We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & budget”
Review of Pedro's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pedro's Hotel
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

San Pedro is not a cheap island. We paid $75 dollars tax included to stay in the Annex rooms. They are clean and very basic. But honestly for the price it's not bad. But expect No luxury. The water they sell is expensive. Cheaper to go to te store.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank myLense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
There are newer reviews for Pedro's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is a place if your going to the island for a couple nights and want a cheap room and like to party with the owner ! We stayed 12 nights and the same hair on the bathroom floor that was there the day we arrived was there the day we left ! The double or king beds are 2 singles put together with sheep skin down the middle to cover the gap ! Showers were never really on the warm side and we always were asking for toilet paper , if your roll was half or a quarter of the way used while cleaning staff was in they never left you another spare roll . Also hope you never plug your toilet or anything goes wrong after hours because you told maintenance is done till tomorrow . The neighbour hood is full of dogs and they are like roosters there so be prepared to be awake come very early morning ! I will not stay there again !

Room Tip: U get what you pay for DIRT CHEAP !
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 213Canada999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pedro101, Owner at Pedro's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

As one of the greatest tennis players who ever lived said to an umpire 'You can't be serious"! You are seriously saying that you looked at a hair on the bathroom floor everyday. Why didn't you ask housekeeping to move it, or pick it up if it upset you so much! Pedro's is very proud of the fact that 99% of the people comment on how clean everything is. And don't forget, you are only paying $60 vs. $200 at other hotels here with the same amenities. This is the first time we've ever heard of a toilet paper issue.

The Hotel of year as voted by Tripadvisor in 2013 (which is on the island) has exactly the same configuration of beds as Pedro's with exactly the same sheepskin bed-joiners, and funnily enough the people that stay there and pay $600 US per night do not seem to complain.

Unlike all other hotels in San Pedro, the owner actually lives on site at Pedro's and we have maintenance on call 24 hours, and security throughout the night. We provide a service that other budget hotels on the island only wish that they could achieve. Four weeks ago one of our water heaters exploded and flooded 2 rooms at 3:30 am. By 4:30 am the rooms were mopped out and everyone was back to sleep, and the owner gave the guests a free pizza for their trouble. We can guarantee that no other hotel on the island would provide this type of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Our room was near pool and bar/restaurant area. Bed was big; king sized. Room had lots of shelves and places to put stuff. Bathroom shower was a bit flimsy but it worked. Toilet was slow to flush. Room was clean; except there was some dust or sand on floor. Had mini fridge and tv.

Looked like a place to meet other travellers. There were people in bar/restaurant and people milling around common areas. You can rent golf carts or bicycles from hotel.

Our room was quite given that the hotel is right beside the airport and there were lots of people drinking and socializing in the common areas.

The hotel was full; we got the last room. It was $63 usd per night. We were advised that the hostel was $25 usd per person per night for a private room; so for a bit more money we opted for the hotel room. San Pedro in general appears to be a bit pricey for what you get; we were advised that Caye Caulker (smaller town; 45 min water taxi ride away) is much cheaper.

March is high season and we were advised that this year the island has been busier than usual.

Room Tip: Walkable distance from downtown area of town.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pedro101, Owner at Pedro's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

If you prefer Caye Caulker, that's fine, however don't you find it amazing that Pedro's now has it's own beach - 250 feet of pristine white sand, and you advise people to go sit on a broken down Sea Wall in Caye Caulker. The difference between us is that we provide great service, the fastest internet available in Belize, a community atmosphere and fun at very reasonable prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed at Pedro's from Feb 14 to March 15. Pedro's consist of 4 buildings that are in 2 lots separated by a road. The owner's house and the bar with the 'Hostel' part above it are at one end. Then you have the swimming pools and across the way are the newest/best rooms in the 'Annex'. Across the road is the 'Hotel' (better than the Hostel, worse than Annex).
We stayed on the 3rd (highest) floor of the Annex. Here is a rundown of our experience:


*** The GOOD ***

> STAFF: everyone from the cleaning ladies, to the groundskeepers, bartenders…all the way to the owner are terrific. We never felt like we stayed in a hotel. We felt like we were staying with family.

> PEOPLE: if you want to meet people and have fun; Pedro's is the place. People from all walks of life socialize there. We made a lot of great friends.

> VALUE: at $10-70/night, for all the reasons listed here, I don't think you can get better value on the island.

> CLEAN: the rooms and grounds are meticulously cleaned daily.

> SAFE: in the 4 weeks we were there we didn't hear of a single issue.

> BASICS: the Hotel and Annex rooms have AC, Hot water, Cable TV; all the basics you want.

> BAR: The prices are fair. The pizza's great. The bartenders are brilliant. And they often fun activities (karaoke, beer pong, trivia, the Poker Run aka a pub crawl…) which I encourage you to join.

> POOLS: the 2 pools come in handy


*** The BAD ***

If you have realistic expectations of a $10-70/night place you won't be let down, but a few things to know:

> BED: ours was about as comfortable as the $50 IKEA futon I had in university.

> WIFI: a few rooms close to the bar (where the router is) will get somewhat of a signal. Most rooms (especially in the Hotel part) will get no reception whatsoever.

> NOISE: between the airstrip behind the hostel, the neighboring dogs, thin walls, and the nightime socializing outside, there tends to be a considerable amount of noise.

> WOODY: the wood paneling can make the rooms in the Hotel part seem pretty dark


*** WHAT TO KNOW ***

> LOCATION: You're about 2 blocks from the beach down a dirt road. And about 10-15 minutes
walking from the center of town. For us, the location seemed very convenient.

> DIFFERENT ROOMS: the hostel rooms are basic: a bed and that's it. The Hotel rooms are private, have AC, Hot Showers and TV. The Annex rooms are a bit more spacious, have more light (due to big patio doors) and balconies. If you can afford to go Annex I would recommend it.

> RECOMMENDED FOR anyone on a budget and/or if you want to meet other travelers and have fun. NOT RECOMMENDED for romance or families.


*** TIPS ***

> RESORTS: a number of resorts don't mind if you use their grounds (beach, beachchairs, etc) including Ramon's which is a 5 minute walk away, Caribbean Villas (owned by Pedro's) and Captain Morgan's which is further north, but offers free boat shuttles. Just bring your own towels.

> HITCH: Don't want to walk or pay for a cart? Stick out your thumb. During our month, we never waited more than a minute before we got picked up by someone in a golf cart.

> FRIDGE: while none of the rooms come with a fridge, there are a number of 'floating' mini-fridges. Meaning that if you are staying there for a while and one is available, they 'll let you borrow it free of charge.

All in all, we'd certainly stay at Pedro's again in a heartbeat! Thank you to everyone there as well as all the amazing travelers we met along the way for an amazing month!

Room Tip: he hostel rooms are basic: a bed and that's it. The Hotel rooms are private, have AC, Hot Shower...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank N_Gremion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This review is for 'Pedro's Hotel' - a block of rooms across the street from 'Pedro's Inn' and the pools.

'King' size bed is actually two twin beds pushed together. And they were not cushioned in such a way that you could lay on both mattresses without feeling like you would fall through them. Rooms were clean enough, and reservations were available last-minute for New Years Eve. Rooms were a bit gloomy. Overall, good value, but we didn't spend much time in our room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Pros: First of all the staff (shout out to Paul, Victor, Ernie, Nye) are awesome, except for the owner (more about that later). The pizza they make is probably the best you can find in Belize (although didn't try pizza anywhere else). Tables and benches under shade between two small pools and next to the bar really encourages people to hang out there and socialize. I made so many new friends who are awesome people and seasoned travelers. I don't think I'd meet this many people if I stayed at a resort. Also the staff organizes bar/pub crawl every couple of nights that's also a lot of fun. Cheap accommodation. Maids cleaned the room every weekday and changed towels.

Cons: The major one: I stayed at one of the new rooms near the pool/bar area and got many many bedbug bites. I've never gotten such bites before so it took me a while to figure out what was going on but I saw a doctor immediately after coming back and he confirmed. Not happy about that. Found 2 cockroaches in the bathroom over a week but killed both of them. Slightly far from the core downtown area but quite walkable. Now regarding the owner: he's known to be rude to guests but adores pretty girls. During a karaoke night he specifically instructed the DJ to skip male guests who signed up. Oh well :p

Overall I don't think I'll stay there again because I don't want to deal with the bug bites again. But it's great for meeting single/young travelers and having a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LPlaneteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

After searching for days for affordable accommodations on San Pedro, Pedro's Hotel was the only accommodation I could find for a budget stay. You won't find many other hotels or places to stay on the island that meet this price point. With that being said, the rooms at Pedro's are on the smaller side and are very basic. I stayed in the hotel by the rainbow sign across the street from the main gathering place, and these rooms were just average. Decently clean, yet not spectacular, but again, not many other options on the island.

The common spaces at Pedro's are great, with a nice picnic area, two outdoor pools, and a bar where many expats congregate at night. As a result, be forewarned that if you stay in the hostel or the rooms by the pools, it can get a little loud at night. Also, Pedro's is close to the Tropic Air airstrip, so airplanes can be heard at all hours of the day. Location is walking distance to downtown San Pedro/the tourist strip, so that is a plus. Recommend staying here if you're on a budget.

Room Tip: The hostel is located above the bar, and the newer rooms by the pool are also close to the bar, so t...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spratt504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#36 of 53 in San Pedro
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
806 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spindrift Hotel
Spindrift Hotel
#44 of 53 in San Pedro
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#40 of 53 in San Pedro
114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#26 of 53 in San Pedro
179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedro's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedro's Hotel

Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £41 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pedro's Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap Rooms, Priceless Adventure In Belize, and certainly in the town of San Pedro on Ambergris Caye, Pedro’s Hotel is the best price and value. Designed for the budget-minded traveler, Pedro’s affordable accommodations allow guests to enjoy all the excitement and adventure Belize has to offer, like Belize’s world-class scuba diving, snorkeling, spear fishing, kayaking, windsurfing, or sailing. Quite simply, at Pedro’s Hotel, even thrifty travelers can experience adventures of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Pedro's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedro's Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing