We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xanadu is an oasis on Ambergris Caye...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xanadu Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Xanadu is an oasis on Ambergris Caye...”
Reviewed 4 November 2010

This is my first review on TripAdvisor and it took a resort with exceptional service to get me to write one. Xanadu Island Resort is absolutely one of the gems of San Pedro. The resort staff is by far the friendliest and most helpful I've ever had the pleasure to meet. They were prompt and thorough when replying to my emails about planning our trip and also offered to book our transportation from the mainland to San Pedro. During our stay the friendly staff helped us to plan activities, make reservations, told us about local hot spots and overall made us feel right at home.

Xanadu is a relatively small resort with quiet and peaceful ambiance. Our room was spacious and contemporary with ample A/C. It had a full kitchen and a comfortable living area where we lounged most of our evenings. The only drawback to this resort is that they don't have a restaurant so you either have to go out or cook your meals. There are a handful of good restaurants within walking distance and the rest you would either have to bike to or take a golf cart. The resort offers to its guests free use of their bicycles and sea kayaks. There is a small swimming pool and plenty of lounge chairs to help you keep cool in the tropical heat.

This is probably not the place to stay if you want to party and stay up all night, but for those who want a quiet and comfortable place to relax after a day of fun in the sun this is it!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksonwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    114
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
357
577
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aransas Pass, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2010

My first stay at Zanadu was 4 nights and it was wonderful but this one was 7 nights and even better. They have upgraded the furniture and added a towel/beverage room. The service has always been great. Compared to the other resorts on the island, this feels more like a home than a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTexan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

I can't say enough good things about Xanadu. The grounds were gorgeous...like something on a postcard. In fact, I took a photo on my phone that I use for my screensaver, and everyone thinks it's a stock photo that came with the phone! The rooms were nice with comfortable beds and AC! The staff was super helpful and kind. There are wonderful hammocks to relax in and books to borrow. And dive boats can come pick you up directly from the dock behind the hotel! Perfect!

I recommend Xanadu completely and would stay here again!

Just a few things to consider... they don't have a restaurant like many of the other hotels, but they're within a quick walk of many great places to eat, plus a market. They're not right in all the hustle and bustle of town (which I LOVED), so borrow their free bikes to cruise into town or take a nice 15 minute walk on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetsGoBuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Recently returned from a 10 day vacation at the Xanadu Island Resort, Ambergis Caye, Belize. We read many positive reviews about this resort on Trip Advisor and Xanadu more than exceeded our expectations. The resort is located in a very natural setting with lots of palm trees and native foliage....just beautiful. The rooms/suites are spacious and well equipped. The bed was extremely comfortable. The pool was always clean and very inviting. However, all of these wonderful amenities pale when compared to the gracious, friendly, knowledgeable staff at Xanadu. We cannot give enough praise to Blanca, Ingrid, and Jamil. They were always available to answer a question, make a recommendation for dinner, schedule an excursion...you name it they did it!
The resort is ideally located, just minutes away from the hustle and bustle of San Pedro so it is nice and quiet in the evenings but close enough to walk or take your golf cart into town for dinner. We we certainly visit Ambergis Caye and Xanadu again!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeepster2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2010

The staff at Xanadu have been personable, thoughtful, and responsible. We have been here just over a week and experienced exceptional weather until TS/Hurricane Richard passed through. The staff were very friendly and kept us fully aware of the status of the path of the hurricane and took precautionary measures in and around the resort. They even stayed on site during the storm to ensure their guests safety and comfort. Prior to the storm arriving, Jamil, Ingrid, and Blanca ensured that our honeymoon was one too remember. They took care of the details with ease, acquiring a cart, ensuring our scuba company would pick us up at 8:30 from the hotel dock, etc... The cleaning staff was trustworthy and thorough, no need for the safe. Very happy with our choice in staying with Xanadu. Far away enough from town to avoid the other tourists, but a short golf car drive to the best local food the island has to offer. The hotel has been completely full, but has the feel feel of a sparsely occupied resort. If you are looking for a place to party with techno music and people running around drunk, this is not your spot. If you are looking for a place to relax, while overlooking turquoise water, with soundproof double paned windows...than this is your vacation place.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbone510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Beautiful place, beautiful people -they really want you to have a great vacation. Definitely would go back-plus they recycle and are very environmentally sensitive. It truly is Xanadu. We were there during Tropical Storm Mathew and felt very safe-their buildigs can withstand 300 mph winds and they have their own generator and water sysem so if Mathew had turned into a hurricane we felt safe and would have stayed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucySLasVegas_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My husband and I visited Ambergris Caye October 2010 for the dive trip of a lifetime at Blue Hole and to earn advanced scuba certification. We bought the air/hotel package through Skyauction.com and booked the golfcart, dives and classes once we arrived. Ecological Divers taught the "rescue diver" classes and hosted dives, thoroughly and professionally. We also had the best ever cookout at their dock one evening. Great guys and gals, great fun. We dove Blue Hole with Los Amigos del Mar because they have a huge dive boat and safety equipment for the Blue Hole 130 foot dive and 2 hour boat trip. There are actually 3 dives on the Blue Hole dive day. It was worth every minute of the travel time to Belize from Colorado, the taxi ride to the taxi station and the water taxi to the island (hour and a half). (You can also fly right into San Pedro rather than Belize City airport, but it costs sooo much more).

The Xanadu Beach Resort was a wonderfule location for the dive week. It has a dock where you are picked up daily, a gorgeous pool near the beach, a perfect beach, a short golf ride to town, friendly owners and deck clerk, clean efficient rooms with kitchens, tropical vegetation and the most inviting, relaxing, welcoming attitude; food shopping within an easy walk is also a plus. In fact the whole town of San Pedro is just a quick golfcart ride away.

The people of Ambergris Caye are just the best and most decent folks. The island is a dreamy location for relaxing, easy days and spectacular dives. We even bought the video of the 3 dive Blue Hole day for $60. A bargain for having ourselves on camera for the rest of our lives. Lots of restaurants and bars in town for the livlier crowd.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.6 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
800 reviews
3.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
459 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Resort

Property: Xanadu Island Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xanadu Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, Boutique, Romantic and Eco-friendly! Imagine tranquility settling over you like a mist over the ocean; kick off your shoes and stroll amongst the natural vegetation past the water features and onto the beach. Breathe in the fresh ocean air as you wander down the long pier to relax on the sun loungers under the thatched palapa and gaze out over the barrier reef to the deep blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. Settle in and experience the uniqueness of the monolithic dome buildings and enjoy the romantic setting of your private veranda. When you are ready to explore, visit the friendly staff at the front desk to arrange tours or to use the complimentary bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks. Experience all this at the unique, boutique, Green Globe certified Xanadu Island Resort – a touch of luxury and romance in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Xanadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Resort Belize Hotel San Pedro
Xanadu Island Hotel
Xanadu Island San Pedro
Xanadu Island Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing