We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Un-Belize-able”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Un-Belize-able”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2008

Just back from a week in Belize, including 4 nights at Xanadu and had a wonderful time. Everyone we met was incredibly friendly and helpful, especially Martin at Xanadu.

The hotel was about 1 mile south of town, which was a bit of a hike at night, but nothing too terrible. The properties appeared to get nicer as you got farther away from town anyway.

The hotel was very quiet and laid back, which was what we wanted. As others said, if you want the Ritz and poolside bar service, this isn't the right place for you. But, if you want a clean, nice relaxing place to stay with helpful and friendly staff, Xanadu is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NJTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    113
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
324
560
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2008

I travel with my three adult children and we have just returned from our third Christmas in Belize, our second at Xanadu. Hard to improve on paradise....

Belize is a wonderfully laid back kind of place and Xanadu is completely in keeping with the charm and easy, relaxed pace of the island. If you really want the Ritz or something akin to the Four Seasons in Nassau or an exclusive, all inclusive resort in the Bahamas, Belize may not be for you. It offers beautiful beaches, extraordinary coral reefs and sparking water at reasonable rates in a somewhat offbeat, relaxed setting...no Beach Butlers here...just simplicity at its best.

Xanadu is, thankfully, not a resort. It is a lovely group of cabanas set in a grove of Banyan trees, directly on the beach on the edge of the little town of San Pedro on the island of Ambergris Caye. There are wonderful all inclusive resorts in Belize but included in the price are lots of amenities and opportunities in which you may have little or no interest. At Xanadu, you have a lovely setting and a staff ready and willing to arrange any and all kinds of activities (in our case, scuba diving, trips to the mainland to see the ruins, sea kayaking, golf carts and massages) with the most reputable outfits on the island. They know where the best restaurants are and who has the most reliable taxi service and happily take care of it all but you pick and choose what you pay for which seems to suit my family best.

In front of our cabana, was a small inlet, easy access for a sea kayak and the perfect spot for a a small child with a spade and a bucket. I spent a ridiculous amount of time sitting in a lounge chair under a palm tree with my feet in the sand, book in hand, watching some small child at the water's edge. The cabanas are simple but come with fully equipped kitchens so this is an ideal spot for families of any size. Not much nightlife in San Pedro apart from several outstanding restaurants which serve excellent fresh seafood, so we brought down puzzles and cards and games and those all important beach books to keep ourselves entertained. Like I said, not for everyone, but a perfect setting for a great, low key family trip where being together and having a fun relxed vacation is the priority.

The staff at Xanadu, Susan, Stacey and Martin, as well as housekeeping and grounds keepers, could not be nicer, more accommodating or more knowledgeable about the island. I think the fact that we have all ready made our reservations for next year really speaks for itself....Xanadu really provides the best of Belize and we feel fortunate to have found such a special spot.

  • Liked — We loved that it was directly on the beach in the privacy of a grove of Banyan trees.
  • Disliked — We actually liked the simplicity of it but some travelers may need more amenities.
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FrancisDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2008

We just got back last week from an 8 day stay at Xanadu. We couldn't have been more satisfied. We are from Western Canada and getting away in the winter is always a welcome retreat, however, going to Xanadu was above our expectations. The small size of the resort was a plus and our room was spacious, clean and more than we expected. we stayed in 7A. I have to say that the photos do not do the resort justice. Stacy and Martin went above and beyond to make our stay the best experience. Robert helped us out lots and was a master at lighting the grill. While we were there the owners were there and we had some wonderful chats with them about San Pedro, Xanadu and Canada (they live in Toronto). Stacy guided us to some great places to party and eat. Being a fellow Canadian we had many things in common and laughed over Mr. Dressup and the Friendly Giant (sorry USA you never got them).

We had a few bad days weather wise but all in all it was one of our best trips ever. We are back home now to -25C and wishing we were still there. While you are in San Pedro you must try Elvi's Kitchen. A little pricey but we loved it there. Also Fido's on the beach is a great bar and has live bands. You must go diving, snorkling and fishing if you have a chance. We caught our own fish and then our guide bar-b-qued them on the beach for us. We don't get fresh fish in Alberta so that was a hugh treat for us.

We can't wait to go back and would reccommend Xanadu to anyone looking for great staff, comfort and an overall wonderfull experience.

Hope to see you again

Joan and Darryl

Joan and Darryl

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank joambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2008

We chose Xanadu because of it's #1 raiting on Tripadvisor and from all the comments. We were deceived. Why hasn't anyone mentioned all the trash on the beach and in the water. What about the beauty of the Carribbean Sea missing?

I was in shock over the lack of beautiful beach and sea. After a few day adjustment period, my husband and I were able to relax. My husband is a big scuba diver, which is the reason we chose Ambergris Caye as our destination. After extensive research I learned that I was not going to find any luxurious hotels for my family (myself, husband and 3 daughters ages 4 1/2, 8, and 10) and another family to call home for 8 nights. Because Ambergris Caye is considered one of the top dive sites, we would suck it up.

We were in a 3 bedroom/2 bath unit on the 2nd floor. Our friends were next to us in a 2 bed. loft set up. The masterbedroom in our unit had a knee wall separating it from the living area. Pull down blinds were there for privacy - no wall. Needless to say, any intimacy was difficult. A thin spiral staircase leads up to 2 real bedrooms. However, I experience much anxiety over my children sleeping upstairs. I was concerned that they would get hurt coming down, especially during the night. Luckily this did not happen. The accommodations are basic and clean. The kitchen is fully equipped, and there is a market very close by. Even so, it would have been nice if there was a coffee bar. snack hut/tropical drink type set up out near the beach and pool. While relaxing if you were hot, hungry, or thirsty you had to go to your room to satisfy any desire. We like being served water and other refreshments while chilling by the pool/beach. It enhances the vacation experience.

While I state the things that were missing for us, I must give Kudos to Robert, Stacey, and Susan. Their communication with our party before our travels to Xanadu were exceptional. Robert is extremely helpful and caring. When my friend and I were on the beach with the 5 kids (the guys were diving) and a stranger approached, Robert was there checking out the situation. He must have a hidden camera, because he never missed a beat. We felt very safe. Our children enjoyed him. He cut down coconuts and opened them for them and helped them collect shells and look for hermit crabs.

Xanadu provides free internet access. We had some trouble and it took 3 requests before Martin came up for a look and fixed the situation. I should also point out that a bolt holding a planting partition which holds the hammocks of the 2 connecting units came out of the wall while my friend was resting on his hammock and my husband got on our hammock to relax. I immediately called the front desk to let them know. Martin said he would come have a look, but we did not see him that evening. I had to mention it again the next morning.

I walked along the beach (which has a lot of garbage) to see the Victoria House. We did not stay there because we were told it has no beach. Their beach is at least 3x the size of Xanadus. There were massage tables on the beach and my daughter and I witnessed a couple having manicures on their patio. This probably would have been more my speed. They also have several little pools, a pool/beach bar, and a restaurant.

We did eat at some good restaurants and one terrible one -at Mata Chica. I think it is called Mambos. While a very cool atmosphere, some of the food was not edible and the service was horrible.

We like Sunset Grill the best. It's on the lagoon with big Tarpin fish swimming around. They feed the Tarpin, which the kids really enjoyed. We also like Caramba, El Patio, and Elvis.

Don't miss a snorkel trip to Shark Ray Ally with Russell and I can't remember the other guys name. He was great. We held the sharks, pet them.

  • Liked — having a refrigerator
  • Disliked — the water coming out of the showers and having piles of water on the floor
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank haut-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2008

We were stressed and exhausted from a busy and cold winter in England followed by a 24 hour long journey when we finally arrived at Xanadu; so, was it worth it? Yes, absolutely. The suites are clean and well equipped, the beds and pillows are soothingly somnulent and the staff are prefossional and helpful. As there is no restaurant it was good to organise our own lazy breakfasts and in the evening walk barefoot up the beach to find a restaurant or bomb along in our rented golf buggy.
Seeing the resident Toucan on the first morning right outside our room woke us to a perfect start and everything got better and better. Stacey organised two trips for us - Shark Ray Alley with Alphonse and a day's Manatee watching. We shall never forget HOLDING shakrs and rays with Alphonse and a close encounter with a moray eel (he is the best guide, so ask for him by name). The second trip was an all day with a different company (dude guides though) and we came across some dolphins. The guides stopped the boat and we were all quiet as watched these wild dolphins dancing to Van Morrison singing Brown Eyed Girl.

Go now before everyone discovers that this is how all tropical beach holidays should be.

  • Liked — The suites are self catering so good for families
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank joanna50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandera, Tx.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Xanadu Resort for 1 week and it was paradise. All the staff was so helpful and so friendly. Most of the people on the island were real nice. We had great meals and almost everything was within walking distants. We found the Sausage Factory and the Coffee Cafe just down the road from our room. We liked it so much we have booked our suite for next year already plus rooms for our daughters and their husbands.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank granny37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2007

Xanadu is an incredible hotel in the heart of paradise. For any one who loves nature, Belize is a must see. Of all the hotels we saw in San Pedro, Xanadu is by far one of the best. The staff members all go out of their way to make your trip incredible. The grounds are gorgeous, too. The snorkeling was best we have seen yet to date. Better than Cayman Islands, St Thomas, or Mexico. The best part of it is that all the tours start from the hotel. A boat comes to pick you up in the morning, and returns you back in the end. All tours can be ordered from the front desk, so you do not have to worry about paying each tour operator separately. This makes it so eary.

The front desk staff are incredible. Stacey, Sue, and Martin just do what ever you ask them in order to make your stay perfect, before you even get there. Our flight to Belize got changed and cancelled five times. Sue changed our connecting flight, for free, every time without a single compaint.

The housekeeping staff even washed our dirty dishes every day. What a service!

  • Liked — Location, the grounds, and the service
  • Disliked — The internet service was slow at times, but that had more to do with the Internet Service Provider.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.4 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
3.7 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing