We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect balance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed at Xanadu for 2 weeks in one of the Garden Suites.

Having seen the other places in San Pedro I have to say I definitely think we chose the best. Xanadu has the perfect balance of a relaxed high-end resort, without feeling like a manufactured American resort (which most of the other "nice" places in San Pedro seem to be).

The staff were fantastic and continually helpful with anything we needed, making restaurant recommendations, reservations and helping to book trips, even when we wanted to use providers other than the ones they would as normal direct you towards.

I can strongly recommend Xanadu to anyone going to San Pedro.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
There are newer reviews for Xanadu Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel is a great little gem about a 10-15 minute walk from the center of San Pedro. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, well-appointed, and kept very clean.
every room has a balcony or outside space which is lovely to sit out on. The staff is outstanding - very friendly, accommodating, and seem to enjoy working there. We arranged our excursions through the office and were very pleased with the trips we took. We travelled in early December which is the slow season so neither the hotel nor the town was inundated with people which was nice, but I feel sure the atttitude of the staff would be the same no matter what!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gogogone_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We just got back from a 4 nights stay at Xanadu and had an enjoyable time, the rooms are nice and clean( a little outdated) and comfortable. The pool is great it being heated makes it quite enjoyable swimming when its raining. What in my mind makes this resort is the staff the reception crew is amazing, the grounds staff is so friendly and always cleaning and the housekeepers do a great job. The resort is very well maintained and clean but walking down the beach out of the resort is something else there is sooo much garbage everywhere it is disgusting, I love to walk along the beaches but not in San Petro I have never seen such a dirty place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hummingbird5_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Rarely does this occur. The resort website doesn't do this place justice. We were pleasantly surprised upon arrive to find this resort much more beautiful than expected. While the units are basic and clean, it was the grounds of the resort that really make it special. There are numerous tropical plants, a pool with palm trees growing overhead, well cared for property ground, a security person roaming about, and a fun jungle boardwalk hike. The staff was very friendly and it was nice to have complementary bikes and kayaks to explore.
Each unit has a nice kitchen and there is a full grocery store within a quick five minute walk. This place is perfect for couples, small families and groups of friends.
We can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: An upstairs water front suite would be worth the upgrade price.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank World_Journal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This was a perfect choice for our 8 day vacation. We arrived late on a rainy Friday but no dispare as earlier we had arranged to have 2 beautiful ladies cook us dinner as a welcome. The food was excellent and all we had to provide was wine.

The grounds are well maintained and the pool is always warm and clean. The only thing lacking would be a beach but on Ambergris there are very few beaches

The staff was excellent in helping us arrange cart rentals and 2 excursions.

Even though there is no restuarant or bar on site, these services are close by and can be easily reached by foot or taxi. Taxi usually costs $10Belize one way.

As for the island, was quite happy. Felt safe at all times. The people are friendly and helpful. There are a few pan handlers but they are not pushy. There are a variety of restuarants and bars throughout, both north and south of the resort. Would recommend that you try some of the local flavour. Only disappointment is the amount of garbage around. Garbage cans would help

Highly recommend and would do again when I visit Belize

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rellum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My friends who had been to Belize many times told me to stay only at Victoria House. I have to believe it is because they don't know about Xanadu. Ingrid, Melanie, Cathy, Orlando and Armando are running a five star boutique hotel without the fuss. I haven't on any trip at any resort (St Regis, Four Seasons, St. Ritz) been so well taken care of. They are what makes the place.

Add to that, a lovely pool, a great outside grill on the water, a fantastic location a kayak ride away from the reef (we saw eagle ray and a pod of dolphins), and a short walk to the Belize Pro Dive Shop (where Ian, Beth and Pedro will take care of you), and you have a magical vacation. Grab a massage at the nearby spa and try some of the local food at El Fogon. Security is quietly present, and the grounds are beautifully maintained.

I can't recommend this place enough, I hope they preserve all that is wonderful about it, including the people, and I look forward to returning with more of my family,

Room Tip: We were in room 19 (at the back). It lacked a view or a breeze but offered privacy. Spacious and w...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JennMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I can't say enough positive about the service at Xanadu. We were there mid-November, and didn't have the greatest weather. We had purchased the Must See Must Do Package, and were unable to do some of the activities. The staff went truly above and beyond to make sure we found equivalent (sometimes better) substitutions.

The location is great - it's an easy golf cart/bike ride into town (or cheap cab ride), but you're just out of the hustle of town that you feel like you're away from it all.

The rooms are fine. Are they the most luxurious ever? No, but they're huge and comfortable. It's clear that the resort is a bit older, but they are working on modernizing it a bit. Some details seem a bit dated (the bathroom fixtures, etc), but the rest of the resort truly makes up for it. The decks are amazing - very comfortable and covered (which is especially nice when it rains a lot). Having a kitchen is a nice amenity, but grocery food there is as much as, if not more, expensive than eating out.
A few tips:
-Don't let the fact that there's no onsite restaurant or bar sway you - they do have a fridge with beer at the pool, so you have something to drink (it's really cheap too), and there are a few nearby restaurants to pop into if you need something to eat in a hurry (we loved the Baker - great cinnamon rolls and great sandwiches).
-The beach is not really a laying out kind of beach - there are a few chairs on the private pier if you want to be near the sea, but it's really just a bit of sand to create a seawall. The pool is amazing though - very well maintained.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Ambergris Caye.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fliesforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.3 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
987 reviews
1.5 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
354 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £217 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing