We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xanadu Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
US
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

We just got back this week from our stay at Xanadu at it was fabulous. As everyone says in their posts the staff is top notch. This was our first visit to San Pedro and we did a ton of research because we were traveling with small children (1,6) and really needed the right ammenities. Xanadu does not have a bar or restaurant but you really don't miss it. We had a full kitchen and it was far nicer to be able to have at least one meal at home rather than relying on restaurant food each day. You can buy Belekin beers, juice, water, and sodas from the office right next to the pool when you first arrive if you've not had anyone stock your villa. There is a store within easy walking distance where you can buy all staples. Upon arrival we made a quick stop for milk, juice, cereal, coffee, cheese and crackers, etc, and we were set. Golf carts are easy to rent and the office can arrange it for you. Although you are only one mile from the town of San Pedro, you will want a golf cart if you have small children. The first day we pushed our stroller down the beach to the restaurants near the water taxi drop (downtown SP) and it was a bit of a treck with the kids. Another time we walked on the roads and it took 35 minutes to get to town. Kids just aren't going to do that every day. You can also get cabs easily but it's much more fun to do the golf cart. There are no negatives to say about Xanadu. The housekeepers clean your room every day and make it feel like it's your first time using the room. Orlando was the best with my kids. He walked hand in hand with my daughter to show her the various iguanas. There was a crib and our baby took long naps each day. They also arranged babysitting so we could take our 6 year old snorkeling one day. The pool also is lovely. We looked at a lot of other hotels while we were there and we thought we really lucked out with Xanadu.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank viva772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    113
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
318
553
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

My Wife and I spent 6 nights at Xanadu during our honeymoon in Belize and couldn't have been happier with our choice. The resort is stunning, clean and very well kept. It is located in a quiet area but still within easy reach of the town. It is everything that the website advertised and more. The staff were exceptionally friendly and couldn't have been more helpfull when it came to organising tours and recommending places to eat.

There is loads to do in and around San Pedro and the local diving and snorkelling is fantastic. Xanadu is in an idyllic location and perfect for relaxing by the pool in a hammock.

We would highly recommend Xanadu to anyone and it was well worth the 5 flights it took to get there from Scotland. We didn't want to leave and would love to go back to Belize and Xanadu.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahAndrew09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

My husband and I stayed for 2 weeks at Xanadu in April/May ’08 to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and it was one of our best holidays ever. Having travelled extensively in the past, we found Xanadu to offer all the ingredients for a perfect holiday, and much like its meaning - it is truly “an idyllic, beautiful place” to stay.

The thatched lofts at Xanadu are just by the beach, it’s so quiet, simple and beautiful, and we soaked up the “chilled out” culture every single day, spending most of our time indulgently doing nothing but reading by the poolside and on the jetty by the sea.

The weather was great – not too hot with really fresh breezes. Directly around the resort the scenery was amazing, filled with rich postcard colours, and virtually no bugs or mossies in sight, incredible!

We ventured into San Pedro, the little town nearest to Xanadu, and found it was a far cry from the city and a complete change for us city birds.

Xanadu’s winning formula is the way it is run, and all its staff have just the right attitude: they are all so accommodating and attentive, yet non-intrusive. It’s very natural everywhere, yet expertly landscaped and obviously well looked after. There is wifi by the pool, so though you felt completely separate from the world you left behind, you could so easily communicate if needs be. We felt looked after yet left alone to enjoy our time.

We would recommend it to any young professional couples wanting a perfect low key romantic getaway.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJANewcastle_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2009

Just got back from a week at Xanadu.

I picked it as a result of the reviews on Tripadvisor, and Xanadu was all that people said.

Relaxing, quiet, comfortable and great service.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath suite. It had a large porch overlooking the pool and beach. Comfortable furniture, hammock, etc. There was never a race to put down a towel at the beach or pool, as there was always an available chair. Even though the resort was full, it felt very empty.

The pool was beautiful and the grounds well maintained, but what really made Xanadu stand out was the service. The employees really seemed more like family going out of there way to do anything for you. Suggestions on the best restaurant, the most interesting adventure or any question you had, they would be happy to answer.

Bikes and Kayaks were available for free. Be aware they have a seawall except for a small area for launching Kayaks. There is a beach next door which you are free to use.

I would suggest renting a golf cart if you go. We did and it was great to go into town or to any of the other restaurants. Try the Sand Bar just south of Xanadu. They had the best blackened Snapper we had all week. Also beach bowling, which the kids enjoyed.

Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2009

My friend and I went to San Pedro for a few days of post diving relaxation and fun and decided to stay at Xanadu. It was fabulous! It is small and quaint, right on the ocean with a lovely pool area. The staff was top notch, super friendly and available to help. Our room was out of this world but it was the three bed, three bath suite on the ocean with full kitchen and the small grounds were beautifully maintained. There is no restaurant but everything is so close or accessible by golf cart that it was no problem. I also liked that they paid for the transfer to and from the hotel. When I go back to San Pedro I will stay at Xanadu.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thesnurgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2009

My husband and I had our wedding on the grouds at Xanadu and it exceeded our expectations. We traveled alone to Belize specifically to get married and we are so happy that we choose Xanadu. I cannot tell you how impressed we were at the customer service by EVERYONE on site. Stacey took care of EVERYTHING and I did not have to worry about one thing. There is always that doubt if a destination wedding will work out like planned but everything went off without a single problem or issue. We stayed at Xanadu for four nights and had a beach front room which was fantastic. The views were one of a kind and the room iteself was very spacious and having a kitchen came in handy. We absolutely loved the pool area which provided a fair amount of shade along with great sun spots. We even checked out bicycles and road into San Padro a few times which was such a nice option. We took a snorkeling tour coordinated by Xanadu and exjoyed every minute of our time in the water. We will truly return in the future and recommend this location for anyone looking for a relaxing get away.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbacon130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

This is our fourth year travelling to Xanadu, and that in itself says that we like the place. This year we found more reasons to like the place. The reason its a great place first and foremost is the staff. But its what the staff does besides being friendly and cheerful that's great. They pay attention to the little things-- like selling water & beer next to the towel room, free shower soap dispensers in the showers, and an alarm clock you can plug your ipod into. That was all new, and kind of brilliant because its not big changes, but its the perfect thing to let you enjoy your vacation a little bit more.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.4 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
8.1 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing