We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Island Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Redondo Beach
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“An Island Paradise”
Reviewed 28 August 2010

On our family vacation to Belize, we stayed at the Xanadu Island Resort on Ambergris Caye. We stayed in "room" 11, which is actually a three story complex (we were in the 2nd and 3rd story) with 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a large kitchen and living room with a huge wraparound porch. I can't imagine a nicer place to stay, especially for a family. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We set up two excursions through the hotel: snorkeling in Hol Chan and a half day of reef fishing (during which we caught 2 lunches worth of Schoolmaster Snapper - delicious!). They don't have a restaurant but there are plenty within walking distance. We also rented a golf cart for one day and drove into town. I highly recommend this hotel, especially for a family.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    114
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
357
577
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Xanadu is great - the location, people, pool, accommodations, - everything. I have a horrible habit of starting my vacation planning by going right to negative reviews, and was a little worried about some of the comments, but, thankfully, had a wonderful experience. Just keep a few things in mind.
1. There's no bar or restaurant. But you can save time by just stocking the fridge. On day one, rent a golf cart and drive to one of the produce marts for the best selection. You won't really save money as groceries are expensive, but at least you don't have to walk to breakfast every day. But when you do walk, it's a nice, relaxing and, in many cases, pretty short walk.
2. You really have to want to relax. There's not much to do there if you don't want to go snorkeling or diving. The resort is super comfortable though, so sitting around the pool was just fine with me. It's easy and fun to go the mainland for the Mayan ruins or cave tubing, but you can't just drive away from the resort and expect to find many local adventures.
3. There's no beach that you can walk into due to the sea grass. You'll want to sit by the pool, not in the sand, as the bugs can get a little bothersome, but there not nearly as bad as some people wrote.
One final pint, the Belizean people are ridiculously nice. If you smile and say hello, you'll get a warm reply. That and the fact that it is a English speaking country make it remarkably comfy. Go and enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chavezlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Reviewed a number of hotels before selecting Zanadu. This is the hotel you want to stay at. The service is impeccable under the guidance of Ingrid and Blanca. The rooms are clean, well maintained and comfortable. The porch and accompanying hammock were a welcome sight for a beverage in the afternoon. It is obvious they take great pride in the hotel, grounds and service. I am in a hotel 130+ nights a year from New York to India, London to Calgary and this is the perfect fit for anyone, honeymooners or divers alike, in Belize.
*Pick up a rental cart at the on-site location and hit all the restaurants Ingrid marks on the San Pedro map!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nrgtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed in the three bedroom on the beach. Plenty of room. Modern and well maintained. Like all of the reviews met the staff and agree that they make the stay easy and wonderful. Pleasant sunset sailing. Snorkeling was excellent. Fishing with Nestor was excellent. Trip to the Ruins combined with the cave tubing is a must. I wish we had time to do ATM and see El Tikal but will go back and spend a couple of days on land before going to AC. Parasailing and jet skiing came to the dock to pick us up. Busy every day with something else to do before relaxing on the hammock on the porch or watching American TV in the den. Blue Water Grill was the best restaurant for us.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopDoc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2010

The accommodations were great. Close to San Pedro. The staff was so helpful. We knew nothing about the area, but they made recommendations and booked EVERYTHING for us (excursions, golf carts, even the Tropic Air flights to and from the island for our excursions). Everything was SOOOOO easy for us.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhondasip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Wow!! What a great vacation. My wife and I have traveled the Carribean scuba diving over 15 years now, and this year's trip to Belize was our best by far! My wife heard the host on the Today Show raving about staying at Xanadu in San Pedro, Belize. When we decided to go there this August, we looked Xanadu up on line, conversed with Blanca by email, received all the information on excursions we wanted to do beforehand, and planned the trip. Ingrid, Blanca, and the kind gentleman behind the desk helped us with recommendations of who to dive with( we loved Chuck & Robbie's the best!), snorkel - (definitely go with Alphonse, he is wonderful, Very Knowledgeable, and friends with the sharks & rays!!!), a Mayan ruin tour( fly inland to Lamanai, gives you more time to explore on the river tour and doesn't wear you out the rest of the day), and where to eat. great food(George's Kitchen- excellent, and not far from Xanadu at all). Xanadu staff books everything for you, and summary bills it all, making payment very easy in the end. Super rooms & staff, beautiful peaceful grounds, clean and well kept throughout, will definetly return soon, as we found much more we'd love to do in San Pedro. Really friendly people everywhere you go. Steve & Kay Parker( 7/31/10 - 8/7/10)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank separk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia, USA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Xanadu is beautiful, what a setting and so comfortable, we felt right at home, only difference is home isn't as nice, Huge bathrooms and showers, even a whirlpool bath. Perfect place to go off on any excursions, snorkling, fishing, parasailing, or main land excursions from Mayan ruins to cave tubing. Ingrid set everything up for us and it all ran smoothly, she did a great job for us. Everyone at Xanadu was friendly and always ready to help with anything you needed. Also security is great, gate locked at midnight and security guards roam the beach and grounds all night.
Walk out the gate onto the road and a market is right next door has pretty much what ever you need, we saved a lot of money by shopping there and cooking in with most meals but places to eat out were everywhere up and down the island.
Xanadu sits right on the beach and the sea breeze is constant and wonderful when sitting out on the porch watching boats , people, fishermen, parasailers, and the breeze keeps bugs away.
Free bicycles and kayaks, we had a lot of fun with those. Towels provided.
Great pool and a terrific bar BQ, we asked the office staff where to get lobster and they made a call and had a local fisherman catch up 14 lobsters, the tails were delivered to our freezer and we bar BQ'd them along with boneless chicken breasts, Heaven.
We hated to leave and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.6 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
801 reviews
3.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
460 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing