We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pedro's Hotel - excellent option”
Review of Pedro's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pedro's Hotel
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Reviewed 31 July 2009

I just returned from my 10th trip to Ambergris Caye. I was on a tight budget this time, so Pedro's Hotel special of $35/night plus tax, suited my needs perfectly.

I stayed in Room 9 in the new 30 room hotel - directly across the street from his bar and Backpacker Inn. This room is on the first floor.

What sold me on his hotel is the small pool to cool off, the great pizza and bar, and AC in the hotel rooms.

There were a few things that I had to adjust to in the room. 1) The strange floor paint (bubbles had erupted) that actually exfoliated the bottoms of your feet (a new spa treatment while you walk). 2) There was no light over the sink and mirror, just the celing fan light in the center of the room over the sleeping area (there was a light in the private bathroom). 3) The bedframe is super high. For me, an average height woman (5'5") I had to jump up to get on the bed. Since I was traveling alone, I had the second single bed to use as leverage to get on to the bed).

None of these issues were a big deal, and in no way took away from my experience.

Pedro is Pedro, he enjoys running his bar. Cindy is very helpful, although I wasn't in need of much since I've been visiting for many years. Walter is a sweety and you'll see him everywhere; building a fence, tending bar or cooking.

Thumbs up to Pedro for offering a great place to stay at a very affordable price. I was able to enjoy several day tours without going over budget. Thanks for the great week! Gela

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyGBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2009

The best part of this place is the pool. This might seem a bit silly, but the pool post-ocean swim is decent and makes your hair feel less gross.

We originally booked into one of the hostel rooms. When we showed up, Peter was pretty laid back, he didn't bother getting off the couch when some other dude led us up to him...in fact, our arrival seemed like a huge inconvenience . He didn't expect us...but he did remember he had my credit card information from booking. His aloof behaviour, as we realized after a few nights, was part of his charm. He talked us into staying in a room that was newly renovated (ie. under construction). When we first walked in we thought the floor water coated with soapy water. We soon realized it was the paint finish. The room was hot and had no ventilation or breeze what-so-ever. After two nights there we moved over to 'The Blue Room'. And were very pleased. It was a lot more comfortable. If you can afford 45 American, then go with this room. If not, get another room and just deal with the heat. Ambergris is beautiful. Go to the north part of the island on a bike ride!

At one point, the lights in the first room stopped working and when we notified Peter, he sighed, uttered a few curse word, disappeared for ten minutes and came back with a pack of bulbs. He is quite the character.

The Sports Bar was nice. Peter kept on promising us pizza..... No pizza.

Stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

great place to stay in s.pedro and save money, all the personal is perfect and can satisfied all your requests!...and very good pizza (word of an italian guy!)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliverosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

I just finished a week in San Pedro staying at Pedro's. Peter, no relation to San Pedro (I'm guessing) is the owner and he is a charming combination of Jimmy Buffet and Donald Trump. Cindy will be your go-to girl for anything during your stay. She's not going to try to flog any tours or services, but whatever you are interested in, she can arrange--diving, snorkeling, fishing, etc.

I stayed in the Hotel which is across the street from the Bar/Hostel. You have to understand that in San Pedro there are very few bargains to be had. There are resorts, and there are dumps, And then there is Pedro's Hotel, where you get a better room than some of the "resorts" for less than some of the "dumps." The whole place is scrupulously clean--and I am picky. The hot water is hot. The a/c is cold.

The bar is awesome! Hosting a great mix of laid back locals and guests, there is just no way to describe the good vibe I got there. Great pizza and shrimp, too! Great for the solo traveler.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric-from-TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Easily the best bargain in San Pedro. The owners are very friendly and helpful giving advice and setting up trips. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and sit atop a great bar with good food. It's a popular place to meet up with other young travelers passing through Belize. I had a great time there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pomologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Save your money for scuba diving and stay at Pedro's Hostel. If all you need is a place to sleep and somewhere safe to keep your things then Pedro's in will do just fine. The Staff are super friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable and do everything to ensure your stay is pleasant. A bed, a pool, and a bar all steps from the beach and San Pedro restaurants and nightlife.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

The rooms at Pedro's Hotel were fine, comfy and affordable. Clean beds & private bath including AC and cable TV, not to mention they were cleaned daily. The bar was quite nice,cheerful and surrounded with walls of jagermeister. The pizza was amazingly delicious and wholesome. There was also a deck & swimming pool that added the final touch to my stay. You should definitely stay at Pedro's in if you plan to go to San Pedro, it's a cozy spot with a nice location.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demodeiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#36 of 53 in San Pedro
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#40 of 53 in San Pedro
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#25 of 53 in San Pedro
180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
354 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedro's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedro's Hotel

Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £36 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pedro's Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap Rooms, Priceless Adventure In Belize, and certainly in the town of San Pedro on Ambergris Caye, Pedro’s Hotel is the best price and value. Designed for the budget-minded traveler, Pedro’s affordable accommodations allow guests to enjoy all the excitement and adventure Belize has to offer, like Belize’s world-class scuba diving, snorkeling, spear fishing, kayaking, windsurfing, or sailing. Quite simply, at Pedro’s Hotel, even thrifty travelers can experience adventures of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pedro's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedro's Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing