We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in Paradise”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We spent 7 nights at Xanadu Island Resort for our honeymoon Oct. 14-21st. From the moment we made our reservations to the day we left the resort, we received the best service from the staff at Xanadu. We arrived at Xanadu at around 12:30/1pm and our room (#7A) was not ready yet. Check in is not until 3pm so we were a little early. We went to get a bite to eat at Rico’s over at the Villas at Banyan Bay while they prepared our room. After our beachside meal, we went over to see if our room was ready. Our room must have had some issues because it still was not ready, but we were offered an upgrade to an oceanview honeymoon loft suite (#3) in the meantime. It was incredible. We had a wonderful view of the ocean that we enjoyed in the hammock on the deck outside the suite. We fell in love with Xanadu. We woke up to a beautiful sunrise every morning.

Our suite was equipped with a fully stocked kitchen with pots, pans, dishes and silverware for cooking on those days we didn’t feel like eating out. We had two full baths stocked with plenty of towels, shampoo, conditioner, and body wash. There were televisions in the common room downstairs and in the bedroom upstairs. The suite was also equipped with a safe, iron and ironing board, and 2 A/C units. The suite was very clean and the products that housekeeping used smelled great. We had everything we needed at our fingertips. The wonderful staff was on point and able to assist us with those things that were not readily available.

Franz at the front desk was super helpful with everything. He helped us make arrangements for our various tours, massages and cart rental. He also made suggestions on where to eat.
We vacationed during the low season so it was really quiet. If you are expecting a live and happening resort, this is not the place for you. This island paradise is conducive to relaxing.

Many other guests complain about there not being a bar or restaurant, but this is not an issue as there are several eateries in both directions within walking distance on the beach. There are also a couple of markets to buy items for cooking. It would be helpful to bring your own kitchen staples in your luggage because you will get sticker shock in the markets.

If you are expecting lush sandy beach to sun yourself on while the waves crash on to the shore, this is not the place for you. Xanadu has a sea wall, but they have an area cordoned off at the end of the dock for swimming. There are very few spots around the island where you can just wade into the ocean from the shore due to the proximity to the reef and the amount of sea grass in the water. Xanadu is a peaceful oasis with a great heated tropical pool on immaculate grounds to satisfy your swimming needs.

Unfortunately, we had to move to the room we initially reserved for our final night since the oceanview suite was reserved. It was still a lovely suite, but the view was not as pleasing and there were construction/renovations in progress right outside our door. Since it is low season, it is understandable that the resort would take advantage of this time for major projects.

Overall, we had a great honeymoon in Belize with wonderful accommodations at Xanadu.

Room Tip: Oceanfront suite # 3 is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    113
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
346
573
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a great place to have a quiet vacation. There are many things to do in the beautiful clear waters of Ambergris. The food is very good and inexpensive. The people of this place is wonderful and very kind, peace and quiet, no annoying music.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meravelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasville, GA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have just recently been exposed to the term "boutique" hotel. It refers to places that are small (not a lot of rooms) and provide very personal service. I stayed at one in Merida last year and so thought I would give Xanadu a try. Xanadu did not disappoint! The hotel is south of all the activity on the island, so it is quiet and tranquil. It does not have a restaurant or bar, but you can get beer/sodas from the office. I thought the lack of a restaurant would be a problem, but there were breakfast places just a short walk away, and some of the nicer restaurants offered free pick up.
Our room was a ground floor queen studio overlooking the pool area. It was fully equipped and met all our needs. It was well furnished though the mattress is well worn and needs to be replaced.
Service at the hotel is what makes all the difference. Staff was always willing to do whatever was necessary to ensure our stay met our expectations. This at times proved to be a challenge as we were in off season and many tours/activities were not operating, and many restaurants were closed. Still, they went above and beyond to help us find the type of activities we were interested in.
Like many who have posted before, we stayed 6 nights, and needed a few more! I think we will have to go back next year; left many things undone!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonThomasville_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Just returned home from our 5 day vacation on Ambergris Caye where we stayed at the tropical Xanadu Island Resort. From the moment we arrived you could tell the pace and laid back energy were going to set the tone for a very relaxing stay. Our room #8 was an upgrade from our original reservation and we were pleasantly surprised to be staying in this 2 bedroom 2nd floor suite. The rooms were immaculate, well supplied kitchens and bathrooms and big enough to be an apartment you could live in full time. Angie (a member of the housekeeping staff) kept everything neat and clean and was a delight to talk to. The beautiful lush tropical setting made you think you could have been a castaway on Gilligan's Island but with all the conveniences and amenities of home. We had looked at several resorts online before booking Xanadu and you never know what you're going to get until you actually see it in person. The resort far exceeded our expectations in every way. Once we got to San Pedro we walked past a few of the other resorts we were considering and I knew we had made the right choice, Xanadu blew them away.

The only problem that did arise had to do with our timing staying in Belize at low season. Several times we had our reservations/tours cancelled but the staff at the front desk was quick to rebook them so we didn't miss out on any plans we had made, they were just postponed. Thank you Blanca and all the front staff folks for your help in making all those arrangements for us...you were great!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owings, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just got back from spending 5 days at Xanadu and we needed at least 5 more days! The resort is beautiful, clean with spacious rooms. Highly recommend Honeymoon Loft Suite. Woke up each morning to a beautiful sunrise. Was hesitant at first learning there was no bar/restaurant, but you have a fully equipped kitchen and a market right next door. And if you want more excitement just a short stroll down the beach are some great bars with bands and great drinks/food. The staff are super friendly and so very helpful. They make you feel like family.

Highly recommend taking the Tropic Ferry to the resort. The crew are awesome and they pick you up at the airport for a very short ride to their boat then a fun-filled boat ride with unlimited rum punch right to your dock. Heaven!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Before I start, I'm gonna say that this isn't a hotel. No bar, no restaurant, no clubs and no noise :) However, what it is is crazily relaxing.

Firstly, the apartments (eco-pods as I think they call them) are great. Really spacious, with an actual kitchen that functions like one, not one of these places that just has a token kitchen as some sort of selling point. Yes, they are electric hobs on the cooker, but that is expected. If you do want to cook for yourself, then a local shop is less than 50 yards from Xanadu, with bigger supermarkets a 5 minute cycle ride away (bike hire from xanadu is free). While on food and drink, if you do run out of your own beer, they do have a fridge full of it and can sell it to you. So, not having a bar isn't really an issue.

Everything is spotlessly clean.

The staff are awesome. Just the most helpful, friendly people I've had the pleasure to interact with in a long time. From the moment you arrive you feel incredibly welcome.

I felt very safe here and many families were present. So, although I wasn't with kids I think it'd be perfect.

Nothing to complain about whatsoever. Just go :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loz2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks in September. The staff really make this place the special place that it is. The guys in the office (Franz & Jamile) were beyond helpful when organising any trips we wanted to go on and, given it was low season, some trips were harder to organise than others, but we got to go on everything we wanted to thanks to them! What makes the day trip even better is that you don't have to walk, cycle or get a taxi anywhere because you get picked right up from the resorts dock! The dock is a great place to pass the day away and relax with a book and a few drinks. The resort itself is really special. We like small quite resorts and this was just perfect. It's built around lots of lush vegetation which gives it a jungle feel, with the turquoise ocean in eye shot all the time. It's got a rustic feel to it as well and at night the soft lighting around the resort create a romantic ambience. The grounds are immaculate, groomed meticulously every morning by the staff. The rooms are very clean, very comfortable and fully equipped with all you need. The maids were excellent also. There are 2 supermarkets just a 2 minute walk form the resort and The Baker, (across the road from one of the supermarkets) who bakes the most ridiculously delicious cinnamon roles every morning are to die for! Their sandwiches are also yummy.
We were really surprised by how much there was to see and do on the island....countless dive and snorkelling sites. My boyfriend is an experienced divemaster and he did about 10 dives during the 2 weeks.

Everyone working in this resort are just super nice and friendly people. We loved it, the island, the people and we will most definitely go back to San Pedro and stay at Xanadu again.
Cathy, you've got an awesome team!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blanaid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.3 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
974 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
795 reviews
3.7 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing