We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Suite to die for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We went with the honeymoon package from Xanadu for our stay in San Pedro because we wanted more freedom to try local restaurants and produce than we would get with an all-inclusive package. This place was perfect!
The welcome drinks and basket were great, the suite itself was beautiful and we had nothing obstructing our view of the beach. A perfect place to spend a week (wished it could have been more). It was a nice walk up the beach to the main part of town too.
Our favorite activities were snorkeling, the sunset cruise and fishing with Armando!

Ingrid and everyone else were helpful, cheerful and helped us with anything we needed.

If we're ever back in Belize we will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We were in Suite 2 if I recall correctly, perfect view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

486 - 492 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

My husband, two teen daughters, and I picked Xanadu for our first visit to Belize, and we were not disappointed! We had reserved a 2 bedroom oceanfront condo, but were upgraded to a 3 bedroom (#11) on check in. The condo itself was huge, very clean, and perfect for us. It was on the 2nd floor with a wrap around deck directly viewing the ocean. My daughters absolutely loved sharing the hammock and talking before bed each night. The grounds were also lovely, and very lush and tropical. We spent alot of time enjoying the pool and swimming/snorkeling off the end of the pier. Ambergris Caye was a great place to vacation, and I would easily recommend Xanadu to anyone wanting to visit.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Kelli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We simply loved it. We were on San Pedro for a week, stayed first at The Blue Tang, which is located within walking distance to town, then moved south to the Xanadu, which is about a 7 min taxi ride from town (cost $5 US). We explored all of the island and truly found nothing as perfect as Xanadu. It is tranquil and beautiful, quiet and private. The pool is stunning, the beach is peaceful, the rooms are clean with private decks. Opt for a second level room if you can, for the view.
We booked the package with the hotel that got us our airfare to and from BZE, two snorkel tours, airport transfer, and 10% off our room rate. This was a great deal and the hotel then booked all of these things for us! Talk about worry free. For the snorkel tours, they arrange for pick up right at the dock in front of the hotel. The Hol Chan/Shark Ray Alley tour is a highlight that can't be missed. Bike rentals are free. There are 2 supermarkets just around the corner to stock up for eating in your room if you wish, not to mention The Baker for yummy cinnamon rolls! The staff were so friendly and kind. We can't believe the Xanadu isn't rated #1 on here yet - it certainly is to us!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CanadaSevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great accommodations, pool area and water front. It has the nicest pool area on this stretch of beach. We met great people, ate at excellent restaurants in nearby San Pedro, bought fresh bread and cinnamon rolls from the nearby "Baker", and just enjoyed the proximity to everything. Orlando is a class act - great personality and attitude about life. He is a treasure and made us all feel very welcome. He epitomizes the gracious and kind nature of Belizean people. We will be back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank CalgaryMoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Xanadu in late April, 2014. From the time we made our reservation the communication was prompt and accurate. We were even upgraded to a top floor suite upon our arrival. Our condo was spacious and newly furnished- def. exceeded our expecations. The resort is quite small so there was a boutique, personalized feeling during our stay. Although there is no onsite restaurant or bar, there are options a short walk away. And of couse since the rooms have a fridge you can buy your own drinks and bring them down to the pool! One things to note- while the beach is groomed, there is still a lot of seaweed (in all of San Pedro area), and it is not a swimming beach. We were fine swimming in the lovely pool since we had just spent a week at the beach in Placencia.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katyquite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent and well kept facilities while every effort is made to protect the environment. Great location near two very good markets. Ample sized rooms - we had a 2 bedroom 2 bath unit for 2 couples which had plenty of room for us all. Good appliances in the kitchen, including a new, clean, blender. No elevators, so be aware if you have an upstairs unit and a person with mobility issues. Small enough to feel like home, large enough to have many great amenities. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 313happytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

It was way overpriced compared to my stay in Costa Rica two years ago. I stayed at the most beautiful hotels for $100.00 US and comparing. Our stay was supposedly during Easter week. Our stay started two days after Easter so we were charged extra for that. st returned from our stay at the Xanadu.
I rate the hotel as a 4 out of 5 because I did not enjoy was the sandpaper towels, toilet paper and bedding. For the prices we payed they could splurge on these items,.
The safe did not work, we were told to keep valuables there but had to call the staff everyday to fix it. They said they would repair it but never did.
The stay was very nice, the staff was very good. Most of the staff was helpful and knowledgeable about the island and the hotel. A special mention of Orlando who showed us the resort grounds and told us about his wonderful country. Jamil and France were great help too.
The weather was great for the first 4 days then it got so windy that it was hard to spend time outside but the rooms were nice with beautiful views,.

Room Tip: the ocean front rooms had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlohaBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.3 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
990 reviews
1.5 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £267 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing