travel on this island. We suggest you buy the week-pass for the best value. Hotel staff and management are helpful, very courteous and always looking for ways to make your stay more enjoyable. The pool and pool bar are the best on the island. Very relaxing and lots of fun. We are alreday planning our return trip to Belizean Shores Resort.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77Lowrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Absolutely wonderful. we were met at the airport and Sammy let us have a couple minutes at the grocery store, then 2 blocks to the water taxi, the commute to the resort. Someone met us at the dock, the luggage was transported, we were shown the suite. It could not have gone smoother or been more welcoming.
We went to dive and it was so nice having the Tuff-N-Nuff dive boat right there. We got 8 wonderful dives, the divemaster, Flip, and the boat captain were great. Le Roi in the shop was good as gold in setting up adventures fro us and our daughter and her husband when they got there. we went zipling, cave tubung, snorkeling, fishing, picnic on the beach.
the restaurant was good and the staff were so friendly, great place to view the sunset and the lagoon.
We went into to town a couple of times to shop and eat, it is so easy to get around and everyone was friendly.
I would go back to Belize and to the Belizean shores resort.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcb4scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
6.1 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
1.2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belizean Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Shores Resort

Property: Belizean Shores Resort
Address: San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Belizean Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, casual and comfortable resort, Belizean Shores is the perfect choice for travelers seeking adventure or peaceful relaxation. Our resort features a brilliant pool, pool side snack service, a fun swim up bar, onsite concierge and one of the island’s highest rated tour operations right onsite. Complimentary kayaks and paddle boards are available during the day along with giant chess, ping pong and a dual basketball/tennis court. Bicycle and golf cart rentals can easily be arranged at the front desk as can waterfront or in-room spa services. Located right on the water, guests can also enjoy swimming in the warm Caribbean right from our dock. Located 3.5 miles north of San Pedro town, the resort is outside of the hustle and bustle of town, yet easily accessible via water taxi or ground taxi service or bicycle or golf cart rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belizean Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belizean Shores Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Shores San Pedro
Belizean Shores Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing