We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service - HIGHLY recommend staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, MI area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing service - HIGHLY recommend staying here”
Reviewed 24 February 2008

We were married at this resort on Feb 16, 2008. We did a LOT of research to select where to stay and where to get married in Belize. We were thrilled with our choice!!!! We cannot say enough good things about the service we received. 25 family members and friends also stayed at the resort, and the staff went above and beyond to track down family members stuck in the US due to flight delays and assure a safe and speedy arrival in Ambergris Caye. The setting was picture perfect for what we had in mind for our tropical island wedding and winter getaway, with well-kept, clean suites. Patios were perfect for enjoying the fresh air or catching a nap in the hammock with the trees and landscaping providing enough privacy that you may forget other people are staying at the resort. Having the full kitchen was great for preparing a few meals and snacks in. Xanadu is in a great location, within walking or biking distance of town without being in the midst of everything. Any tours or dinner reservations could easily be booked directly by the staff, and as avid scuba divers, we appreciated the convenience of being picked up right on the dock at this resort. A fabulous, worry free wedding & honeymoon. We are sad to leave and already talking about when we'll be back. We cannot thank Su, Stacey, Ingrid, and the rest of the staff enough for all they did!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — service, setting, accommodations
  • Disliked — no restaurant/bar on site
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LivoniaDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,052
    113
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
338
569
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2008

We went to Ambergris Caye for Jerry Jeff Walker's Camp Belize and stayed at Xanadu. It was a very beautiful and peaceful resort. Our suite overlooked the Caribbean and we could see the barrier reef from our balcony. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant or bar, but it is a short walk along the beach to a number of excellant dining venues. The staff at Xanadu went above and beyond to make us feel like family. We would definately recommend this property to anyone.

  • Liked — view, view, view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2008

We stayed for one week at Xanadu followed by a week at a fishing resort in the north called El Pescador. We loved Xanadu. Getting there required 3 planes and the last, a Tropic Air shuttle, waited for us even though our plane was delayed and it was the last flight of the night. The office was open and check-in was smooth. We booked at the last minute and only got a room because of a cancellation. Stacey was amazing and booked us right away and helped with transfers and fly-fishing reservations.

First impressions - the hotel is really condos. Simple but comfortable. 2 bedrooms with a full kitchen. We ordered groceries and they were delivered and in our room upon arrival. We ordered a golf cart and that was waiting as well. Cute pool. No beach - but we knew that.

When we wanted a beach we wandered down to Banana someting or other with the restaurant Rico's just to the south. Cute beach and the kids actually got in the water. The only time the entire trip. And you can order drinks on the beach there. We overhead someone else saying that it is only a one star timeshare property - but for amenities it blew away Xanadu. Although Xanadu - the property itself - is beautiful and welcoming we really wish they had a social meeting spot,,, just a place to order a margarita and visit. It really is just a group of condos. No vacation vibe, no music, no drinks. And don't get me wrong I am NOT looking for Club Med. Just a drink after a long day. Or coffee in the morning.

The location is the best on the island. Close enough to visit town but removed and private enough to feel safe and comfortable. Town is fun and on cloudy days we had a blast shopping and getting ice cream. We bought additional groceries at the store and took the golf cart to see a local feeding of the crocodiles. The kids loved it. I would recommend getting the golf cart. Not too expensive and worth every penny - getting in the golf cart to go to dinner was motivation enough for the kids to get ready. They LOVED it!

Restaurants we loved - Sunset Grill and feeding the tarpon, The Patio. We also tried to go to Azul but it was closed - I had read about it and really wanted to try it. We also loved Sweet Basil. For the restaurants on the North end - take a private water taxi. Fast and private.

The island itself is a work in progress. There is a lot of construction. Some half finished and abandoned. There is an old boat tied to the pier directly in front of Xanadu that is the uglest thing I have ever seen. We took a picture of it as a metaphor to Ambergris - half finished. And there is trash everywhere. Running on the beach - there is a trail along the entire shoreline - is great exercise but kind of depressing. We also joked about the local "rush-hour" where all locals ride their bikes up north for construction jobs along this trail - literally hundreds of men!

Important notes - you will not swim in the ocean. Make sure your hotel has a good pool becuase the ocean is full of trash and seaweed. Or plan a snorkeling trip. We did Shark Ray alley and it was cool. It was the only time I got in the ocean.

We checked out Victoria House - another hotel hightly rated. It was very cute and manicured. Farther from town. But honestly you can find a million hotels like it in Florida.. why go all the way to Belize? It is farther from town and the road is horrible. Cute but missing the local vibe that Xanadu has. Although if I went back I would check into both.

Major bonus!!! We took the best trip of our lives - kudos to Astrum Helicopters and Kevin our pilot!!!! We flew over to Lamanai and got a birds eye view of the reef and the island. Then to the mainland and we saw the ruins by air. We landed in a field and a private airboat awaited us for an eco-tour of the savannah. Followed by a personal tour of the ruins and then lunch in the beautuul Lamanai Lodge. First class all the way. My 7 year old son sat up front with the pilot on the return flight and it was the highlight of his life. He asked so many questions and also bought an amazing print of the ruins to be framed for his room. Amazing, amazing, amazing!!!

In closing, we liked Ambergris so much that we stayed an additional week (at a different resort as Xanadu was full.) The island is beautiful although it needs some love (and filled trash bags) to be considered first class. But then again, you get what you pay for and the rooms at Ambergris are a bargain. Save your money and do something really cool like an Astrum Helicopter tour!! Have fun!

  • Liked — Comfortable with a nice kitchen, location
  • Disliked — the island itself, specifically the trash and roads
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ColoradoFunMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2008

We just returned from our first trip to San Pedro and our stay at Xanadu Resort. Xanadu was just as it said on their website---rejuvenate mind,body and soul. Our room was spacious,clean and decorated nicely. The property was tropical and very inviting. The stress of our daily lives was taken away almost immediately. The staff at Xanadu could not have been more helpful. They gave us great recommendations for restaurants and other activities. Bicycles were free of charge and a great way to see the island. The golf cart rental was on the property making it very convenient.

We can't wait to come back to Belize and Xanadu !!!

  • Liked — serenity of property
  • Disliked — Too far from downtown
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LillyKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2008

We chose Belize for our honeymoon about six months before the wedding. The hardest part after that was actually choosing where to stay and what to do. I think we changed our mind about 5 or 6 times before actually settling on Xanadu. We definitely made the right choice.

The location was perfect - about a 10 minute walk to the heart of San Pedro. The store right at the entrance of the resort came in very handy. The facilities are great - very well maintained and the people are fabulous (Stacey in the front office is the best; I even liked the cleaning lady). The tours/activities that were arranged for us were outstanding. We snorkeled with the sharks; visited the ruins at Lamanai, did a sailing tour, and ate way too much Lobster.

I'm not going to bore you platitudes about why you should chose Xanadu. Their is a reason they are Number 1 on Trip Advisor and the rating is very well deserved.

  • Liked — People and the facilities....
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasAhmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2008

My fiance and I chose Xanadu for our wedding about a year ago. From the beginning, Susan has been amazing helping me plan all aspects. We only corresponded by e-mail, and she was prompt answering all questions and requests. This was extremely important to me because we are both busy professionals and didn't have a lot of time or patience for talking on the phone or waiting for replies. When we got to Xanadu, we had 5 days before our wedding to get settled. We were expecting to spend most of that time taking care of wedding details, but instead we spent it relaxing and having a blast because Su had taken care of everything. My wedding was PERFECT and I could not more highly recommend Xanadu for a wedding, or just to stay for vacation.

We stayed in suite #2, an oceanfront loft with a breathtaking view. Every morning we woke up around 6:30 am, just to see the sun rise from our deck. The kitchen was a huge convenience and came with water and coffee to get us started. Several nights, we had our friends over for drinks and we found our unit was very suitable for entertaining. It was perfect for getting ready with my friends for the wedding too. We did not mind at all not having a restaurant on site. It made the resort much more private feeling and gave us the opportunity to see more of San Pedro and try new restaurants. Furthermore, the complementary bikes were a bonus and we used them daily to explore the island. It was very nice having laundry facilities on site.

The extras at Xanadu really make it stand out from the rest of the resorts, even the more expensive resorts. On top of the that, Su, Stacey, the rest of the staff, and the kitties made us feel right at home at all times.

Next time we are on Ambergris Caye, which we hope is very soon, we are definitely staying at Xanadu, and would not even consider staying anywhere else after our experience there.

  • Liked — The wonderful view and the friendly staff
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gricorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2008

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night stay at Xanadu for our friend's wedding. From our initial contact with Stacey and Susan to book the trip through our final check-out, this was the easiest trip that we have ever planned. The management at Xanadu goes out of their way to make sure that you have an enjoyable and stress-free vacation to Belize.

Stacey was our initial contact and returned all of our emails promptly and within moments we were booked for our stay at Xanadu. We stayed in suite 7A, which was a lovely and large one bedroom suite overlooking the pool and just steps away from the beach. The property and rooms were immaculately maintained to create an idyllic paradise retreat.

We flew into Belize City and the hotel arranged the booking of our puddle jumper flights on Tropic Air into San Pedro AND took care of changing them for us when our flight into San Pedro was rescheduled to arrive at a later time. No extra fees, and no worries. The cost of the Tropic Air flights were added to our hotel bill and Xanadu covered the cost of the taxi from the San Pedro airport to their property. As soon as we arrived in San Pedro, we felt we were being taken care of.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the staff, our bags were whisked away to our room and our kitchen was stocked with bottled water for our stay.

Stacey walked us through a map of the town and highlighted her favorite places to eat - which we enjoyed as well! Bikes and kayaks were available for free rental - we only wish we had had more time to use them!

We were able to arrange all of our scuba diving trips directly through Xanadu. We dove with Ecologic Divers (the best!), who picked us up from and returned us to the Xanadu pier. Again, the cost was added to our hotel bill. If you are considering diving in Belize -the 2nd largest barrier reef - I would highly recommend Ecologic Divers. The staff was extremely professional, the pick up and drop off was ideal and they even include extra, free, added amenities such as hot towels when you return to the boat and a free CD of pictures from your dive.

Xanadu does not have a restaurant on site but is just a few steps away from two local markets, so we stocked our room (equipped with a kitchen and all the cooking instruments you would need) with food for the week, often cooking ourselves breakfast in the mornings. It is also just a few blocks from the center of town, so there are many places to eat nearby.

Some of our favorites:

George's for breakfast. Delicious fresh squeezed orange, pineapple, and watermelon juice.

Monkey Bites for breakfast or lunch.

Casa Picasso for dinner. Tapas style. Excellent sangria!

Palmilla (at Victoria House) for your one special meal. (white tablecloth etc.)

Crazy Canuck's is a fun bar scene right on the beach. You have to try the Panty Ripper. Apparently it is the national drink of Belize (or something to that extent).


I'd recommend Xanadu to anyone visiting Ambergris Caye - centrally located to town but remote enough to feel special. Suited for any type of traveler. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtravelerfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.3 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
966 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
1.4 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.6 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing