We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best pizza we have ever had! Good value room.”
Review of Pedro's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pedro's Hotel
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best pizza we have ever had! Good value room.”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Pedro's has value for your money for basic no frill accommodation with a short walk to the beach. Each room is simply furnished with a dresser, king-sized bed that can easily be made into two large singles, with sink and a bathroom with toilet and shower, air conditioner, ceiling fans, t.v. and wi fi. Pedro's was clean with friendly helpful service. We enjoyed the 2 pools and lounge area.

There is something going at the bar almost every night, from whatever the current sporting event is to karaoke to trivia games. There is a very simple menu. We tried the shrimp and we also tried the pizza. I must rave about the pizza. It was just one of the best pizza we had ever had. It was cooked just perfect with a crust that was kind of twisted. I may not always eat the crust, but this crust was so good that we polished off. We both wanted different toppings, so Pedro's was quite happy to divide the toppings on the pizza. At first we thought it was a little pricy, but since the ingredients need to be imported, we know it was good value for this great pizza.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeraDelvecchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    146
    60
    17
    26
See reviews for
33
167
122
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stayed 2/5-14/2013. Rooms are plain, but kept very clean by housekeeping. Bathroom is functional with plenty of hot water. A/C and fan work great. Office Mgr Felipe assists with the booking of trips and providing advice to the tourists. This place may be a budget hotel, but the caring attention providing by Felipe and the staff rate FIVE STARS. The property is a leisurely walk to restaurants, convenience stores, and the downtown area, aptly called "Front, Middle, and Back streets". My first visit to Belize is a memorable one. I look forward to going back and staying there, but please save me a room! Thank you Felipe, Peter, and the rest of the staff!!

Room Tip: Oldest high-rise, 3 flloors, is further from the bar where it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardMello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2013

nice, comfortable stay, staff very friendly and helpful. We booked some activities (Snorkling) directly through them, which made finding things to do very simple. The bar made for a little
excessive noise later in the evening, but I was told the security guard was off for a few days
and he normally keeps everyone inside the bar after 10:00 PM so as to keep everything quiet.

Room Tip: Stay in the "new" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knosmada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I stopped here last year with a few collegues after being on a military exercise in Belize. Pedro's was recommened and we were immediately made feel welcomed and had Jager shots on the house. The atmosphere was friendly and the place had a cosy feeling. The accomadation was clean and presentable and the air con was a god send. The staff was excellent and were great fun to be around and had good knowledge of local nightlife and excursions. The pool area was nicely tucked away with sunloungers. The location is ideal, not to far away from all the bars, within walking distance but just far enough away to relax in piece. Also the pizza's are the best on the island. I look forwad to going again next time i'm in the area. Good value and faultless. I recommend the place for anyone, backpackers, couples or anyone just looking for a getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Pedro's is a bit out of the way as it is 15-20 minutes walk from town with some unpaved and some very busy streets and almost no sidewalks. The room was small and plain but very clean. The bar opens at 4pm and does not have very good food despite their claim for the best pizza. First the pizza is about like Little Caesars and cost 35BZ. The beer is $5BZ which is quite high for the island as most offer it for $4. We got a mini fridge and bought our beer from the store 2 blocks away for $2.5BZ.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pedro101, Owner at Pedro's Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
I'd like to address the idea that Pedro's is out of the way. It is 100 yards to the Caribbean Sea, and a 4 minute walk to the start of town, which is Ramon's - And a 10 minute walk to your favorite restaurant, Estelle's located in the middle of San Pedro - who incidentally charge the same amount for a beer as we do ($5 Bz) .

Most hotels on the island charge between $6 Bz and $18 Bz for a beer, however we believe this is unfair on the customer. You also have to understand that our bar is air-conditioned, which means there are never any mosquitos in it - which almost no other bar on the island can say. Beer is obviously cheaper from a grocery store - as it is in the US - however the ambience of drinking beer in a fun, popular bar is surely worth the extra $2.50 Bz. We gave you a fridge, without charging you for it. Normally they are $10 Bz per day.
We charge $50+ dollars a night and the rooms are small-ish. We are a budget hotel and clearly present ourselves as such. You could have gotten a bigger room if you had paid slightly more money in our new rooms. You say it's only a 3-star value, it is lucky you stayed with us as most other places would have ranked a 1 star value.

I am personally insulted that you say the food isn't very good. I would agree with you on the pizza, but ONLY because I don't like pizza. We have many, many people who compliment us on our pizza and I would have thought if you were unhappy that you would have mentioned it to the bartender and/or me, the owner. We have many visitors and expats who order our pizza because they consider it the best in Central America.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I would stay here anytime, had a great time. Especially good for those traveling alone. Nice staff running the place, very helpful and ready with suggestions of things to do. Bike rentals are cheap but wake up early to reserve one. The bartenders are great and be careful of the bell unless you'd like to buy the whole bar a round of Jägermeister. Location, it's about a 10 minute walk into town although there's other bars and restaurants walking south, away from town.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BreezyGirlAstoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Pedro's has added 16 new rooms since the last time I was in San Pedro. They seem a bit larger than the rooms in the three story building across the street. Each room is simply furnished with a dresser, king-sized bed that can easily be made into two large singles, a dressing area with sink and a bathroom with toilet and shower. The rooms are finished floor to ceiling with polished local woods and have both air conditioners and ceiling fans. Maid service is provided daily and oddly enough, the towels are some of the best I've seen on the island - good-sized and really soft!

As always, Pedro's has a fun, eclectic mix of guests and there is something going at the bar almost every night, from whatever the current sporting event is to karaoke to trivia games. A very fun bar with a great host and still the coldest Belikin and best shrimp pizza on the island.

While not beachfront, Pedro's now has two good-sized pools and it's only short two-block walk to the beach. If you're looking for luxury and room service, this isn't your place; but for a nice basic room, a good central location and lots of fun, given what you get - this is by far one of the best values around.

Rick and LeahAnn, California

Room Tip: If you travel light, ask for the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahAnn61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.5 mi away
Spindrift Hotel
Spindrift Hotel
#46 of 53 in San Pedro
84 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#37 of 53 in San Pedro
182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#40 of 53 in San Pedro
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#25 of 53 in San Pedro
178 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#34 of 53 in San Pedro
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedro's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedro's Hotel

Property: Pedro's Hotel
Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pedro's Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap Rooms, Priceless Adventure In Belize, and certainly in the town of San Pedro on Ambergris Caye, Pedro’s Hotel is the best price and value. Designed for the budget-minded traveler, Pedro’s affordable accommodations allow guests to enjoy all the excitement and adventure Belize has to offer, like Belize’s world-class scuba diving, snorkeling, spear fishing, kayaking, windsurfing, or sailing. Quite simply, at Pedro’s Hotel, even thrifty travelers can experience adventures of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Pedro's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedro's Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing