We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Belizean Reef Suites
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My son and I stayed at the Belizean Reef for 10 nights in May, 2013. We were on the top floor as these rooms have air conditioning in the BR and living area. While the rooms are not super fancy they are very comfortable and we had absolutely no complaints about the room or anything to do with our stay. Naomi was a great help with offering advice, suggestions and directions. Ana stopped by to introduce herself and when we noticed that the water guys had not been around to replace our 5 gallon water jug, she volunteered to go to the store and bring one back for us. That was great service. I talked to Eric on the phone as he took me through the steps to reset the password on the safe. We didn’t do much cooking in the unit, only breakfasts and a few lunches but whatever we needed we had. Being on the 3rd fl we had a great view of the beautiful Caribbean. We also went up to the roof top patio a few times in the evening for a couple of cold beers, cool breezes and great views. For us the location was perfect. Close to town but not in the middle of all the action. It is less than a 5 minute walk from the airport. The maid service was great. She even did our dishes for us a couple of times. That was an unexpected bonus. We were busy every day with scuba diving, snorkelling, jet skiing and all the other great things Ambergris Caye has to offer. It was a great vacation. I would definitely stay at the Belizean Reef again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Belizean Reef Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

These are actually privately owned condos and should probably be in the vacation rentals section. The location is very good, just on the south side of town so it is an easy walk down the beach to almost anywhere. There is a pier next door that is used by dive and fishing boats for pick ups and drop offs so you don't have to lug heavy dive gear back and forth. It is on the ocean so you get the breezes and there were no mosquitoes.

Due to a mix up we were in apartment 3A on the second floor for a few nights before being transferred to the apartment that we had actually rented on the forth floor (unit 4). Both apartments were nice and had a great view. The furnishings were the same with some minor differences. Beds in both apartments were quite comfortable. The bedrooms of both have air conditioning which is nice for those of us who are not acclimated to sleeping in warm muggy weather; it also helps to keep out the early morning noise of the town and airport. The airport really was not a nuisance. A new bar opened across the street during our stay. The first night was a bit noisy until midnight but it was not a problem after that (we stayed 14 nights).

Unit 4 could use some upkeep, some of the windows did not open or close well and the furniture had a pervasive layer of sand. The fan in the bathroom of unit 3A was very nice. We were pleasantly surprised to find that we had maid service most days as we were not expecting that.

Room Tip: overall we preferred unit 3A to unit 4, just because of furniture and it was a bit cooler.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great condos with plenty of room and full kitchens. The location is perfectly on the south edge of town, so you're away from the late night bar goers. Walking distance from the air strip. The planes start running around 6:40am every morning, but if you're up to do excursions, then this shouldn't be a problem.
There is a place to park your rented golf cart and/or bikes overnight. Very safe and relaxing. I will stay again without question.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyingchefkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the location, view, size and amenities of our Suite! We were on the second floor and had a spectacular view to sit on our balcony and have our morning coffee or nightcap! The gates get locked at night that only people staying there have access too for security.
The housekeeper, Angela, is not only good at what she does, but also very helpful and knowledgeable with any questions you have. As mentioned in other posts, we went snorkeling for a day with her son, Stephen and his crew, on his 35 ft Catamaran. We had a great meal on a beach. They dove for Conch and made an awesome Ceviche, and then we got to take a shell!!
We walked everywhere in San Pedro, as it is close to both downtown to the north and markets and other bars to the south as well.
If you want to have a fully equipped spacious place to stay on the beach, this is the place. The wifi worked great in the kitchen, living room and deck!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clinton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The location is fantastic !! very nice and clean condo with a great view. the staff is wonderful Angela does a great job ! walking distance to everything ! good fishing off the dock to the right of condo. next to Romons beach which is nice and clean ! the only thing it needs more cooking utensil's,pots ect. have stayed there four times and will go back. It's all about the LOCATION !!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: rooms on the south side # 2 is quieter. higher rooms better view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spackler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

As others have said, you cannot beat the location. We were in #2 on the first floor. Walk-out right to the beach. Power went out overnight and it wreaked havoc on the internet we needed to do some work (I know, but whatcha gonna do?) Ana, despite being laid-up with the flu, jumped right on our need and ensured we were all set. Being on the firstfloor and close to town, secuirty can be a concern, but we felt very safe with multiple locks at both the front and back entrance as well as tasteful bars on the windows beachside that didn't hamper our view or airflow. Safe in the kitchen cabinet was electronic and large. Speaking of airflow, the air conditioning unit in the bedroom was amazingly quiet. February Belize trips don't frquently require air conditioning, but this spacious suite had the bedroom all the way in the back -- limiting natural airflow. We needed the unit, and found it amazingly quiet and efficient. As we are familiar with san pedro, we didn't require any assistance with excusrions or air travel so we cannot speak to this. However, offers with assistance were generous and frequent. Buy coffee, bagels, and other basic necessities in a closeby grocery store and you are set for a reasonably priced vacation. I would highly recommend Belizean Reef. Most pictures at the link below were taken from atop, below and surrounding Belizean Reef. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WO0j-DfHoeU

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank otteralum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Just returned from 1 week in San Pedro, staying at Belizean Reef Suites. Located right on the beach, only steps away from downtown and the San Pedro airport (don't make the mistake of taking a taxi from the airport -- it's basically right across the street).

The beach in San Pedro is basically a pedestrian-only road - so walking from these condos to stores and cafes and into downtown is enchanting. You can't really swim off the beach in San Pedro -- the sea-grass is far too extensive to get around -- but you can swim off the end of the pier at Ramones a couple doors down; they have steps into the water and a cleared are with artificial reef. There are thousands of fish around this pier and 'reef' so make sure to bring your mask and snorkel.

The suites are cleaned daily, and everything kept tidy. The housekeeper, Angela, is around all day so anytime we had a question she was very helpful, and whenever there was a minor problem she called in the manager to fix it promptly. Erik and Ana were always quick to respond to emails if we had an issue or question.

Definitely recommend Belizean Suites -- perfect location, being just outside the towndown core, but still only steps from cafes, restaurants, shops etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayaruu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.0 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,049 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#26 of 53 in San Pedro
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tres Cocos Resort
Tres Cocos Resort
#14 of 32 in San Pedro
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
533 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belizean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Reef Suites

Address: Cocounut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 78028, Belize (Formerly Belizean Reef Luxury Beachfront Suites)
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range: £63 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These affordable, spacious and luxurious beachfront condos are in a prime location on the south edge of town close to all the shops, restaurants and palapa bars. There is a private sandy beach area overlooking the reef for sunning or for relaxing in a hammock. The roof top veranda can provide beautiful and memorable photos of the reef and azul waters complete with sailboats or sunsets. Great packages available for any adventure or special event. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belizean Reef Luxury Beachfront Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Reef Suites Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing