We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous - would recommend to anyone!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We traveled as a family of five with kids ages 6, 9 & 10. Xanadu was perfect for us. We stayed in the 3 bedroom ocean view suite 11. It truly had everything we needed and more. The kitchen comes stocked with any dishes you may need, each bedroom has its own TV and a full bathroom. My kids loved the spiral staircase to get to our suite and they may have liked the open-sided stairs inside up to the second floor even more! The service at Xanadu is very personal - they went out of their way to get to know us a little so they could make the best recommendations, they came to find us at the pool after we had taken a tour to see how everything went, they recommended restaurants good for our family, and they took care of all the details for tours, masages, renting golf carts, etc. They resort itself was very peaceful. We only heard people from another room once during our entire trip - definitely different than hotels in the US. The pool was perfect - a shallow end for little kids and sunbathing (or running & jumping into the deep like my kids did) and a deep (4-5 ft) section for swimming and playing. Xanadu was a quick walk to a grocery store & the Baker - best cinnamon rolls ever! We were close enough to San Pedro that we drove into town daily with the peace and quiet of being a little farther from the city center.

Room Tip: I loved our ocean view - it was worth the upgrade in my opinion. I also really liked being on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

When I booked this hotel I was not sure whether it would be the right one for my vacation and honeymoon. The pictures I have seen are beautiful but I wasn’t sure about the location. We vacationed at the resort last week and were very impressed from the amenities to the staff.
The resort has some great landscaping with palm trees and other various plants to make it feel authentic. The pool is the perfect size and depth for taking a quick dip or relaxing in. Some of the trees may cast shadows on the pool area but we never had a problem finding sun. For our trip the low key atmosphere was exactly what we wanted. Unsure about the rooms I was very surprised. Our unit had a full kitchen with a refrigerator. The bedroom had a comfortable bed with a good size closet, a TV and a personal safe. The bedroom TV was not high def and an older tube but not important for such a beautiful place in the tropics. We really enjoyed having a personal safe to store our valuables and make our own key code to open it. The living room was very open and comfortable with a sofa and HD TV.
Other than the room, I was very impressed with the staff. The worker at the front desk named Franz was very helpful. Whatever questions I had he answered politely and with a smile on his face. He gave us great advice on restaurants and bars to visit. Another staff member also helped us use the barbecue but igniting it and cleaning it without being asked. There were other office workers that helped us as well but Franz seemed to always be available.
Lastly, the location of the resort is great. Not having been to San Pedro or Belize I was not sure how close to be to downtown. Xanadu is just far enough away from the airport and downtown to be quiet but close enough to get to by walking or any other transportation. One thing we took advantage of is the free bike rentals. The bikes are simple beach cruisers in good condition. Each bike has it’s own clock and some have baskets on the front. Biking is a great way to see the town cheaply and at your own pace. Other than by bike, the resort is just a short walk (15-20 min) along the beach to downtown. Along with the proximity to downtown there are a couple grocery stores and a bakery within walking distance from the street entrance. This was ideal with having a full kitchen in the room.
I would definitely stay at this resort again. It probably is not the cheapest or most expensive but has the best value. I recommend this for families, couples and honeymooners. It is great for a relaxing vacation but close enough for excitement in town. The only minor drawback is the absence of a bar, but this keeps the resort low key and more secure.

Room Tip: Bottom rooms are easy to get in and out from but are easier to track in sand. Inland rooms had more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1Man_Travelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were with two families with four kids in the age of 15, 17 and 18. We all enjoyed the lovely setting of the resort. It is small and that is part of the charm. The pool is very nice and you are very near to the beach. The condo's are very good. The only thing is that we had an airco that was a bit noisy. But there are also condo' s with less loud airco's. The condo's are very comfertable. The staff is very helpfull. And the various tours can me made right from the resort. So we realy loved our stay at Xanadu!

Room Tip: Ask for the condo's with an airco like condo 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hetty196205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Being my first time to San Pedro, I really didn't know what to expect, what to do, or where to stay. I stumbled upon Xanadu after researching activities I'd like to do on the island... with the spa next door, I was drawn in, and am so glad I was.

Xanadu is a little oasis just south of San Pedro's "city" center. I loved the eco-friendly, hut-style accommodations, which set Xanadu apart from the many other resorts we saw. We LOVED the free access to Xanadu's bicycles and kayaks which we used that as much as possible. The island is not that big; we took bicycles one morning north of the toll bridge to do yoga at Ak'bol (which also looked like an awesome resort). There's a 20% discount for return customers and as we waved goodbye on our final day, we met a couple who was staying at Xanadu for their fourth time! There's also a resort cat, Dino, who I nicknamed Mrs. Pedra #crazycatlady.

Everyone at the resort was super nice and they have good relationships with many people on the island which makes getting a taxi or setting up a tour more than easy. Our snorkeling boat, Lil' Alphonse, picked us up straight off the pier in front of Xanadu to go to Hol Chan! And the staff are so friendly and helpful. They set up our Tropic Air departure flight, scheduled the taxi to pick us up (and paid for it), scheduled our snorkeling adventure, and called places around the island to check on yoga classes. The office closes at 7; and since we arrived at the resort after that, the security guard had to go get Cathy, the office manager, to check us in. Whoops! She was more than willing to help us though, just make sure you have pre-reservations if you plan on arriving late too.

The only downside of this resort was their lack of a bar. The only available food/drink is out of a refrigerator by the activity check out. As much as I love Belikin beer, we had to walk to the resort bar nextdoor to get an island pureed drink or walk out to The Baker deli to get breakfast. Even if Xanadu welcomed a fruit stand to their premises, at least there would be a little something something we could consume without going too far.

All and all. Loved this place. Felt very safe and taken care of. I'm sure there are other places on San Pedro we could have stayed for cheaper, but there are also other places we could have stayed for more. I plan to come back with my family to utilize the kitchen (full kitchen! knife set!) and stay a little longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the smallest room option (queen bed, single room) and it was huge! Huge bathroom, full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank JenSimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A group of us met up at Xanadu, based on a previous stay by two of our party who highly recommended it…they were spot on, it is a great choice. This isn’t a resort in the sense of sanitised and impersonal service – it is very much the opposite of that. It is small, friendly and lovingly maintained. Ambergris Caye itself has a rustic charm and the walk into San Pedro takes 25 minutes, passing some dining options along the way.
Location – like many other choices of accommodation, Xanadu is on the beachfront, but unlike some of them, it is well appointed with a beautifully landscaped area of trees around the pool and accommodation. There are ample very comfortable pool loungers, the decking area is immaculate and the views over the Caribbean Sea so relaxing that more loungers are available a little closer to it on the beachfront. There is also a jetty in front of the hotel, meaning a very short walk to meet boat excursions or to use the complimentary kayaks.
Suites - check on the website www.xanaduislandresort.com but really I would say that all of the suites are attractively situated and thoughtfully laid out. The balconies and patios all have outdoor furniture and hammocks and the kitchen equipment is more than adequate for those wanting to self cater. Each suite has a safe and in the bathrooms shampoo, conditioner and shower gel is provided in environmentally friendly dispensers. The a/c is both quiet and efficient, plus there are ceiling fans.
Dining – reception has a very useful binder full of menus for local restaurants, and also sells cold drinks (filtered drinking water refills are complimentary at reception). There are numerous places to eat and drink within easy walking distance of the hotel, either along the beach or the road into town; plenty can be reached well before the 20 minute walk that brings you into San Pedro. There is also a supermarket and bakery within a five minute walk of the resort. Golf carts can be rented from the resort, or taxis booked (USD 5 into town) but walking is pleasant and there are free bicycles available too. We particularly liked dining at Hidden Treasure, Casa Picasso, Caliente, and Pineapples - I am vegetarian and found reasonable choices at all of these. The beach bar outside the Caribbean Villas next door serves lunch and also has a daily cocktail special.
Excursions – the office staff are exceptionally helpful in giving advice and setting up tours (which can be customised to individual groups). We enjoyed more than one boat trip arranged privately for our group, to go snorkelling on the reef and visit other islands.
Particular thanks to Melanie and Franz in the front office for their help with not only excursions, but absolutely anything that we needed.
Thanks also to Orlando for taking care of the grounds and helping us to set up the beach barbeque area (guests can reserve this), plus taking the time to chat about local wildlife, Francis the security guard (Xanadu is secure but it’s nice to have a presence) and Carla for doing such a friendly and efficient yet unobtrusive job of cleaning our suite.
To sum up, Xanadu is run in such an efficient yet warm and friendly manner, that it is easy to relax from day one – this sounds such an obvious requirement of a resort, yet isn’t always the case…we also appreciated the environmentally friendly ethics of the resort and were pleased to contribute by staying here and hopefully helping to keep Ambergris Caye and its wildlife in good condition for the local population and visitors fortunate enough to spend a little time here.
Very much looking forward to making a return visit!

Room Tip: All rooms looked good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank EurovisionUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Belize was beautiful, and Xanadu was absolutely the best resort we've ever been to. Nowhere else have we felt more welcomed and attended to. All other reviews regarding the staff, tours, rooms, grounds, etc. are extremely accurate. We emailed with Melanie prior to our trip and she was very responsive and so helpful in managing our reservations, changes, giving us tips, and patiently answering all of our questions. At the resort, we spoke mostly with Franz who set up our tours, made arrangements for anything we asked about, gave great suggestions, and was so friendly and helpful. Orlando was also very personable and kind, always offering his help. The tour operators Xanadu set us up with were really good and we would definitely book through them again. Our suite was also amazing -- oceanfront, really spacious front patio with lots of seating, beautiful ocean views, nice breeze, meticulously cleaned by the housekeeping staff everyday, very spacious and comfortable inside. We especially loved the Activity Desk -- it literally took care of everything we wanted or needed in one place (and you can always stock up on beer at the desk!!) The staff are really good people, everyone genuinely makes your stay so convenient and relaxing. We really enjoyed staying here, have no complaints at all, and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent a week at Xanadu Resort, and it could not have been better! Our room was beautiful, looked right out on the beach. The beds were very comfortable as was the furniture. The staff at the resort was very accommodating and always available, from recommending restaurants, calling taxis and even mailing a package home for us. Kathy, Melanie, and Orlando, you were great and made us feel welcome, thanks! The resort was right in the middle of all the action, but was secluded and felt as if you were in the rain forest. The pool was very nice and there was swimming from the dock. We saw a ray right off the dock the first night! I would definitely recommend Xanadu Island Resort for couples or families.

Room Tip: Rooms are either pool view or beach view- your choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.3 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
990 reviews
1.5 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £267 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing