We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BOOM! Just awesome.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BOOM! Just awesome.”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Before I start, I'm gonna say that this isn't a hotel. No bar, no restaurant, no clubs and no noise :) However, what it is is crazily relaxing.

Firstly, the apartments (eco-pods as I think they call them) are great. Really spacious, with an actual kitchen that functions like one, not one of these places that just has a token kitchen as some sort of selling point. Yes, they are electric hobs on the cooker, but that is expected. If you do want to cook for yourself, then a local shop is less than 50 yards from Xanadu, with bigger supermarkets a 5 minute cycle ride away (bike hire from xanadu is free). While on food and drink, if you do run out of your own beer, they do have a fridge full of it and can sell it to you. So, not having a bar isn't really an issue.

Everything is spotlessly clean.

The staff are awesome. Just the most helpful, friendly people I've had the pleasure to interact with in a long time. From the moment you arrive you feel incredibly welcome.

I felt very safe here and many families were present. So, although I wasn't with kids I think it'd be perfect.

Nothing to complain about whatsoever. Just go :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loz2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    113
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
339
569
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks in September. The staff really make this place the special place that it is. The guys in the office (Franz & Jamile) were beyond helpful when organising any trips we wanted to go on and, given it was low season, some trips were harder to organise than others, but we got to go on everything we wanted to thanks to them! What makes the day trip even better is that you don't have to walk, cycle or get a taxi anywhere because you get picked right up from the resorts dock! The dock is a great place to pass the day away and relax with a book and a few drinks. The resort itself is really special. We like small quite resorts and this was just perfect. It's built around lots of lush vegetation which gives it a jungle feel, with the turquoise ocean in eye shot all the time. It's got a rustic feel to it as well and at night the soft lighting around the resort create a romantic ambience. The grounds are immaculate, groomed meticulously every morning by the staff. The rooms are very clean, very comfortable and fully equipped with all you need. The maids were excellent also. There are 2 supermarkets just a 2 minute walk form the resort and The Baker, (across the road from one of the supermarkets) who bakes the most ridiculously delicious cinnamon roles every morning are to die for! Their sandwiches are also yummy.
We were really surprised by how much there was to see and do on the island....countless dive and snorkelling sites. My boyfriend is an experienced divemaster and he did about 10 dives during the 2 weeks.

Everyone working in this resort are just super nice and friendly people. We loved it, the island, the people and we will most definitely go back to San Pedro and stay at Xanadu again.
Cathy, you've got an awesome team!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blanaid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and 21 year old son spent 12 days and 10 nights on Ambergris Caye and stayed at Xanadu Resort. When we arrived we were greeted with rum punches and a very knowledegable staff. Our maid service for the entire stay was excellent. It's location is ideal at the south end of the island. If you want to go into town, San Pedro, it is only a short 15 minute walk along the beach. We stayed in suite #9 and it had a garden and ocean view. Waking up to that every morning to the view was more than we had anticipated. The suite was beautiful. The kitchen was well stocked with everything including a large refridgerator, small appliances, dining room table and breakfast bar. Off the kitchen is the living room with a television and beyond that is the deck with beautiful views and a hammock you won't want to get out of! They offer free snorkeling gear if you want to snorkel off of the dock as well as kayaks and bicycles. The staff books all your trips and you only have to walk to the end of the pier for water excursions. We took a catamaran and snorkeled at Shark Ray Alley and spent some time on Caye Caulker. We did another day snorkeling trip with Alphonse as well as night snorkeling. I highly reccomend him!We also visited Xantunich and did ATM. The lush tropical fauna, the swimming pool, the staff and the entire resort left me speechless. It's truly Paradise on earth. We'll definitely return to Xanadu.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elliomaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
295 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Wow! What a great week of Romance on the Reef at Xanadu. The resort is located south of San Pedro town on Ambergris Caye about a 10 minute taxi drive from the airport on a cobblestone street. This island is so quaint. The streets are crowded with golf carts and bikes and the only vehicles are taxis or service vehicles. Very safe to get around. Xanadu Island Resort is a lovely paradise with lush tropical gardens situated on a beautiful white sand beach. We were greeted by big happy smiles from the staff and Ingrid welcomed us with much needed delicious rum punch on our arrival. We stayed in suite #10, a two bedroom ocean view bungalow. We were right on the beach and were greeted by gorgeous sunrise every morning and breathtaking sunsets at night. The rooms were clean and comfortable and staying as two couples offered enough space for all. there was even a pull out sofa in the living room to accommodate larger families. the kitchen was fully stocked with everything you would need for a stay at the beach, including small appliances, cookware and blender. the refrigerator was quite large and we were pleased to find in stocked with a few Belikin beers and a nice welcome note. All activities were easily arranged by the staff at the activity center. Pick up for the snorkeling trips was right on the dock off the resort. We had access to free use of bicycles from 8am-6pm and sea kayaking. The golf cart rental stand was only a few blocks away. It was located very close to a few markets where you can get provisions for the week. Sunbathing on the dock and relaxing under the palapa was a great way to spend the afternoon. It is only a 15 minute walk along the beach to most of the San Pedro restaurants. The bird sanctuary and nature preserve is very small but beautiful. the pool is very refreshing. our room can with air conditioning that worked quite well, but was a bit loud.We loved our stay at Xanadu and are looking forward to our return. Highly recommended for honeymooners, families and couples of all ages.

Room Tip: Suite #10 is right on the beach and perfect for two couples or a large family. Gorgeous view and gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjworldtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Romance on the Reef - a really nice way to describe your vacation with us. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write us a detailed and positive review. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Xanadu for 7 nights for our honeymoon in April/May. We wanted something close enough to town so we could explore but that would still feel like we were away from the crowds - Xanadu was perfect! Our room overlooked the beach and we had beautiful views the entire time. The dock out front provided some amazing sunsets and nice relaxation at the end of the day. We didn't plan any activities going in but had plenty to choose from through the front desk. We went fishing, snorkeling, swimming, and took a tour of the ruins on the mainland. We were also able to use the hotel's bikes and kayaks free of charge which we did on 2 separate occasions. Although the hotel doesn't have a restaurant, there is a grocery store across the street which had what we needed to make our own breakfast at home (our room included a full kitchen - I liked it better than my own kitchen back home!). We were also within walking/biking distance to several restaurants and the hotel even arranged for a free taxi from one of the nearby nicer restaurants for us to have a romantic meal on our final night there. The staff was incredibly friendly and always available and the hotel was immaculate. The pool was very nice and comfortable and at times it felt like we were in our own little paradise. I'm so happy we chose this hotel for our honeymoon and we will surely be back!

Room Tip: We wanted beach front but opted for the beach front room on the top floor - spectacular views and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmhira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
We do appreciate your very positive review and thank you for it. It is wonderful that you chose Xanadu for your honeymoon and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. At Xanadu you can be as busy or relaxed as you want to be in a very tranquil and beautiful setting. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I went to San Pedro solely for diving for 10 days in April. We like smaller boutique style resorts and dive shops that have a fun, family feel where we get to know the staff. I can't recommend the combination of Xanadu Resort and Chuck and Robbie's dive shop highly enough.

A boat from Chuck and Robbie's picked us up for 2 tank dives in the morning right at the end of Xanadu's pier. It was a 5 minute boat ride to the dive shop which is a friendly fun place to hang out. After our second dive, the dive boat dropped us back off at the resort between 12 and 1 pm. We left our regs and BCDs on the boat. The staff at Chuck and Robbie's rinse it and set it up for you. Xanadu has a GREAT facility for washing the gear we brought back with us - sinks, a large rinse barrel and lockers with padlocks made from wire mesh where you can hang your gear overnight so you don't have to hang it in your condo. Of course, we brought our dive computers back to our condo.

Xanadu's lush gorgeous mature landscaping creates a great deal of privacy between the units and also hosts a variety of wildlife. It really is a little slice of paradise. Seek out Orlando for a tour. We learned a lot about the flora and fauna from him as well as Mayan culture.

The staff at Xanadu is AMAZING! They were very helpful and efficient with emails and phone calls when we were arranging our trip - including our domestic flight and help when our international flight was delayed when we were traveling. Same goes for our stay. Ten star service. They really looked out for us.

Our condo was very comfortable and well stocked for cooking. There is a large outdoor gas grill you can use. Ask the front desk. They will set it up for you and clean it after you use it. :-) We bought fish from Fishman Johnson Tel 662-6548. He'll also cook it for you if you like. You can leave money with the front desk and they will put the fish in your refrigerator if he delivers it while you are out. We also bought fish from a man at a dock just south of the resort. Just someone coming in with a catch that we approached. Suggest knowing market prices before you approach someone like this.

We really enjoyed staying at the resort so we made out own sundown cocktails (rum, limes, simple syrup and ice) and cooked most of our own food. When we went out, we walked north along the beach to one of the many restaurants anywhere from 5 to 20 minutes away. Very convenient. We were advised to take a taxi home though. $5 fixed price.

Two restaurants that stood out were Island Secret Restaurant on Pescador Dr and Restaurant Pupuseria a few blocks south also on Pescador Dr Tel 226-3237. Island Secret Restaurant is a Lebanese restaurant that everyone knows as "the place to buy rotisserie chickens". They have a large cooker on the street in front of the restaurant. The chickens are delicious and were a mainstay for us during our stay. There is also a large green grocer across the street. Pricey but good variety and carries some hard to find produce like lettuce. We also bought fruits and vegetables from street stands located all over town. Restaurant Pupuseria sells great pupuserias. As we settled into our trip, our rhythm was to take the complimentary bicycles from Xanadu and cycle into town in the afternoon to buy food and run errands. We took a small softsided cooler that we travel with and picked up takeaway conch salad that we ate back at the resort. At the end of the pier with our sunset cocktails. Yum!

Xanadu offers a discount to returning visitors. We look forward to using it!

More about diving on my review of Chuck and Robbie's.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OceansideNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Diving is one of the reasons many people come to Belize. With the second largest barrier reef in the world only minutes away from Ambergris Caye, there is so much to see. As you mentioned, Xanadu has a dive station to clean and store wet gear and we are happy you made use of it. Our tour desk is always happy to help turn dreams into reality by organizing tours for our guests. Thank you very much for your review and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring City, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We recently spent a week at Xanadu with our two teenage sons. This is a small, but idyllic resort on Ambegris Caye just off the Belize mainland. Directly on the Caribbean and situated within a natural landscape shaded by a grove of palm trees, Xanadu works very hard to maintain harmony with nature. And definitely succeeds. Franz, Jamil, Angie and Ingid and other employees go by their first names and make you feel part of the family.

The rooms are situated in several independent buildings in a half circle around the pool and beach. We booked Room #8, which though described as a "garden view" actually had a beautiful deck view over the pool and turqoise Caribbean beyond, as long as you don't mind looking through a few palm leaves. Wait, taking coffee looking over the Caribbean with a few palm leaves in the way? Uhh, not bad. Yeah, not too bad at all.

Room 8 itself is actually a spacious two bedroom apartment with two full baths, a very nice common room and a fulll kitchen/dining area, perfect for a family of four. The room also contained a large flat screen HD TV with the most common US and world cable TV channels. The extremely hot and humid Belizian summer also gave us the opportunity to fully test the room's air-condiitoning system and it performed flawlessly for the whole week.

Xanadu does not have a restaurant on the premises which proved a little inconvenient at times. The "short walks" to restaurants mentioned in other reviews were not really that short, the nearest being at least a 1/4 mile or more away on foot. This is a very minor inconvenience since most of the walks involved the beach, but do expect a 10-15 minute walk to dine. There are also two nearby markets where basic food can be purchased, but be prepared to spend significantly more than in the US. Sample tea and coffee are provided, but If you are a tea drinker; bring your own bags--much cheaper than buying more there.

One blessed and very enjoyable experience was the Baker just outside the resort grounds. The bakery is just called "The Baker" and it needs no other monker. The food is fabulous as is the company. New owners Emily and Ken love their life and their work. They bake fresh everyday. The cinnamon bread is to die for and the sandwiches--especially when eaten on the deck at Xanadu were the culinary highlights of our trip.

Xanadu is affiliated with several tourist and activity companies that we took advantage of. All of these proved excellent. Do take advantage of the snorkling through "Little Alphonse". Having snorkled the Great Barrier Reef, I can confirm first hand that the Hoh Chan Marine Reserve and shark/ray alley are even more beautiful. Bring an underwater camera or buy the disposable ones in the office. We didn't and regret it. Also don't forget sunscreen, I did and well let's just say that my nasty case of sunburn singlehandedly stunted marital romance for the rest of the week.

We also took a long one day tour onto the mainland with a company called Cave-Tubing Belize. Fully organized by Xanadu, this day proved fabulous. Our guide Robin knew everything (I mean everything) about Belize, its nature, history, landscape and people. He was a walking talking almanac on all things Belize. We saw Mayan ruins, zip-lined and cave-tubed all in one day and a great day it was. We highly recommend this.

Hint 2: Bring tip money for your guides and hosts. This seems expected and is very much appreciated.

If there is anything negative, it was of our own doing. Our two teenaged sons could have used a little more activity options and perhaps more young people. Though some other teens were present, Xanadu is basically a quiet, adult oriented resort. This proved a mixed blessing, though too, as most electronic devices stayed off and everyone in the family read at least two full novels during the quiet relaxing week.

We can find little to criticize about Xanadu. This is a beautiful, very well run resort. Should we ever return to Belize, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go on line and check out a map of the resort. Most rooms seem to have a view of the beach even if d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy A, General Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your very positive and detailed review. I guess the time it takes to get to nearby restaurants depends on each individual and the level of activity each one is used to, or perhaps it is the length of legs! We are glad you enjoyed your diving at Holchan Marine Reserve, it certainly is one of the treasures of Belize. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.3 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
966 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
1.4 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.6 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing