We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place on the Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Place on the Island”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I stayed @ Xanadu for 5 days. We loved every moment of it. I can not say enough good things about the staff. We used them to book all of our activities, and were never once disappointed. The rooms had everything you could possibly need and the pool was amazing. It was lovely and warm and the perfect place to relax after a day of diving. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left they took care of everything - even picking us up at the airport. We appreciated that there was no restaurant on site as it encourage us to go out and explore the town and find interesting places to eat. The hotel was conveniently located for this, and they had free bikes or you could rent golf carts. All of the staff's recommendations were spot on. Although our suite was equipped with a full kitchen we only really made use of it for breakfast, preferring the fresh ceviche offered at many of the local restaurants. The grounds were wonderful - we loved the jungle like feel and relative seclusion of the rooms, although the place was full when we were there you very much felt as though you had the hotel to yourself which is quite something. We can't say enough good things about Xanadu and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a pool facing room, which was great but there are some that face the ocean, which looked grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,063
    113
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
345
572
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

What a wonderful holiday. From the romantic setting and location of the resort (nestled away on a private stretch of beach while still being close to town, restaurants, bakery etc.) to the friendliness and efficiency of the staff it was a superb place to have a holiday away from the hustle and bustle. The staff were hardly noticeable, going about their businesses efficiently and discreetly but they were always willing and available when required to assist. Management was well organised, from bookings, to arranging air charters, check-in and transfers everything ran smoothly. We loved the place and we loved the people.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millsy0568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My 8 year old daughter and I recently stayed at Xanadu for a week. We stayed in room 4B (a studio). The whole experience with Xanadu, from start to finish, was amazing. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and treated like friends by the staff. Throughout our stay the staff went out of their way to check in on us regarding our experience. They made sure to call us by name and even asked how we were feeling the day after reporting a head cold coming on. They set up our tours, taxis, and flights. Honestly, we had to do nothing!

The grounds are breathtaking. Often we had the pool to ourselves even though the hotel was full. The pool is very kid-friendly. It never gets more than 4 (or so) feet deep and my daughter loved it! I would suggest packing some water toys if you have kids, though.

The studio was well-appointed and had every amenity needed. We were grateful for the toaster and blender as unexpected bonuses. The bed was super comfortable. We could eat inside or outside, depending on our mood, and the hammock on our patio was used daily. Free bikes made getting around easy, and renting a golf cart was a fun adventure. iPod docks and the DVD player were also nice bonuses to use with my daughter.

Room Tip: 4B (a studio) is totally enough space for two. No need to get a one bedroom if you want to say the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is our third family trip to Ambergris Caye and another wonderful experience at Xanadu Island Resort. We originally found the property in doing some internet research; but go back year-after-year because of the un"Belize"able experience we have on each trip. The resort takes care of everything from us - booking our transportation from the mainland to the island, arranging all of our tours with qualified individuals and companies, making wonderful dining recommendations and reservations, keeping our suite clean and comfortable (we rent Suite 11 which is a three bedroom, three bath full stocked "home away from home" that overlooks the water) and ensuring we see all of the wonders of the resort and Ambergris Caye.

Our thanks to the wonderful staff at Xanadu including Ingrid, Melanie, Franz, Jamel and Orlando. They make all of the difference!
We're already talking about our next trip!

Room Tip: Spend the little bit of extra for an view of the water. After all, this is why you're headed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

My husband & I stayed 7 nights in a 1 bedroom loft! It was really spacious & the private deck was lovely (complete w hammock)! We enjoyed the lush grounds that made you feel like you were in the jungle .. Lots of birds to enjoy. The entire staff was wonderful & cheerful but never bothered u if u wanted to just relax. We went on many diving tours & booking thru Xanadu was the way to go. The diving was hindered by the weather but the belizean people are so friendly & warm that we enjoyed the trip regardless. Hol chan was such a simple dive but most enjoyable due to the abundance of marine life. Turtles, sharks, moray eels & tons of other beauties abound. We noticed that most of the other hotels (pelican reef included) did not have the vegetation that Xanadu has & it makes such a difference. So happy I listened to other reviewers & we will def be back to visit & stay again. Thank u to all the lovely staff. Orlando can point out all the wildlife for u:) from booking to check out this resort is top notch! Great job.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mymartini13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We went with the honeymoon package from Xanadu for our stay in San Pedro because we wanted more freedom to try local restaurants and produce than we would get with an all-inclusive package. This place was perfect!
The welcome drinks and basket were great, the suite itself was beautiful and we had nothing obstructing our view of the beach. A perfect place to spend a week (wished it could have been more). It was a nice walk up the beach to the main part of town too.
Our favorite activities were snorkeling, the sunset cruise and fishing with Armando!

Ingrid and everyone else were helpful, cheerful and helped us with anything we needed.

If we're ever back in Belize we will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We were in Suite 2 if I recall correctly, perfect view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

My husband, two teen daughters, and I picked Xanadu for our first visit to Belize, and we were not disappointed! We had reserved a 2 bedroom oceanfront condo, but were upgraded to a 3 bedroom (#11) on check in. The condo itself was huge, very clean, and perfect for us. It was on the 2nd floor with a wrap around deck directly viewing the ocean. My daughters absolutely loved sharing the hammock and talking before bed each night. The grounds were also lovely, and very lush and tropical. We spent alot of time enjoying the pool and swimming/snorkeling off the end of the pier. Ambergris Caye was a great place to vacation, and I would easily recommend Xanadu to anyone wanting to visit.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.3 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
972 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
1.4 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#2 of 53 in San Pedro
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.6 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing