We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personalized service by great people!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Exotic Caye Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Cabot, Arkansas
2 reviews
“Personalized service by great people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

My husband and I went with our Dive shop for a preplanned vacation at Exotic Caye. We had an absolutely wonderful time. The staff is what makes this resort shine. Paul and Kelly run a hotel that gives you a truly worry free vacation. They helped set up the dive trip with the best dive center; provided a daily breakfast; answered countless requests; booked extra trips and experiences like massages; helped several of us contact medical personnel and generally just made sure we were having a good time.

Before going on this trip, I was a little nervous because we had never been on anything like this but it was amazing. All of the staff was great and everyone in our group had a wonderful time.

I'd go back in an instant!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoreneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    84
    31
    17
    7
See reviews for
32
123
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexander, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

I was there for a week between 3/29/2011 with a dive group of 30. I cannot say enough good about Paul and Kelly and all the staff at Exotic Caye Beach Resort. It is a perfect location and Paul and Kelly were always available to arrange everything for us and keep us updated on our dives, etc. During our SI everyday, Paul was at the dive shop to check on us and coordinate any upcoming activities. There is a bar and restaurant on site and they are both good. The beach was always clean, housekeeping was excellent, and I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sar2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. The location is on the South end of San Pedro - within easy walking distance. Restaurant, bar, and breakfast/coffee on site as well as Adventure company. The rooms could stand a bit of upgrade - but we had no complaints at all. The thatched roof was different - and the in-suite kitchens are certainly great for families. It was just my husband and me - but we liked the "home-y" feel. Every single member of the staff was friendly and helpful. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawyer_Lizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

Just returned from staying a week at Exotic Caye Beach Resort. It was exactly what I was looking for to unwind. Staff was very helpful, but not intrusive. They will arrange for trips and anything that you need. It is a convenient place to be. Easy to walk into town, go to the market, get picked up for side trips, get to the airport. I would definely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hrexec777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

We just spent a week here on our second trip to Belize. We were looking for a place that was on the beach but not in the heart of San Pedro. Exotic Caye has a great location right on the beach, everthing you could want within easy walking distance including lots of restaurant choices, grocery stores and even a wine and cheese shop. Although the pool is very tiny, it was clean and refreshing and several times we took advantage of the free use of the nearby gym which has a huge outdoor pool. We were often the only ones there and although it sits along side the small airport runway we found it to be a great spot for an afternoon of swimming and lounging. Managers Mark and Kelly were welcoming and extremely helpful and seemed to genuinely care that guests enjoyed their stay in Belize and happily shared information and suggestions. We stayed in 3B which was clean and comfortable. We did get a bit of street noise and night and several evening from the bar across the street but nothing that concerned us. housekeeping was exceptional and put in the extra touches such as fresh flowers to make it feel special. We would definitely recommend Exotic Caye to anyone who isn`t looking for 5 star luxury but a clean, safe, comfortable spot to enjoy the laid back feel of Belize which is convenient for long beach walks and easy access to San Pedro.
For excursions, we rented a golf cart and explored the caye as far North as we could go. We enjoyed a great meal of BBQ pulled pork and ribs at Lazy Crocks and smoothie at the yoga retreat just north of the bridge. We had the two tank dive from the shop at the Exotic Caye pier which was a bit rough due to the windy weather. Of the 40 or so dives we have done these were our least favorite due to the water being a bit murky and other than sea turtles and sharks really didn`t see the abundance of fish we hoped to see in Belize. We also had a nice dinner out at Capricorns. Just as the front desk to make a reservation and they will pick you up and bring you back to hotel via complimentry water taxi. We enjoyed a great meal at Capricorns on a Saturday night although would recommend trying it on another evening as it was so busy the service couldn`t keep up.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afuzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

This "resort" is in need of much TLC and an infusion of cash to bring it up to standards. Our room was clean but overall was run down. The furniture- sitting area, bed and porch furniture are worse than uncomfortable. The bathroom was clean but there was little if no hot water and water pressure for the shower, the tiles had mildew and faucets had junk on them. The "2" towels in our bath were clean but had stains on them.

The "pool" is the size of a hot tub and the deck is in poor repair and has nails sticking up. The beach is disappointing with weeds and trash floating in low tide. There are very few beach chairs or loungers to relax on.

The resort has a bar attached to it. The bar hosts a locals night on Mondays where music blares until 1 am and the crowd does not disperse until after 2. The patrons believe that the grounds are a public bathroom where they can relieve themselves instead of waiting in line for the bathrooms.

The restaurant over the bar has very good food, although pricey. The coffee shop has good food and very kind waitstaff. Overall, the employees are friendly and kind esp Priscilla the morning desk staffer.

I would not recommend this "resort". Overall, I would say if you want to go out to the reef and dive this may be your place, but if you want a beach vacation- not! There are many nice resorts on the beach strip at the same price and I wish we had booked one of them. The value for the dollar is not here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank honesty59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport, MS
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

We just returned from a wonderful vacation - my first time to Ambergris Caye - and stayed at the Exotic Caye. Great location, walking distance to town, bars, restaurants and grocery.
Could not have asked for a better holiday.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassieGulfport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.3 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#15 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#22 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.8 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#36 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exotic Caye Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exotic Caye Beach Resort

Property: Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Address: South Coconut Drive | PO Box 11, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#37 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Exotic Caye Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exotic Caye Beach Resort is a place full of perfect moments. All suites of Exotic Caye's Resort are set in a tropical ambiance with ocean views. Enjoy the tranquility of a relaxing massage. Soak up the sun. Lounge peacefully in an oceanfront hammock. Smell the fresh air. Dance the night away at Crazy Canuck's Beach Bar, take a Yoga class, workout, snorkel, dive, fish or simply do nothing at all. Our staff makes sure this is a vacation you will never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Exotic Caye Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exotic Caye Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Exotic Caye Beach
Exotic Caye Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing