We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in the most beautiful island”
Review of Pedro's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pedro's Hotel
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay in the most beautiful island”
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Pedro's inn, is very friendly and laid back. They are very helpful in organising lots of activities such as snorkling, doing the blue hole, hiring a golf cart etc., There's a bar and swimming pool on site and two fabulous dogs. The staff are really friendly too. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds, air con and TV and en-suite. It's great value too. The island itself is amazing, brilliant locals, lots to do, amazing food in funky resturants, amazing scenery, good nightlife and family friendly. One of my very favourite places!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deemaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    145
    60
    17
    25
See reviews for
32
165
121
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

If you're on a budget, it doesn't get much better than Pedro's. For $50, you get a brand new double room with a/c in a hotel with a pool, a bar, a pizza place and free wifi & coffee. The mattresses are new, the bathroom is new, the pizza's are delicious, and you can surf the net, while chatting to other travellers around the pool. There are cheaper rooms if you're on more of a budget, but as a couple, we chose air conditioning.

English owner Peter, and manager Cindy, are both hugely welcoming, and suggest trips and tours and reduced rates. We came for two days and stayed for five, leaving only to go to Caye Caulker. Pedro's is a three minute walk along the beach from town, and having explored the whole island by bike, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Take the Blue Hole Dive Trip that they suggest - it's over $200, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHoliday28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Weren't sure how good it would be because it's SO much cheaper than everywhere else on the island. But it was great. Cindy showed us to a room round the back (the 'Red room') and although the bathroom is a bit ramshackle it doesn't matter at all as it's clean, new towels daily, hardly any bugs in there. Tv, air-con and fans. We had laundry done at $17 a bag. Asked Cindy about tours and she booked us a snorkeling tour instantly with SEAduced that afternoon; we were the only 2 so had our guide Silvan to ourselves (only bze$30 each), it was fantastic. There's a lovely pool and some chairs. They rent out golf carts as well! Brilliant find in San Pedro - thanks to Cindy! Backpackers (and everyone else's) Paradise.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megaphra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chile
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Just in front of the hostel they have built a new hotel, it looks like a henhouse but it is definitively the best place for backpackers in San Pedro, it's clean, close the the beach (if you want a seaside room you got the pay at least twice the price) - keep in mind that it looks much better on internet pictures...as usual - but they haven't invest on water systems for toilets, I spend 5 days there's and it smell AWFUL, we have to think twice before going to the toilet. On the beging they say there was a problem with our room only, then we find out that the whole building had the same problem. We try to look for another place..but as I told you...for the same price you cannot find something good enough there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDMChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

I just returned from my 10th trip to Ambergris Caye. I was on a tight budget this time, so Pedro's Hotel special of $35/night plus tax, suited my needs perfectly.

I stayed in Room 9 in the new 30 room hotel - directly across the street from his bar and Backpacker Inn. This room is on the first floor.

What sold me on his hotel is the small pool to cool off, the great pizza and bar, and AC in the hotel rooms.

There were a few things that I had to adjust to in the room. 1) The strange floor paint (bubbles had erupted) that actually exfoliated the bottoms of your feet (a new spa treatment while you walk). 2) There was no light over the sink and mirror, just the celing fan light in the center of the room over the sleeping area (there was a light in the private bathroom). 3) The bedframe is super high. For me, an average height woman (5'5") I had to jump up to get on the bed. Since I was traveling alone, I had the second single bed to use as leverage to get on to the bed).

None of these issues were a big deal, and in no way took away from my experience.

Pedro is Pedro, he enjoys running his bar. Cindy is very helpful, although I wasn't in need of much since I've been visiting for many years. Walter is a sweety and you'll see him everywhere; building a fence, tending bar or cooking.

Thumbs up to Pedro for offering a great place to stay at a very affordable price. I was able to enjoy several day tours without going over budget. Thanks for the great week! Gela

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyGBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

The best part of this place is the pool. This might seem a bit silly, but the pool post-ocean swim is decent and makes your hair feel less gross.

We originally booked into one of the hostel rooms. When we showed up, Peter was pretty laid back, he didn't bother getting off the couch when some other dude led us up to him...in fact, our arrival seemed like a huge inconvenience . He didn't expect us...but he did remember he had my credit card information from booking. His aloof behaviour, as we realized after a few nights, was part of his charm. He talked us into staying in a room that was newly renovated (ie. under construction). When we first walked in we thought the floor water coated with soapy water. We soon realized it was the paint finish. The room was hot and had no ventilation or breeze what-so-ever. After two nights there we moved over to 'The Blue Room'. And were very pleased. It was a lot more comfortable. If you can afford 45 American, then go with this room. If not, get another room and just deal with the heat. Ambergris is beautiful. Go to the north part of the island on a bike ride!

At one point, the lights in the first room stopped working and when we notified Peter, he sighed, uttered a few curse word, disappeared for ten minutes and came back with a pack of bulbs. He is quite the character.

The Sports Bar was nice. Peter kept on promising us pizza..... No pizza.

Stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

great place to stay in s.pedro and save money, all the personal is perfect and can satisfied all your requests!...and very good pizza (word of an italian guy!)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliverosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#32 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#22 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#37 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedro's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedro's Hotel

Property: Pedro's Hotel
Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Business Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pedro's Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap Rooms, Priceless Adventure In Belize, and certainly in the town of San Pedro on Ambergris Caye, Pedro’s Hotel is the best price and value. Designed for the budget-minded traveler, Pedro’s affordable accommodations allow guests to enjoy all the excitement and adventure Belize has to offer, like Belize’s world-class scuba diving, snorkeling, spear fishing, kayaking, windsurfing, or sailing. Quite simply, at Pedro’s Hotel, even thrifty travelers can experience adventures of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pedro's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedro's Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing