We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place-Stay Here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pedro's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pedro's Hotel
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
north east CA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Place-Stay Here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I was not expecting this place to be all that great, it is a budget place after all. Boy was I wrong! This is the best place to stay. A few block walk into San Pedro town, and only a few blocks to the airport. Also only a few blocks to the beach. They have two pools-which were never crowded the entire time we were there. There are three types of accomodations-Hostel-two single beds per room-shared bathrooms. Budget hotel rooms, privat bathrooms-no air conditioning. Deluxe hotel rooms, private bathrooms-air conditioning. We stayed in a Deluxe room, overlooking the pools on the second floor-no elevators. The room was basic, but very comfortable, a nice sized shower and always cleaned every day. The staff is great. We want to give a special shout out to bartender Jason-what an awesome guy! He remembered our names from the first day and was always cheerful and joking. We saw him several times during his time off and days off and he was just as cheerful and friendly. This place attracts a wide range of travelers. There were the backpacker, young crowd, the older budget traveler and the middle aged, want a nice room but don't want to spend our life savings type. It was surprising to me how many older (gray haired) men were staying in the Hostel part of the hotel. It IS a great way to travel and not spend a lot-therefore you can travel a lot longer.
The bar and restaurant is very nice. We ate here a couple of time, though you can walk to any other restaurant in town in a very short amount of time. The Lobster Pizza was very good. The drink prices are a very inexpensive $2.50 American.
The owner-Peter is a character. I heard you either love him or you hate him-I loved him. He's gruff, but very fair. I urge everyone to give this place a try.

Room Tip: Choose a Deluxe room for the air conditioning and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SHZTRBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    143
    58
    17
    25
See reviews for
30
161
118
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayview, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed four days in Feb. Very basic room, clean. If you want luxury this isn't the place. If you want a place that is fun, with a great staff and a eclectic mix of guests, it would be hard to beat.
Location is good with lots of restaurants a ten minute walk away. The beach is close by and it is easy to rent bikes and explore the whole island. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants an adventure on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank go4fun66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSalle, Illinois
Level Contributor
157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Pedro's is exactly as billed. Clean safe room, hot showers, and friendly and knowledgeable staff. We let Philipe arrange all of our tours and was very pleased with what he did. The grounds ,pool , and rooms are cleaned daily. You will never find a cigarette butt on the ground after 9 in the morning. The room had a TV ? Honestly, if you came this far to watch TV, life is passing you by.
We stayed in the deluxe rooms and was very happy with what we got for the added cost. The pizza is really good and the entertainment also. Which leads me to my only complaint . Actually, it really isn't a complaint , just an observation. It has been a long time and many lousy beds since I've stayed in a young adult (backpacker ) hotel. I would have loved this place in my early days but now I'm looking for a good nights sleep after a long adventurous day. Live entertainment ,Poker night, Trivia night cuts into my sleep time. But the nice thing was that every night at 11 pm everything went quiet. Whether it was by Peter's decree or an unwritten rule we were very thankful
I would recommend this hotel to anyone of any age.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narimasu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed at Pedro's the second week of January, 2014. We had come to San Pedro to snorkel and try snuba diving. Our room was on the third floor (Philipe even carried up our 50 lb. bag!) of a newer set of buildings giving one an excellent view of the inlets, air strip and ocean. The room was basic with a queen bed,AC,dresser,TV, sink, and toilet/shower room. Linens and room were clean. Hot water was dependent upon the weather and unfortunately we never experienced a warm shower! Water pressure was an issue one day, but Phillipe carried up a large bucket of water for the toilet.Television and AC worked well. Wi-fi worked best around the communal picnic tables or poolside. The pools are small but very clean and well kept.The sports bar opens at 4pm but Belikens are available from the office any time before four . The bar is a fun atmosphere with big screen t.v.'s showing the latest soccer or football games - sorry no hockey for us Canadians, and beer pong! Jason, the bartender, kept everyone going with food and drink - pizza's are tasty. Jaigermeister is the shot of choice and many were had when the bar bell was rung. Jaegy, Peter's beautiful white/black husky also made the rounds for a pat or a bite of food. A great mix of young and not so young from around the world. Peter, an ex Brit, runs a tight ship with an attentive and responsive crew found in Phillipe, Charles, Jason and many others. It is a quick ten minute walk to the center of town and a seven minute walk to the beach. The only negative was the barking dogs at night. Peter is working with the mayor to rectify the situation. Overall a pleasant stay in a budget hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cumsailaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
200 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed at Pedro's Hotel this Feb. While in San Pedro. The airport is less than 15 min walk the town center and water taxi is under 20 minute walk. The street is unpaved,dusty and rocky and gets muddy after rain.It is just right if you are looking for a safe,clean and secure place in San Pedro.The office staff is Excellent they are knowledgeable and helpful they booked our trips and gave us lots of tips on the island. The food was very good and the bar staff and drinks were great. The room was just right for what we needed clean towels ,sheets and areas. The free wifi was good but did not reach the room.Check in and out was quick and easy we were on the beach 25 min after we checked it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We spent two weeks at Pedro's hotel in January 2014 , Peter Wendy and Philipo always made us feel welcome and steered us in the right direction whatever our questions. The hotel room we had was great value for money, squeaky clean with a nice big shower with hot hot water, fan ,air conditioner and small flat screen TV.
The two pools sparkled everyday and where very inviting after a hectic day's outing. It was a no brainer to book all our tours and golf carts through the hotel which gave us peace of mind.
We will be back.
keith and liz

Room Tip: We stayed in the hotel rooms across the road from the hotel which are nice and quiet and great value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dummerston, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stayed at Pedro's the second week in January, 2014. Why I came to Belize? On a lark. I guess at 75 and no one to answer to, I can do it. I am so happy I selected Pedro's, I have done a lot of traveling in my life and have always selected quality on a budget. You will get it here. You get to mingle with hostel denizens, (which took me back at least 5-6 decades) but even a few of my generation were checking in and out trying to figure if they might make Belize a second home. If you like to walk you are right around everything you would want in San Pedro. The bar opens at 4, but if you need a Beliken just stop by the office and for 2 bucks American it is yours. Rooms are simple, the TV is fuzzy, but why did you come here to watch TV? The bar/restaurant has a very nice one if you are into sports, which I am. WiFi in the public places. We'd sit around in the morning drinking strong coffee and muttering at our lap tops before facing another day on the beaches of the Caribbean. Just don't ring the bell, unless you want to buy the bar a jaggier.
I'm coming back and will use Pedro's as my jumping off point to visit more of this gem of a country. See you kids.
Bill from Vermont

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#32 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#36 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel La Vista
Hostel La Vista
#8 of 31 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedro's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedro's Hotel

Property: Pedro's Hotel
Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pedro's Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap Rooms, Priceless Adventure In Belize, and certainly in the town of San Pedro on Ambergris Caye, Pedro’s Hotel is the best price and value. Designed for the budget-minded traveler, Pedro’s affordable accommodations allow guests to enjoy all the excitement and adventure Belize has to offer, like Belize’s world-class scuba diving, snorkeling, spear fishing, kayaking, windsurfing, or sailing. Quite simply, at Pedro’s Hotel, even thrifty travelers can experience adventures of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pedro's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedro's Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing