We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star oasis without the five star price tag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My friends who had been to Belize many times told me to stay only at Victoria House. I have to believe it is because they don't know about Xanadu. Ingrid, Melanie, Cathy, Orlando and Armando are running a five star boutique hotel without the fuss. I haven't on any trip at any resort (St Regis, Four Seasons, St. Ritz) been so well taken care of. They are what makes the place.

Add to that, a lovely pool, a great outside grill on the water, a fantastic location a kayak ride away from the reef (we saw eagle ray and a pod of dolphins), and a short walk to the Belize Pro Dive Shop (where Ian, Beth and Pedro will take care of you), and you have a magical vacation. Grab a massage at the nearby spa and try some of the local food at El Fogon. Security is quietly present, and the grounds are beautifully maintained.

I can't recommend this place enough, I hope they preserve all that is wonderful about it, including the people, and I look forward to returning with more of my family,

Room Tip: We were in room 19 (at the back). It lacked a view or a breeze but offered privacy. Spacious and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JennMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

I can't say enough positive about the service at Xanadu. We were there mid-November, and didn't have the greatest weather. We had purchased the Must See Must Do Package, and were unable to do some of the activities. The staff went truly above and beyond to make sure we found equivalent (sometimes better) substitutions.

The location is great - it's an easy golf cart/bike ride into town (or cheap cab ride), but you're just out of the hustle of town that you feel like you're away from it all.

The rooms are fine. Are they the most luxurious ever? No, but they're huge and comfortable. It's clear that the resort is a bit older, but they are working on modernizing it a bit. Some details seem a bit dated (the bathroom fixtures, etc), but the rest of the resort truly makes up for it. The decks are amazing - very comfortable and covered (which is especially nice when it rains a lot). Having a kitchen is a nice amenity, but grocery food there is as much as, if not more, expensive than eating out.
A few tips:
-Don't let the fact that there's no onsite restaurant or bar sway you - they do have a fridge with beer at the pool, so you have something to drink (it's really cheap too), and there are a few nearby restaurants to pop into if you need something to eat in a hurry (we loved the Baker - great cinnamon rolls and great sandwiches).
-The beach is not really a laying out kind of beach - there are a few chairs on the private pier if you want to be near the sea, but it's really just a bit of sand to create a seawall. The pool is amazing though - very well maintained.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Ambergris Caye.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fliesforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This was our first time to San Pedro. Xanadu is south of the relatively busy commercial center of the town/island...and is a tranquil escape. The property grounds are very tasteful and the staff is incredibly helpful and accommodating. Our unit was furnished nicely and comfortable. The private pier was a delight. I just wish we had been there a couple of more days to enjoy the property!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

On our recent visit to Belize we opted to first try out Cay Caulker and found the island quaint yet too small for our desire to see many things. We booked our stay at Xanadu and loved every minute of our experience there. The service and amenities are outstanding and the rooms are very well equipped and comfortable. The distance from the center of town is just far enough to give you a relaxing bike ride and the silence one often sI would recommend this resort to anyone I know.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lauritafrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

From the time the taxi brought me from the airport until it was time to leave, I loved Xanadu. The staff was very friendly and helpful from the moment I arrived. I arrived from Belize City before my friends and spent the time happily sunning and swimming in the pool. The grounds really give an aura of tranquility. From the resort to the San Mateo Bridge was exactly 2 miles if you ran along the beach for those of you (like me!) who need to run even on vacation. I would leave just as the sun came up and then come back and jump in the pool. Also, the air conditioning worked very well which was important as it was hot and humid during the day. The suite had everything we needed and we tended to stay in for breakfast, then go out for lunch and dinner. The beds were extremely comfortable and I slept better there than in my bed at home. There is a small store just at the entrance to the resort for essentials and a great bakery a short walk away. We rented a golf cart which was very helpful to getting to restaurants further north. I absolutely will stay here again when on San Pedro!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank triplevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is a very lovely and Eco friendly place. We were there to help out saga humane society in conjunction with Hopkins humane society for vet clinics. This resort donated our rooms so we could do our work, thanks so much for your generosity!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Purdue94grad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We spent 7 nights at Xanadu Island Resort for our honeymoon Oct. 14-21st. From the moment we made our reservations to the day we left the resort, we received the best service from the staff at Xanadu. We arrived at Xanadu at around 12:30/1pm and our room (#7A) was not ready yet. Check in is not until 3pm so we were a little early. We went to get a bite to eat at Rico’s over at the Villas at Banyan Bay while they prepared our room. After our beachside meal, we went over to see if our room was ready. Our room must have had some issues because it still was not ready, but we were offered an upgrade to an oceanview honeymoon loft suite (#3) in the meantime. It was incredible. We had a wonderful view of the ocean that we enjoyed in the hammock on the deck outside the suite. We fell in love with Xanadu. We woke up to a beautiful sunrise every morning.

Our suite was equipped with a fully stocked kitchen with pots, pans, dishes and silverware for cooking on those days we didn’t feel like eating out. We had two full baths stocked with plenty of towels, shampoo, conditioner, and body wash. There were televisions in the common room downstairs and in the bedroom upstairs. The suite was also equipped with a safe, iron and ironing board, and 2 A/C units. The suite was very clean and the products that housekeeping used smelled great. We had everything we needed at our fingertips. The wonderful staff was on point and able to assist us with those things that were not readily available.

Franz at the front desk was super helpful with everything. He helped us make arrangements for our various tours, massages and cart rental. He also made suggestions on where to eat.
We vacationed during the low season so it was really quiet. If you are expecting a live and happening resort, this is not the place for you. This island paradise is conducive to relaxing.

Many other guests complain about there not being a bar or restaurant, but this is not an issue as there are several eateries in both directions within walking distance on the beach. There are also a couple of markets to buy items for cooking. It would be helpful to bring your own kitchen staples in your luggage because you will get sticker shock in the markets.

If you are expecting lush sandy beach to sun yourself on while the waves crash on to the shore, this is not the place for you. Xanadu has a sea wall, but they have an area cordoned off at the end of the dock for swimming. There are very few spots around the island where you can just wade into the ocean from the shore due to the proximity to the reef and the amount of sea grass in the water. Xanadu is a peaceful oasis with a great heated tropical pool on immaculate grounds to satisfy your swimming needs.

Unfortunately, we had to move to the room we initially reserved for our final night since the oceanview suite was reserved. It was still a lovely suite, but the view was not as pleasing and there were construction/renovations in progress right outside our door. Since it is low season, it is understandable that the resort would take advantage of this time for major projects.

Overall, we had a great honeymoon in Belize with wonderful accommodations at Xanadu.

Room Tip: Oceanfront suite # 3 is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.3 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
990 reviews
1.5 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £269 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing