We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect mix of value and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at this resort for a week and loved it. Perfect location just far enough outside of the city center but with adequate shops around. The apartments are well furnished and definitely big enough. They dealt with special requests very well and all the staff were super helpful. We booked snorkeling trips through here that were great and really convenient. Kayaks and bikes were free too. We would definitely stay here again if we came back. Pool is great and open 24/7.

Room Tip: Room 2 is on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bsully36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Xanadu for three nites during our honeymoon in Belize. The room was very spacious and comfortable, and even though we didn't do any cooking in the full and well-appointed kitchen while we were there, having the fridge and the coffee maker were still a huge convenience. In our opinion, it was a great value for the (off-season) price we paid!

The staff at the front desk were very welcoming and helpful. They have suggestions for various activities up in the main office, and they'll book anything for you. We were looking for some activities that weren't on the offering, and they were happy to call around and get information for us. I'd recommend renting a golf cart and exploring the island, at least for an afternoon.

There's plenty of beach access, although you can only swim off the pier. There's also a pool with a small bar (beers, soda, etc.), and you can borrow beach towels and rent snorkeling equipment there.

Our only nitpicky complaints were a lack of any hot water in the shower (lukewarm at best) and that the pool was a bit too overrun with children for us honeymooners. It's definitely a family-friendly hotel.

We had a wonderful time and would happily recommend Xanadu. It's nicely tucked away from the hustle and bustle of downtown San Pedro, but is still priced within reach when compared to some of the high-end hotels that are even further out. A great find!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank skittles10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It is hard to put into words what Xanadu -- the staff, the grounds, the location -- meant to our vacation.

After a frustrating 24 hours of broken-down flights, the run-around from our airline, a sketchy stay in Guatemala City, and subsequent 2 missed flights later, the staff at Xanadu welcomed us with open arms when we finally arrived -- even called TropicAir to reschedule our flight, and ensuring us that our room would be waiting for us when we arrived. They arranged for a taxi to meet us at the airport, picked up the tab and tip, and greeted us with complimentary rum punch upon arrival.

The room we wanted wasn't available for all 6 nights, so they gave us an upgraded, 2-bedroom suite at a discounted price for all 6 of our nights! It was immaculately clean, and even though it wasn't an 'ocean-view' room, we had a wonderful view of the ocean from our patio's hammock.

[NOTE: buy duty-free alcohol at the airport!! Alcohol is EXTREMELY expensive at the grocery stores, even by L.A. standards. This saved us a ton of money. Also, renting a golf cart is a must. We are athletic, and walk pretty much anywhere -- however, town is a good distance away (which offers more privacy and seclusion, in my opinion) and there are lots of great places to eat in town. You will want a golf cart, especially for traveling at night. But, I digress.]

One day, while riding in said golf cart, my purse was stolen and/or fell off on the dirt roads north of the bridge. With all of our cash and credit cards, of course (yes, huge mistake on our part). Which meant, we had ZERO money for food, snacks... ANYTHING. When we went to the office nearing closing hours to ask for some advice, Cathy immediately pulled out $300 Belizean, handed it to us, and said, "We want you to have a good time, and you need to eat! Go out to a great restaurant, and if you need more money, come ask me, even if it's in the middle of the night!"

THAT, my friends, is customer service.

She wrote out a special 'loan' for us, we signed it saying we would pay back the money, and even when our overnighted credit card didn't arrive (thanks, again, to a flight being cancelled), they loaned us even MORE money, sat in the office way after hours, and spoke on the phone directly with our bank to help us get the funds we needed. Heads up, people -- most hotels wouldn't even think about providing that level of customer service to their patrons. Xanadu is truly something special.

One of my favorite parts was when Orlando picked 4 coconuts from the tree, opened them with a machete, poured the coconut water into a pitcher with some of the coconut meat, and taught us how to make some incredible rum drinks! The activities booked for us were almost TOO easy to schedule, and Melanie did a great job of scheduling everything so that we would avoid the crowds, or so we would have the best weather.

Melanie, Franz, Carlos, Ingrid, Cathy... I have no words. You each exceeded my expectations, beyond anything I could have imagined.

The grounds were groomed to perfection, everything was clean and tidy, and Xanadu has the best grounds and pool by FAR -- and we biked up and down the beach daily, seeing the other resorts as we rode by. The private dock for sunning and swimming was incredible, and there was no shortage of places to lay, relax, read a book, or have a few Belikins ;) There is a nature walk on the premises, where we saw lots of lizards and beautiful birds. It was awesome! The kayaks were so much fun, and there were TONS of bikes to use -- all for FREE.

If you are on the fence, please let me convince you -- if you are on this island, you won't find a better resort, a better group of people, a better location, or a better experience, at this price level. We can't wait to come back one day! Thanks Xanadu!!

Room Tip: We were in room #14, which had a partial ocean view, even though it isn't 'technically'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in the upstairs oceanfront suite then moved to a smaller studio near the pool for 3 nights. We had wanted to stay in the oceanfront room for the entire trip but only 4 nights were available when we booked the trip. The oceanfront suite was great: plenty of space, privacy and a great view. Well worth the price over the poolside studio.
The main drawback to the hotel was the pool area. One of the main reasons we chose this hotel was because it didn't have a bar and was supposed to be quiet and relaxing. We did not find that to be the case. Almost every day we were at the hotel the (small) pool was filled with loud children, many of whom did not appear to be staying at the hotel. We went down the road and relaxed by the pool at Victoria House, a resort down the road, and found the atmosphere we were looking for.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are well worth the added cost. Don't stay at this hotel if they're not avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank matt559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed 6 nights in Xanadu and it was ALMOST PERFECT! We, a family of 4 including 2 teen boys, had an amazing time. It was really nice having 2 separate bedrooms. We could get up for coffee and let the guys sleep in! It was nice having a kitchen, but that said, groceries are very expensive in Belize. We found it almost less expensive to eat out....so we did! The coffee and some cereal were all we used the kitchen for. The beach area and pool were very nice, relaxing and uncrowded. We loved the beach service desk. It provided beach towels, bikes, kayaks, and for a nominal fee bottled waters, beers, sodas. It was great to have that available. There is no restaurant or full service bar on the premises.....remember ALMOST PERFECT. The front desk was AMAZING, arranging EVERY excursion I requested, to my exact specifications.....not an easy task! A HUGE PROP TO MELANIE....she went over and above.....ALWAYS! We did a crocodile tour and my boys named the croc we tagged "Melanie"! Location good....we were there off-season, not crowded or loud so I might have preferred a little closer to town. Also, do not rent unit 19, feels kinda' like an afterthought....like being a little behind the other units. All in all amazing and would definitely consider staying here again!

Room Tip: Beachfront units have an amazing view. DO NOT rent unit 19.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindy031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We traveled as a family of five with kids ages 6, 9 & 10. Xanadu was perfect for us. We stayed in the 3 bedroom ocean view suite 11. It truly had everything we needed and more. The kitchen comes stocked with any dishes you may need, each bedroom has its own TV and a full bathroom. My kids loved the spiral staircase to get to our suite and they may have liked the open-sided stairs inside up to the second floor even more! The service at Xanadu is very personal - they went out of their way to get to know us a little so they could make the best recommendations, they came to find us at the pool after we had taken a tour to see how everything went, they recommended restaurants good for our family, and they took care of all the details for tours, masages, renting golf carts, etc. They resort itself was very peaceful. We only heard people from another room once during our entire trip - definitely different than hotels in the US. The pool was perfect - a shallow end for little kids and sunbathing (or running & jumping into the deep like my kids did) and a deep (4-5 ft) section for swimming and playing. Xanadu was a quick walk to a grocery store & the Baker - best cinnamon rolls ever! We were close enough to San Pedro that we drove into town daily with the peace and quiet of being a little farther from the city center.

Room Tip: I loved our ocean view - it was worth the upgrade in my opinion. I also really liked being on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

When I booked this hotel I was not sure whether it would be the right one for my vacation and honeymoon. The pictures I have seen are beautiful but I wasn’t sure about the location. We vacationed at the resort last week and were very impressed from the amenities to the staff.
The resort has some great landscaping with palm trees and other various plants to make it feel authentic. The pool is the perfect size and depth for taking a quick dip or relaxing in. Some of the trees may cast shadows on the pool area but we never had a problem finding sun. For our trip the low key atmosphere was exactly what we wanted. Unsure about the rooms I was very surprised. Our unit had a full kitchen with a refrigerator. The bedroom had a comfortable bed with a good size closet, a TV and a personal safe. The bedroom TV was not high def and an older tube but not important for such a beautiful place in the tropics. We really enjoyed having a personal safe to store our valuables and make our own key code to open it. The living room was very open and comfortable with a sofa and HD TV.
Other than the room, I was very impressed with the staff. The worker at the front desk named Franz was very helpful. Whatever questions I had he answered politely and with a smile on his face. He gave us great advice on restaurants and bars to visit. Another staff member also helped us use the barbecue but igniting it and cleaning it without being asked. There were other office workers that helped us as well but Franz seemed to always be available.
Lastly, the location of the resort is great. Not having been to San Pedro or Belize I was not sure how close to be to downtown. Xanadu is just far enough away from the airport and downtown to be quiet but close enough to get to by walking or any other transportation. One thing we took advantage of is the free bike rentals. The bikes are simple beach cruisers in good condition. Each bike has it’s own clock and some have baskets on the front. Biking is a great way to see the town cheaply and at your own pace. Other than by bike, the resort is just a short walk (15-20 min) along the beach to downtown. Along with the proximity to downtown there are a couple grocery stores and a bakery within walking distance from the street entrance. This was ideal with having a full kitchen in the room.
I would definitely stay at this resort again. It probably is not the cheapest or most expensive but has the best value. I recommend this for families, couples and honeymooners. It is great for a relaxing vacation but close enough for excitement in town. The only minor drawback is the absence of a bar, but this keeps the resort low key and more secure.

Room Tip: Bottom rooms are easy to get in and out from but are easier to track in sand. Inland rooms had more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1Man_Travelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
1.5 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 55 in San Pedro
376 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
493 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in San Pedro
1,397 reviews
6.2 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 55 in San Pedro
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £253 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing