We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xanadu Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Inn The Bush, Macaw Bank
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

We travelled as a family (4 adults + 2 children) and we all loved it! The Condo/House had everything we could possibly need to have a vacation but still have a feel of home. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen was well-equiped, the verandah was spacious and offered a beautiful view of the blue Caribbean Sea, the overall space was just spotless. We especially liked the garden which gave a feel of the jungle with tall trees and cool shade.
Xanadu's Staff was incredibly helpful and very friendly. They have a way of making you feel like more than just a guest with thier warm smiles and friendly talk.
Some of the family went on tour but my husband & I felt very comfortable that we stayed on the couch to watch t.v. (this was how nice the house was - we didn't want to leave).

Room Tip: Just say what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoeniRequena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    113
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
319
554
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

My husband and I stayed in Xanadu last march during our honeymoon. We chose it due to the great comments in Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed at all.

Since the very beginning (reservation process) we found out that this was a very special resort as they answered to all our questions in a very friendly and efficient way. They arranged everything, including accommodation, flights (Tropic Air, highly recommended) and diving activities (Amigos del Mar are brilliant, and Diving Adventure), and we were delighted with everything.

Its location it’s simply perfect! 5 minutes driving from the airport and 15 minutes walking from San Pedro’s centre but out of the fuss and traffic noise. An oasis of tranquility but close to everything you may need (supermarket, restaurants, car renting, etc.). Inside, Xanadu is very nice and warm. It keeps the spirit of the island in its construction, the bird’s space, the pool and the condos. Our room (#17) was very nice decorated and full equipped, especially the kitchen, having anything you may need to cook. High speed Internet included!

And last but definitively not least, Xanadu’s staff is the best of all. Blanca, Jesús, Jamal… they are very helpful and take care of every little detail even before you may think of it. They fully understand the client needs and work very focused on that.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

My husband and I decided to stay at Xanadu after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and finding a great deal on Bookit.com; we even invited another couple because the room (more like a condo) was two bedrooms. After a horrendous time traveling to the resort, complete with lost luggage and the ferry breaking down (highly recommend flying Tropic Air instead of saving a few dollars taking the ferry), we were greeted at Xanadu with tasty Rum Punch and smiling faces. The staff offered to track my lost luggage with Delta; and when they found out it was a trip for my birthday, sent up a birthday postcard and four local beers - it completely turned the trip around! Xanadu's location can't be beat, within walking distance of grocery stores, fruit/vegetable stands, shops, restaurants and San Pedro town. We didn't have any problems that the resort didn't have a restaurant onsite, in fact we preferred it because it kept the resort quiet and personal - so many restaurants are right down the beach anyway.

The grounds are impeccable, and the staff are more than happy to cut down and open a fresh coconut. We made good use of the on-site grill with our freshly caught tuna; we also took advantage of the complimentary bikes for almost a full day.

Our condo, #17, was great, especially the deck area with hammock and eating area; the spiral staircase made it difficult to carry luggage up to the rooms and the air conditioner was a little noisy in the master, but I'm definitely not complaining - our condo was cleaned every day and was perfect for four people. We booked 3 of 4 excursions through the hotel (wish we had booked all four through them) and they were all great, my personal favorite was the private tour of Xunantunich and Cave Tubing.

We will DEFINITELY return to Xanadu, I can't imagine staying anywhere else! We loved Ambergris Caye and the location of Xanadu on the island. I could go on and on. Thanks Xanadu, for making this one of the best vacations!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blaude03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

Our stay at Xanadu was fabulous from beginning to end! Two of our children (daughters aged 18 and 19) ended up with the same spring break in March 2011 and we spent the week at Xanadu. My husband and I had enjoyed a past trip to Ambergris Caye in 1990 and although the Island has changed a great deal in over 20 years, it has somehow managed to retain much of it's charm that we had remembered. The Xanadu staff was great in so many ways...from helping schedule our excursions and local flights, recommending the best restaurants for each night, pointing out iguanas in the overhead foliage and making sure all of our questions were answered in a helpful, friendly way. Jamil, Jesus and Blanca and the rest of the staff were the best.! Our accommodations (Suite 1) were everything we expected and more. The resort is small and intimate with lots of lush foliage and filtered sun/shade around the property and pool. We were able to 'work from the pool deck or our veranda' once each day with the wireless internet. Plenty of sun is to be found steps away on the beach and private pier. We always had plenty of deck chairs to choose from around the property and our private veranda was perfect. We would recommend snorkeling anywhere with Lil Alphonse, but especially Shark-Ray Alley where our daughters held nurse sharks and rays. We had great meals everywhere the Xanadu staff recommended, but some of our favorites would be Caramba, Wild Mangos and Blue Water Grill. And don't miss the Chicken Drop...we were winners of $100 Belize in this Island tradition. We definitely would spend another vacation at Xanadu if we can!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovesagoodvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

This was the second time we came to Xanadu, and many folks we have met have been there more often. It is great, from the cordiality of the staff to the comfort of the rooms, etc.

If you want a 5* resort with planned activities, noise and chaos, stay away. If you want a lovely, relaxed, but elegent and laid back place, this is numero uno.

Room Tip: Book on line, come back 2nd time for discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicagofoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Xanadu. I liked the quiet setting yet it is conveniently located to restaurants, bars and the grocery store. We snorkeled with Alfonse and went fishing with Armando; both of which were fantastic. Armando cleaned our fish and we cooked them in our room, which has a fully equipped kitchen. The staff is friendly and helpful. The resort is clean and well-kept and I felt safe. I also enjoyed their beach and pier. The retaining wall looks natural as opposed to other resorts that have the concrete retaining walls. The pool is also relaxing but we spent most of our time on the pier. We also had wireless access in our room which was an added bonus. They did everything we asked: booked our tropic air flights, taxi to and from the air strip, booked our fishing and snorkeling trips and all with a friendly smile. Overall we had a great time and miss Xanadu and Belize! We can’t wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katygal35405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at Xanadu Resort in the final week of March 2001.
This place is quite a nice place to stay. We would certainly go back. It is a small resort with an island feel. I don't know how many rooms were in the complex (maybe 25-30) but the place never seemed crowded. The buildings have thatched roofs set amidst a great deal of palm trees. The pool is small but fits into the area well.

The staff is VERY accommodating. All the staff spoke to you throughout the day and were very helpful in suggesting restaurants to eat in or side trips to take.

Xanadu is on the south end of the island, in a good location away from the more crowded central part of the island. So it is in a good location.

Highly recommended.

We enjoyed ourselves there very much

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldEuroBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.4 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
8.1 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing