We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Grover Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We arrived to the Exotic Caye January 11 2014-January 17....Wow, our room was 2 bedrooms and a loft, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen...Our teenage son was with us, had an incredible time. The restaurants on the property are so incredibly delicious. The bar was fun, good drinks, good people...You Def want to rent a golf cart and roam the town..We did take a water taxi to Coco Beach, it is pretty there, but def loved where we were the best. We did a snorkeling adventure thru Inland and sea adventures, when we booked, we thought we were going to be with another family, a certain guide, and a different boat..When they showed up to pick us up, different boat, different guide and no other family and it was pouring rain..They should of told us to try for the next day so we would enjoy our trip more. All of our stuff was soaking wet, (the dry clothes we took with us) so the boat trip was miserable. We did snorkel and had a wonderful experience with all the sealife, the sharks, and stingray, my god it was incredible underneath. We stopped in Caye Caulker (icky, didn't like it). Not a lot to do on the island of Ambergris Caye except to explore which was fun and very eye opening. It was more expensive then i thought it would be. We def want to come back to the island just the 2 of us and try another resort. Altho the exotic caye was amazing! great staff too..And Janie the resort cat was adorable (cat lover) she hung out with us for about 3 days...probably helped i gave her a little bit of lobster. All in all the place was amazing and forever a incredible memory for me. BRING MONEY FOR THE ADVENTURES, VERY EXPENSIVE. Remember not everything can be Perfect....Please go and visit, it was amazing....The weather was warm, not to hot, humid and it did rain a few days on and off...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    84
    31
    17
    7
See reviews for
32
123
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Highly recommend the Exotic Caye. The staff is great and extremely helpful. They take care of anything/everything you could need. When we checked in, they upgraded us to a better/bigger room at no additional cost (and we didn't request this). It is central enough to San Pedro to walk to downtown and see and experience all the restaurants/culture but far enough away to relax and not be in the hustle and bustle. We rode bikes to the north end of the island and while the resports up there are nice, they are exluded and getting to town is no easy cart ride. This is the best of both worlds. Facilities are nice. The melt has excellent breakfast. The beach bar is one of the most popular/fun on the island. There is a supermarket right across the street. Really, a great place, with a great location, and great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ccomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago IL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We found a groupon and it has been a great experience. The cost of the room is competitive and it came with meals in two very good restaurants (Melt and Spice it up) as well as a great snorkeling trip right off the local dock. The rooms are nice, spacious, with a kitchenette. It's not the Ritz but we didn't pay Ritz prices nor expect that. It's clean with friendly staff. There is a pricey but fairly well stocked grocery store within walking distance. The staff might want to respond to emails about incidentals and other questions more quickly than they do, and the beach is not the best to swim in-reedy and rocky. Beautiful setting, have been around town and don't see much that I would say is better, especially for the cost and amenities. It's noisy, tight on a main road so bring earplugs. Advertised YOGA but the instructor left.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joanchicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

If you're just interested in diving and snorkeling, then this would be an adequate place to stay because it is teeming with marine life, the water is clear, and there are lots of dive shops. But, if you're wanting to lay on plush beach lounging chairs and swim off shore, don't stay here....on anywhere on the island or Belize due to most resorts being out dated and the beaches un-swimmable due to the sea grass (which I found out about AFTER I booked!). We did stumble across a pier of a neighboring resort that we "borrowed" because they had stairs to the water and had cleared the sea grass away. But, there were only 4 lounge chairs on the pier...thankfully we happened to snag them, but if we hadn't then I don't know what we would have done. The on-site pool was so small it was funny, but OK if you just want to jump in and out to cool off. The website shows a beautiful pool that you have access to...and you do...except that it's a bit of a walk down some side street, is run-down, and so abandoned that I would not feel safe there (we walked to take a look at it and never went back). The rooms were very clean, but again, just out dated. If you have small children, this is NOT the place for you as I think it would be difficult to keep them entertained. The Melt café was delicious for breakfast and lunch, and the Crazy Canuch's bar/restaurant was great too. The staff was super friendly and helpful, and we did feel safe the entire time (although I would have liked the room to have had a safe). The location was better than the resorts north of San Pedro because it had a better road system (people get around on golf carts/bikes/foot) and we more "alive". It seemed like the area north of San Pedro had lots of large resorts, but hardly any guests...kind of eerie and weird. The entire island is in a strange state with some resorts that looked they like were beautiful back in the day and now completely abandoned, others that seemed to be hanging on by a thread, and then some new construction going on...strange.

Room Tip: Units 7 and 6 are noisy as they are next to the outdoor bar and behind them (across the street) is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here for a week and loved it! The only issue we encountered was the patio door to our room didn't lock well, it took some time to get used to the finikyness and my 7 year old was unable to open and close it, but that's it! The people were really friendly and even helped us look for a barbie shirt that flew away. The pool is very small, but not busy. Outdoor hammocks too! I recommend it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have lofts for extra sleeping room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Good place to stay at. Close to restaurants and diving. Diving shop off the pier is NOT good. Use Ramon's. Rooms are clean and tidy. Melt cafe is good for breakfast and lunch.
There are two friendly cats on property who come and visit. White one, Jeany, is 14 years old - be nice to her.
You can swim off the pier, but not off the beach....too much seaweed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank schernov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillett
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This place is a diamond in the rough. It is in a great location, close to town and in a safe area. They had a guard on the premises. It was well lit. The staff is super nice and helpful. The beach was nice and never crowded. However, this not a five star resort. The amenities are dated, the little pool is too small. The big pool was too far away and filthy. And much like the rest of San Pedro, you can't really swim in the ocean. The palm trees block the view but should be okay in ten years when they are taller. But that being said this hotel is still a great, relaxed, clean and friendly beach resort. Oh, they have a really cool cat who belongs to the owners of the restaurant on the premises. Her name is Janie and if you give her a comfortable chair and a couple of treats, she'll hang out on your porch with you.

Room Tip: The lower floor actually had a better view because you could see under the palm trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mommacassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.5 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
1.4 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#23 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#32 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exotic Caye Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exotic Caye Beach Resort

Property: Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Address: South Coconut Drive | PO Box 11, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#38 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Exotic Caye Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exotic Caye Beach Resort is a place full of perfect moments. All suites of Exotic Caye's Resort are set in a tropical ambiance with ocean views. Enjoy the tranquility of a relaxing massage. Soak up the sun. Lounge peacefully in an oceanfront hammock. Smell the fresh air. Dance the night away at Crazy Canuck's Beach Bar, take a Yoga class, workout, snorkel, dive, fish or simply do nothing at all. Our staff makes sure this is a vacation you will never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Exotic Caye Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exotic Caye Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Exotic Caye Beach
Exotic Caye Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing