We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Xanadu and San Pedro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2008

We just returned from our first trip to San Pedro and our stay at Xanadu Resort. Xanadu was just as it said on their website---rejuvenate mind,body and soul. Our room was spacious,clean and decorated nicely. The property was tropical and very inviting. The stress of our daily lives was taken away almost immediately. The staff at Xanadu could not have been more helpful. They gave us great recommendations for restaurants and other activities. Bicycles were free of charge and a great way to see the island. The golf cart rental was on the property making it very convenient.

We can't wait to come back to Belize and Xanadu !!!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LillyKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
There are newer reviews for Xanadu Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,101 - 1,107 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2008

We chose Belize for our honeymoon about six months before the wedding. The hardest part after that was actually choosing where to stay and what to do. I think we changed our mind about 5 or 6 times before actually settling on Xanadu. We definitely made the right choice.

The location was perfect - about a 10 minute walk to the heart of San Pedro. The store right at the entrance of the resort came in very handy. The facilities are great - very well maintained and the people are fabulous (Stacey in the front office is the best; I even liked the cleaning lady). The tours/activities that were arranged for us were outstanding. We snorkeled with the sharks; visited the ruins at Lamanai, did a sailing tour, and ate way too much Lobster.

I'm not going to bore you platitudes about why you should chose Xanadu. Their is a reason they are Number 1 on Trip Advisor and the rating is very well deserved.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TexasAhmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2008

My fiance and I chose Xanadu for our wedding about a year ago. From the beginning, Susan has been amazing helping me plan all aspects. We only corresponded by e-mail, and she was prompt answering all questions and requests. This was extremely important to me because we are both busy professionals and didn't have a lot of time or patience for talking on the phone or waiting for replies. When we got to Xanadu, we had 5 days before our wedding to get settled. We were expecting to spend most of that time taking care of wedding details, but instead we spent it relaxing and having a blast because Su had taken care of everything. My wedding was PERFECT and I could not more highly recommend Xanadu for a wedding, or just to stay for vacation.

We stayed in suite #2, an oceanfront loft with a breathtaking view. Every morning we woke up around 6:30 am, just to see the sun rise from our deck. The kitchen was a huge convenience and came with water and coffee to get us started. Several nights, we had our friends over for drinks and we found our unit was very suitable for entertaining. It was perfect for getting ready with my friends for the wedding too. We did not mind at all not having a restaurant on site. It made the resort much more private feeling and gave us the opportunity to see more of San Pedro and try new restaurants. Furthermore, the complementary bikes were a bonus and we used them daily to explore the island. It was very nice having laundry facilities on site.

The extras at Xanadu really make it stand out from the rest of the resorts, even the more expensive resorts. On top of the that, Su, Stacey, the rest of the staff, and the kitties made us feel right at home at all times.

Next time we are on Ambergris Caye, which we hope is very soon, we are definitely staying at Xanadu, and would not even consider staying anywhere else after our experience there.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gricorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2008

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night stay at Xanadu for our friend's wedding. From our initial contact with Stacey and Susan to book the trip through our final check-out, this was the easiest trip that we have ever planned. The management at Xanadu goes out of their way to make sure that you have an enjoyable and stress-free vacation to Belize.

Stacey was our initial contact and returned all of our emails promptly and within moments we were booked for our stay at Xanadu. We stayed in suite 7A, which was a lovely and large one bedroom suite overlooking the pool and just steps away from the beach. The property and rooms were immaculately maintained to create an idyllic paradise retreat.

We flew into Belize City and the hotel arranged the booking of our puddle jumper flights on Tropic Air into San Pedro AND took care of changing them for us when our flight into San Pedro was rescheduled to arrive at a later time. No extra fees, and no worries. The cost of the Tropic Air flights were added to our hotel bill and Xanadu covered the cost of the taxi from the San Pedro airport to their property. As soon as we arrived in San Pedro, we felt we were being taken care of.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the staff, our bags were whisked away to our room and our kitchen was stocked with bottled water for our stay.

Stacey walked us through a map of the town and highlighted her favorite places to eat - which we enjoyed as well! Bikes and kayaks were available for free rental - we only wish we had had more time to use them!

We were able to arrange all of our scuba diving trips directly through Xanadu. We dove with Ecologic Divers (the best!), who picked us up from and returned us to the Xanadu pier. Again, the cost was added to our hotel bill. If you are considering diving in Belize -the 2nd largest barrier reef - I would highly recommend Ecologic Divers. The staff was extremely professional, the pick up and drop off was ideal and they even include extra, free, added amenities such as hot towels when you return to the boat and a free CD of pictures from your dive.

Xanadu does not have a restaurant on site but is just a few steps away from two local markets, so we stocked our room (equipped with a kitchen and all the cooking instruments you would need) with food for the week, often cooking ourselves breakfast in the mornings. It is also just a few blocks from the center of town, so there are many places to eat nearby.

Some of our favorites:

George's for breakfast. Delicious fresh squeezed orange, pineapple, and watermelon juice.

Monkey Bites for breakfast or lunch.

Casa Picasso for dinner. Tapas style. Excellent sangria!

Palmilla (at Victoria House) for your one special meal. (white tablecloth etc.)

Crazy Canuck's is a fun bar scene right on the beach. You have to try the Panty Ripper. Apparently it is the national drink of Belize (or something to that extent).


I'd recommend Xanadu to anyone visiting Ambergris Caye - centrally located to town but remote enough to feel special. Suited for any type of traveler. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtravelerfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

I visited Xanadu with my husband and friends. We have traveled almost annually for a get away week in Cabo, Cozumel or Cayman. This year, we were looking for something different and happened to watch Passport to Latin America with Samatha Brown which featured this resort. All of us had wanted to visit Belize or had visited from a cruise ship and decided that this would be our place in 2008.
It was a great choice and one that we would like to repeat. Our experience in Belize was relaxing and well, easy. The staff at Xanadu were friendly, helpful and all around terrific. Our three bedroom condo was spacious, clean and well equipped. The location was far enough from the hustle and bustle of down town San Pedro but convenient via walking down the beach, an inexpensive taxi ride or our rented golf cart. There were many close by excellent restaurants.
The excursions recommended by the staff were terrific -- we flew Tropic Air to Lamanai via the New River and snorkeled in Hol Chan with the best guide ever, Alphonse.
Last but not least was the view--- incredible or was that un-Belize-able!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mpbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2008

Just back from a week in Belize, including 4 nights at Xanadu and had a wonderful time. Everyone we met was incredibly friendly and helpful, especially Martin at Xanadu.

The hotel was about 1 mile south of town, which was a bit of a hike at night, but nothing too terrible. The properties appeared to get nicer as you got farther away from town anyway.

The hotel was very quiet and laid back, which was what we wanted. As others said, if you want the Ritz and poolside bar service, this isn't the right place for you. But, if you want a clean, nice relaxing place to stay with helpful and friendly staff, Xanadu is perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank NJTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2008

I travel with my three adult children and we have just returned from our third Christmas in Belize, our second at Xanadu. Hard to improve on paradise....

Belize is a wonderfully laid back kind of place and Xanadu is completely in keeping with the charm and easy, relaxed pace of the island. If you really want the Ritz or something akin to the Four Seasons in Nassau or an exclusive, all inclusive resort in the Bahamas, Belize may not be for you. It offers beautiful beaches, extraordinary coral reefs and sparking water at reasonable rates in a somewhat offbeat, relaxed setting...no Beach Butlers here...just simplicity at its best.

Xanadu is, thankfully, not a resort. It is a lovely group of cabanas set in a grove of Banyan trees, directly on the beach on the edge of the little town of San Pedro on the island of Ambergris Caye. There are wonderful all inclusive resorts in Belize but included in the price are lots of amenities and opportunities in which you may have little or no interest. At Xanadu, you have a lovely setting and a staff ready and willing to arrange any and all kinds of activities (in our case, scuba diving, trips to the mainland to see the ruins, sea kayaking, golf carts and massages) with the most reputable outfits on the island. They know where the best restaurants are and who has the most reliable taxi service and happily take care of it all but you pick and choose what you pay for which seems to suit my family best.

In front of our cabana, was a small inlet, easy access for a sea kayak and the perfect spot for a a small child with a spade and a bucket. I spent a ridiculous amount of time sitting in a lounge chair under a palm tree with my feet in the sand, book in hand, watching some small child at the water's edge. The cabanas are simple but come with fully equipped kitchens so this is an ideal spot for families of any size. Not much nightlife in San Pedro apart from several outstanding restaurants which serve excellent fresh seafood, so we brought down puzzles and cards and games and those all important beach books to keep ourselves entertained. Like I said, not for everyone, but a perfect setting for a great, low key family trip where being together and having a fun relxed vacation is the priority.

The staff at Xanadu, Susan, Stacey and Martin, as well as housekeeping and grounds keepers, could not be nicer, more accommodating or more knowledgeable about the island. I think the fact that we have all ready made our reservations for next year really speaks for itself....Xanadu really provides the best of Belize and we feel fortunate to have found such a special spot.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FrancisDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.3 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
988 reviews
1.5 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
354 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £225 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing