We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Xanadu Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$337
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Bay Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$415
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Secreto(San Pedro)
US$500
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$392
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Cove Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caye Casa(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Phoenix Resort(San Pedro)
US$382
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,304)
Filter reviews
1,304 results
Traveller rating
1,157
120
17
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,157
120
17
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature walkfull kitchenambergris cayegolf cartheated poollil alphonseour honeymoonprivate piergrocery storehermit crabscinnamon rollsfree bikesfishcave tubingbedroom suitedinner reservationsswimming area
Filter
Updating list...
523 - 528 of 1,304 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at this resort for a week and loved it. Perfect location just far enough outside of the city center but with adequate shops around. The apartments are well furnished and definitely big enough. They dealt with special requests very well and all the staff were super helpful. We booked snorkeling trips through here that were great and really convenient. Kayaks and bikes were free too. We would definitely stay here again if we came back. Pool is great and open 24/7.

Room Tip: Room 2 is on the beach
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bsully36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Xanadu for three nites during our honeymoon in Belize. The room was very spacious and comfortable, and even though we didn't do any cooking in the full and well-appointed kitchen while we were there, having the fridge and the coffee maker were still a huge convenience. In our opinion, it was a great value for the (off-season) price we paid!

The staff at the front desk were very welcoming and helpful. They have suggestions for various activities up in the main office, and they'll book anything for you. We were looking for some activities that weren't on the offering, and they were happy to call around and get information for us. I'd recommend renting a golf cart and exploring the island, at least for an afternoon.

There's plenty of beach access, although you can only swim off the pier. There's also a pool with a small bar (beers, soda, etc.), and you can borrow beach towels and rent snorkeling equipment there.

Our only nitpicky complaints were a lack of any hot water in the shower (lukewarm at best) and that the pool was a bit too overrun with children for us honeymooners. It's definitely a family-friendly hotel.

We had a wonderful time and would happily recommend Xanadu. It's nicely tucked away from the hustle and bustle of downtown San Pedro, but is still priced within reach when compared to some of the high-end hotels that are even further out. A great find!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank skittles10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It is hard to put into words what Xanadu -- the staff, the grounds, the location -- meant to our vacation.

After a frustrating 24 hours of broken-down flights, the run-around from our airline, a sketchy stay in Guatemala City, and subsequent 2 missed flights later, the staff at Xanadu welcomed us with open arms when we finally arrived -- even called TropicAir to reschedule our flight, and ensuring us that our room would be waiting for us when we arrived. They arranged for a taxi to meet us at the airport, picked up the tab and tip, and greeted us with complimentary rum punch upon arrival.

The room we wanted wasn't available for all 6 nights, so they gave us an upgraded, 2-bedroom suite at a discounted price for all 6 of our nights! It was immaculately clean, and even though it wasn't an 'ocean-view' room, we had a wonderful view of the ocean from our patio's hammock.

[NOTE: buy duty-free alcohol at the airport!! Alcohol is EXTREMELY expensive at the grocery stores, even by L.A. standards. This saved us a ton of money. Also, renting a golf cart is a must. We are athletic, and walk pretty much anywhere -- however, town is a good distance away (which offers more privacy and seclusion, in my opinion) and there are lots of great places to eat in town. You will want a golf cart, especially for traveling at night. But, I digress.]

One day, while riding in said golf cart, my purse was stolen and/or fell off on the dirt roads north of the bridge. With all of our cash and credit cards, of course (yes, huge mistake on our part). Which meant, we had ZERO money for food, snacks... ANYTHING. When we went to the office nearing closing hours to ask for some advice, Cathy immediately pulled out $300 Belizean, handed it to us, and said, "We want you to have a good time, and you need to eat! Go out to a great restaurant, and if you need more money, come ask me, even if it's in the middle of the night!"

THAT, my friends, is customer service.

She wrote out a special 'loan' for us, we signed it saying we would pay back the money, and even when our overnighted credit card didn't arrive (thanks, again, to a flight being cancelled), they loaned us even MORE money, sat in the office way after hours, and spoke on the phone directly with our bank to help us get the funds we needed. Heads up, people -- most hotels wouldn't even think about providing that level of customer service to their patrons. Xanadu is truly something special.

One of my favorite parts was when Orlando picked 4 coconuts from the tree, opened them with a machete, poured the coconut water into a pitcher with some of the coconut meat, and taught us how to make some incredible rum drinks! The activities booked for us were almost TOO easy to schedule, and Melanie did a great job of scheduling everything so that we would avoid the crowds, or so we would have the best weather.

Melanie, Franz, Carlos, Ingrid, Cathy... I have no words. You each exceeded my expectations, beyond anything I could have imagined.

The grounds were groomed to perfection, everything was clean and tidy, and Xanadu has the best grounds and pool by FAR -- and we biked up and down the beach daily, seeing the other resorts as we rode by. The private dock for sunning and swimming was incredible, and there was no shortage of places to lay, relax, read a book, or have a few Belikins ;) There is a nature walk on the premises, where we saw lots of lizards and beautiful birds. It was awesome! The kayaks were so much fun, and there were TONS of bikes to use -- all for FREE.

If you are on the fence, please let me convince you -- if you are on this island, you won't find a better resort, a better group of people, a better location, or a better experience, at this price level. We can't wait to come back one day! Thanks Xanadu!!

Room Tip: We were in room #14, which had a partial ocean view, even though it isn't 'technically' an ocean-view room. It was perfect, and quiet, too!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in the upstairs oceanfront suite then moved to a smaller studio near the pool for 3 nights. We had wanted to stay in the oceanfront room for the entire trip but only 4 nights were available when we booked the trip. The oceanfront suite was great: plenty of space, privacy and a great view. Well worth the price over the poolside studio.
The main drawback to the hotel was the pool area. One of the main reasons we chose this hotel was because it didn't have a bar and was supposed to be quiet and relaxing. We did not find that to be the case. Almost every day we were at the hotel the (small) pool was filled with loud children, many of whom did not appear to be staying at the hotel. We went down the road and relaxed by the pool at Victoria House, a resort down the road, and found the atmosphere we were looking for.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are well worth the added cost. Don't stay at this hotel if they're not available.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank matt559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed 6 nights in Xanadu and it was ALMOST PERFECT! We, a family of 4 including 2 teen boys, had an amazing time. It was really nice having 2 separate bedrooms. We could get up for coffee and let the guys sleep in! It was nice having a kitchen, but that said, groceries are very expensive in Belize. We found it almost less expensive to eat out....so we did! The coffee and some cereal were all we used the kitchen for. The beach area and pool were very nice, relaxing and uncrowded. We loved the beach service desk. It provided beach towels, bikes, kayaks, and for a nominal fee bottled waters, beers, sodas. It was great to have that available. There is no restaurant or full service bar on the premises.....remember ALMOST PERFECT. The front desk was AMAZING, arranging EVERY excursion I requested, to my exact specifications.....not an easy task! A HUGE PROP TO MELANIE....she went over and above.....ALWAYS! We did a crocodile tour and my boys named the croc we tagged "Melanie"! Location good....we were there off-season, not crowded or loud so I might have preferred a little closer to town. Also, do not rent unit 19, feels kinda' like an afterthought....like being a little behind the other units. All in all amazing and would definitely consider staying here again!

Room Tip: Beachfront units have an amazing view. DO NOT rent unit 19.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindy031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews