We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Belize was beautiful, and Xanadu was absolutely the best resort we've ever been to. Nowhere else have we felt more welcomed and attended to. All other reviews regarding the staff, tours, rooms, grounds, etc. are extremely accurate. We emailed with Melanie prior to our trip and she was very responsive and so helpful in managing our reservations, changes, giving us tips, and patiently answering all of our questions. At the resort, we spoke mostly with Franz who set up our tours, made arrangements for anything we asked about, gave great suggestions, and was so friendly and helpful. Orlando was also very personable and kind, always offering his help. The tour operators Xanadu set us up with were really good and we would definitely book through them again. Our suite was also amazing -- oceanfront, really spacious front patio with lots of seating, beautiful ocean views, nice breeze, meticulously cleaned by the housekeeping staff everyday, very spacious and comfortable inside. We especially loved the Activity Desk -- it literally took care of everything we wanted or needed in one place (and you can always stock up on beer at the desk!!) The staff are really good people, everyone genuinely makes your stay so convenient and relaxing. We really enjoyed staying here, have no complaints at all, and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent a week at Xanadu Resort, and it could not have been better! Our room was beautiful, looked right out on the beach. The beds were very comfortable as was the furniture. The staff at the resort was very accommodating and always available, from recommending restaurants, calling taxis and even mailing a package home for us. Kathy, Melanie, and Orlando, you were great and made us feel welcome, thanks! The resort was right in the middle of all the action, but was secluded and felt as if you were in the rain forest. The pool was very nice and there was swimming from the dock. We saw a ray right off the dock the first night! I would definitely recommend Xanadu Island Resort for couples or families.

Room Tip: Rooms are either pool view or beach view- your choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

After hours of sorting through trip advisor, with no idea where we should go for our honeymoon, we stumbled upon Belize, and subsequently, Xanadu!

We are SO happy that we stayed there for our one week trip to San Pedro (we went in July!)

Rooms:
We stayed in room #3, the one bedroom two floor suite - it came with a full kitchen (had lots of utensils, a coffee maker, pots and pans, etc.) the view was beautiful, it was cool to have your own hammock! Great large comfy bed, two full bathrooms, two TVs (upstairs and downstairs) - no complaints!

Pool/Recreational activities:
BEAUTIFUL pool, we went in the "off season" so I'm not sure if this is true year round, but the pool was never crowded. There were plenty of lounge chairs surrounding the pool and on the beach property. A stark contrast for me, when I visited the dominican republic, and it was a fight to get a beach chair. While it's not white sandy beaches that lead into the ocean, there's areas to get into the ocean, and if you walk further down along other beach fronts, you can get the white sandy areas if you want it! We used the free bikes a few times as well as the free Kayaks and had a blast. There were always fresh towels available too! The office offers books and dvds for you to borrow in case you need some reading for the pool :)

Transportation:
San Pedro was not as difficult or scary to navigate as I first thought. We walked a lot (about a 15-20 minute walk to the main center), biked a few times (quicker, although then you have to be prepared for the golf carts and taxis passing you), and took many taxis ($5 US a ride per car! not bad at all!) Xanadu was excellent at calling taxis for us if we needed them!

Food:
We wanted the adventure of having to find food (i.e. not an all inclusive resort) so we chose Xanadu. It has no restaurant on the property, but this really isn't an issue at all. The hotels next door (a 2 minute or less walk via the beach front) have places for breakfast/lunch, the bakery next to Xanadu on the road has fresh baked rolls, bread, cinnamon rolls, smoothies, breakfast sandwiches, etc. etc. and there are plenty of grocery stores and fruit stands nearby for whatever else you might want. The front desk is happy to make recommendations for types of food, best places, and the info books they keep in your room have ratings and descriptions of many of the local restaurants. (I'll review our favorite restaurants separately!)

Excursions:
Booking through Xanadu was AMAZING - we had no idea we'd be getting our own private tour guide. We thought we were going on a bus (like the cruise ships) - it turned out, it was just us (2 people!!) + our guide, Onofre Vellos. It was amazing. He knew how to avoid the crowds, he drove us around, etc. We did the cave tubing, zip lining, and Xunantunich ruins hike. We loved all of it!! Xanadu made it so easy to book (we did it when we got there so we could see the weather reports) and flying tropic air was no problem. We also did snorkeling through Xanadu, and it was us + 6 other guests on a boat to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley - it was excellent :)

Other special things:
My husband set up a surprise dinner through Xanadu (they had a catering company that they brought in) for dinner on the beach!! It was delicious, personal, and I couldn't believe he set it up so far in advance without me knowing!

Staff:
Extremely friendly, polite, helpful, etc. - Jamil, Franz, and Melanie in particular helped us the most while we were actually at Xanadu - all the staff though, including house keeping, was very friendly. They are extremely personal, care about your visit, etc. - much better than staying at a chain hotel.

Overall environment:
The fact that it's not in the heart of town makes this hotel a secluded gem. The ground are kept impeccably clean, and are groomed each morning to remove twigs/leaves from the sand and walkways. The trees/shrubs/flowers are planted gorgeously and surround the pool and areas SO nicely. They truly are an eco friendly hotel (there are many reminders throughout your room on how to conserve water/energy/etc.).

We hope to go back again someday - it was an amazing trip and we are so thankful we chose Xanadu!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Okyost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I can't say enough about this resort. Yes it is lacking a restaurant and a real bar. It's more interesting getting out and trying all the local restaurants and bars anyway. They did have beer available for when you sat by the pool so you could have some drinks. The staff was friendly and helpful, The location was perfect. Close enough to the main part of San Pedro to walk but far enough not to hear all the noise from the bars. The room was spacious and kept very clean while we were there. Even had a hammock on the patio to nap in during the afternoon. The snorkeling trip and sunset sail trip picked us up right at the dock at the resort. Even though there was no real beach to walk into the water you could swim off the end of the dock. Most of the beaches in this area of the island had a lot of sea grass It looked like the further north you were the less grass there was. They had different room styles and sizes to fit any family needs. Having the full kitchen with all the stuff you need was a nice option even though we didn't use it. We are able to get fresh beach towels whenever we needed them. And on top of all that they are an environmentally friendly certified resort. I will be back to this resort on our next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bkrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Staff was THE BEST! Housekeeping was impecible and the resort had beautiful accommodations. Several places to eat within a mile of the resort, very easy to walk or golf cart to town. Will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I loved how everything was environmentally friendly. The location is perfect, the rooms are all so comfortable, and I felt at home. This resort is for all kinds of families wanting a quiet, relaxing adventure. The story of how it began is charming. I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned from San Pedro and wanted to share our experiences. Firstly, if you are thinking of San Pedro as a vacation destination the Xanadu is the place to go. Never have we been so pleased with the attention from the staff and that includes Ritz Carltons and Four Seasons resorts. Cathy, Franz, Melanie, Orlando, Jamel are the most attentive and make sure your vacation is everything it can be. We were moved to a smaller room the first night due to A/C issues but Cathy & Melanie could not have been nicer, generously offering us options to compensate for the inconvenience. We didn't have to ask, that is customer service.

Although there is not a beach as such, we hung out at our room overlooking the water. Room #1 was very private, large, clean and with a full kitchen that enabled us to make breakfast and drink our coffee on the veranda while watch the world go by. The Baker is 3 mins walk away with excellent bread and breakfast rolls. The 2 shops close by are expensive by US standards but suggest you visit the supermarket about 200 yards north of the Xanadu entrance (turn right).

Lots of good restaurants, Hidden Treasure and La Palmilla are the best but can be pricey. Both do pick you up and drop back so that's a bonus. Franz was great in getting us reservations. Rent golf carts, we did for blocks of 4 hours, no need to do 24 hours and pay for over night.

We didn't take any trips, we just needed to chill for a week but the Xanadu team will book all that for you.

The pool is great and not that busy until later in the day when the divers return.

This is an exceptional resort to stay with great people who really want you to have a relaxing no hassle time. We will return.

Room Tip: any room with a sea view, Suite #1 is very private with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AmericanEuropean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.5 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 55 in San Pedro
390 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
4.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in San Pedro
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
510 reviews
6.2 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 55 in San Pedro
1,002 reviews
8.2 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 55 in San Pedro
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £249 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing