We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jungle Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Larkspur, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jungle Paradise”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We loved this Resort! My guy and I wanted to take a trip of a lifetime and had been told to try Belize. We checked out some sites on-line for San Pedro and decided to go with Xanadu. We loved that it felt very private and had a look that made it feel like we were right in the jungle rather than in a man-made manicured resort. This resort is very manicured, but the natural feel is kept at a premium. We also were very impressed by the staff who went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Always a smile and ready to serve.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RangerAbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    113
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
331
565
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We just returned from a 5 night stay and had a great time. We stayed in the beachfront unit that was extremely comfortable. Enjoyed having breakfast, dinner and relaxing on the outside patio of our unit. The staff was great and very knowledgeable. Orlando, a staff member was very knowledgeable and a pleasure to speak with. The staff was extremely helpful in arranging activities that we were interested in, such as sailing, snorkeling and dining. Xanadu is a small island resort, so therefore there are no crowds to deal with. Very peaceful and private setting. Location was great, able to walk to small grocery store and bakery or walk down the beach to various restaurants. We will definitely return, but for a longer period of time.

Room Tip: Recommend the beach front lower unit - 2 bedroom and very spacious. The outside patio with table, ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megmb770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
175 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We spent a week in these very laid back, un-fussy suite/apartments about a mile from "downtown" San Pedro. Because it's farther from downtown, it's quiet and relaxed and the beachside is beautiful. Stay in a second floor loft apartment--the views are wonderful and it's very private. The rooms could use some updating; the furniture isn't fancy and a repainting would help brighten things up a bit. But the kitchen was well-stocked with supplies and utensils and the deck with a table, chairs and a hammock was a lovely, private place to sit and watch the world go by. The staff is terrific--very responsive and helpful, with everything from dinner recommendations, to tennis suggestions, to arranging snorkeling and helping us get the Xanadu kayaks into the water. A beautiful pool is at the center of the place, where people sat around reading and drinking beer. This is a relaxed and relaxing place to vacation.

Room Tip: Second floor loft ocean-side was bright and breezy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSD57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We returned after 6 years to find this magical place even better than our happy memories. No other place along the beach comes close to this shady tropical park right on the Caribbean, with love of the environment and nature evident everywhere. The comfortable, well-equipped suites are remarkably designed and blend into the environment. The friendly and very capable staff are discreetly around, keeping it pristine and helping with special needs, day tours, transport, and local flights. Fully equipped kitchens encourage many guests (from all over the world) to return every year and stay for weeks at a time. Markets are a short walk away, and barbeque on the beach can be easily arranged, as can chefs to come in and cook in the suites. With a constant breeze rustling thru the palms and birds singing happily in their sanctuary, it is really difficult to leave!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water are breezier, but all are quiet and comfortable, w/ a/c, fans, and porches. L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidAtlanticArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Amazing!!! From our arrival on thru we lived the dream of 20+ years, that our family would someday enjoy the beauty of Belize. Everyone at Xanadu were helpful with advice and assistance. Our resort, including our 2 units - a 3-bedroom and a studio, the swimming pool, and all areas were maintained and cleaned to perfection. Our group of 9 were ages 4 - 65, with so much to keep us busy. Swimming with the fish off the dock, walking/cycling the beach to town, enjoying/relaxing at the pool, grocery shopping within 100 feet (and the "Bakery"!!!), purchasing fish from right off the beach, everything at your fingertips. But... this family needed more. We experienced an awe-inspiring guided trip to the "Mayan Ruins and River Cave tubing"; jetskiing and day snorkeling (all arranged by Jamil and Franz); a day of relaxing, snorkeling and eating lobsters and fish caught by us and our captain on "No Rush" (the braver ones of us were in the water with a bull shark within 20 feet). Everybody friendliness plus and informative for our 7 days. The dream trip came true.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LORRIANE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We went to Belize with 3 other couples and stayed at Xanadu. We all agreed that of all the resorts we saw we picked the best one. It's location to restaurants and shops was excellent. The condos and grounds were wonderful. The staff could not have been more helpful. We were very happy with the excursions they booked for us. Fishing with guide Ramon Guerraro was the best fishing trip my husband has ever been on. We grilled some of the fish they caught right on the grounds looking out over the ocean. The snorkeling was fantastic. Because it is not large the resort was quiet. We did not spend a lot of time around the pool because there was too much we wanted to do but it is a great place to relax and enjoy the sunshine. Orlando, Melanie and Jamil we a few of the extremely nice staff that made our stay great!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I planned my wedding to be at Xanadu Island Resort. We had 25 guests attending, including us. My husband and I, my brother and his girlfriend stayed for 10 days total. (The wedding being the 2nd to last day.) We stayed in the Garden View Loft Suite, and my brother and his girlfriend stayed in the Garden View studio. We loved our rooms, and the views. From the moment we arrived, everybody at Xanadu was absolutely awesome. They go out of their way to help you in any way. Belize is filled with extremely kind people, and the employees at Xanadu rank at the top of that. Ingrid, Jamil, Melanie, Orlando and Franz were the people we worked with and talked with the most. Outstanding service. Ingrid helped me plan my entire wedding via email for at least a year before the actual event. She was always timely in her responses, so kind, and would answer all of my questions. She ensured all the details were ironed out the day of the wedding as well, even thinking of last minute things. Jamil and Melanie ensured we knew of all the best places to visit, and helped us rehash our excursion schedule multiple times when the weather didn't work out. Orlando and Franz were always making sure we were having a good time. Orlando went out of his way to find coconuts and cut them open to serve my grandmother and relatives as they sat on their patio for breakfast. Dino the cat was keeping us company on the grounds of Xanadu. I had to give him a shout out. A little bonus for us animal lovers. Xanadu is in a great location as well, it is in a quiet location, although the street isn’t far and has lots of super close restaurants, farmers market stands, grocery stores, and bars. The grounds are really pretty too, we walked by many other resorts and none of them are quite as beautiful as Xanadu. It was all around a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.4 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
3.7 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing