We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Xaman Ek Resort & Spa
Ranked #49 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Reviewed 26 April 2010

When we first arrived we thought it was far...but soon we realized the Ambergris system. Mike picked us up from the airport and dropped us off after a one week stay. The rest of the time you take the water taxi which comes buy regularly. Week bought a gold pass for the week which pasys for itself after threee trips.

Mike and his staff were great. The food is good, especially the breakfast. Mike is quick to help, I appreciate the ability to interact with the owner. He arranged some great dives with Steve and a day trip to Laminai with Daniel. Both the of guides new the area, what to see and where to go.

The snorkling just about 300 yards (you can swim or take the kayak out there) was great. nice clear water coral heads and fish.

Rooms were clean and serviced every day including fresh water.

Mike is fun to talk to, helpful, and been living in the isalnd a long time.

Copntrary to others claims, we had not mosquito bites but did encounter some noseeums if you go around the back, which is not needed. Did not see any cockroaches, but a few cute geckos and hermit crabs.

San Pedro is a scream...good food with friendly people.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHLOREGON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2010

We had some fun on the trip but were disappointed by a few things and surprised by others. If you plan on visiting, we highly recommend taking the day trip to Lamanai (Mayan ruins). Unexpectedly, we did not have a single bad meal at any restaurant, and had 3 incredible meals at Rojo. The meals at Xaman Ek were also pretty good. A large downside to the trip was that it was hard to go snorkeling and you had to kayak for a long while or take an boat ride before you could really see anything worthwhile. The 2 bed apartment was reasonably sized, but the beds and pillows were not at all comfortable for adults. We slept extremely badly. The kitchen was large, but scantily equipped.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCtrip19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Just returned from 5 days at Xaman Ek on Ambergris Caye. It is 5 units tucked into the quiet beachfront 5 miles north of San Pedro. Spacious, clean, relaxed atmosphere. Mike, the owner, goes out of his way to arrange a getaway matched to your desires. Some may choose a treatment at the spa on the premises. We dove every day. Mike arranged a local dive guide who was outstanding. Great knowledge of the reef at a fair price. While there are restaurants easily accessible by water taxi, Mike runs a kitchen that puts out excellent breakfasts and a variety of local seafood for lunch and dinner. Wireless internet if you just can't leave the world behind. We will definitely be returning to Xaman Ek. Unqualified positive recommendation.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedarmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Xaman Ek is a large home on Ambergris Caye, Belize. If you are looking for relaxation, seclusion from tourists, beautiful blue water, great food at the on site restaurant, massages on site, pool and an owner ready to please, this is the place to visit. We went in January. The owner provided us with a guide who took us out snorkeling, diving, and fishing each day. There are 5 units available and we were one of two occupied, so literally had the place to ourselves. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbum201063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

2nd time to come to Xaman Ek.
Loved it the first time travelling with a firend, so brought a girlfriend down to celebrate my birthday.

Loved the staff, love the friends Mike (owner) brought along like Scuba Steve.

I continued my bonefishing (caught 3) right in front of the resort.

Mike and staff stayed up late to serve my GF and I a wonderful birthday meal on the pier.
Loved jumping in the pool afterwards.

We also had a great couples massage.

Xaman Ek is perfect for travelers not looking for "all inclusive", no kids, getting away from rookie travelers, great fresh food.

Great diving, very close to Mexico Rocks which is a free diving area.

Looking for the chance to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Wow! Where to begin... Xaman Ek was nothing less then a HUGE DISAPOINTMENT!!! If we can sway anyone reading these forums to stay elsewhere then we have helped with the enjoyment of their trip. From arrival it wasn't what we had imagined. The pictures on line are exaggerated and clearly photo shopped. The suite was large but very unpleasant. My first thoughts were LEAVE!!! Because the resort is so far away from town the owner Mike Campbell had told us he would bring us there daily for supplies and/ or entertainement as he shuttled the girls working for him daily. Well... what a misconception. There were many days he outright refused to take us and on the weekend it wasn't even up for discussion. Even though he was going anyway. The most important thing we want to let people know is that Mike Campbell is far from stable. There is no reasoning with him. He quoted us a fee before our stay yet decided to up our rate once we were leaving. Without even letting us speak our side he said he was the business owner and could charge whatever he chose to. We were SHOCKED! He displayed a VERY scary temper forcing us to ask friends to be present while we dealt with him. We were afraid of our safety. During our stay he was rude, very unhospitable and clearly only out for himself.

-The pool was gross on many occasions.
-The food was overpriced (bad cafeteria food at best).
-It's ridden with mosquitoes and cockroaches.
-The so called entertainment room was right out of a horror movie. Very filthy and again ridden with mosquitoes and geckos since the screens on the windows were all ripped and torn. Not to mention you would want to put a blanket down on anything in there before you sat on it.
-You are stranded there without the care of the owner helping you get to town because the water taxis charge visitors $52 .00 US return per couple.
-You never know what kind of mood Mike will be in. He is very unpredictable to put it lightly.

The bottom line is, everyone wants to vacation somewhere where they are treated with respect and dignity as well as know that you aren't going to be charge more then what you originally agreed upon.

The one positive thing we could say about our stay is that the girls working for him were nice. And Steve the scuba instructor was great. If only they were the owners. Maybe change would take place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honeymooners2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

My husband and I satyed at Xaman Ek for 8 days and we found it to be wonderfully relaxing. The our room was very large and clean. The staff at the resort were very friendly and willing to help and accomodate us in every way. It is a vary small place and things are very slow paced. When you wake up and want to eat breakfast, you need to just find one of the girls and they are more than happy to serve you. Mike, the owner was always accomodating as well. He was also very happy to teach us a little about the culture and ways in Belize, as this was our first visit. The food at the restaurant was wonderfully delicious, we ate there at least once or twice day. I also had an amazing massage and pedicure in the spa!! We were very pleased with our stay and would love to go back there someday. As far as resorts go, it is not what you would typically picture in your head, but it was everything we were looking for and we just didn't know it until we got there! There was only one other couple there for the majority of our stay so it was very quiet and we were able to relax and take some awsome see side naps in the hammocks!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubamandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro
33.9 mi away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#37 of 55 in San Pedro
188 reviews
42.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 55 in San Pedro
165 reviews
32.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#28 of 55 in San Pedro
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43 mi away
Playa Del Sol
Playa Del Sol
#39 of 55 in San Pedro
12 reviews
33.9 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 55 in San Pedro
306 reviews
36.4 mi away
Captain Morgan's Retreat
Captain Morgan's Retreat
#21 of 57 in Ambergris Caye
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xaman Ek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xaman Ek Resort & Spa

Address: 5.5 Miles North of San Pedro | PO Box 227, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Playa Blanca Beach Club)
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#45 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xamanek is located 5.5 miles north Ambergris Caye, Belize Central America. We are what you can describe as Paradise. Home Away from home. Our New and friendly staff and management awaits you to make your vacation a very reasonable and memorable one. We have a Spa and a Jamaica, Belize Cuisine restaurant {Jambel Jerk Pit} Our Prices are affordable and our Quality is on the high end. Book with us and you will experience what it is to be pampered. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Xaman Ek Hotel
Xaman Ek Resort & Spa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing