We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome Honeymoon!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Belizean Reef Suites
Oregon
1 review
“Awsome Honeymoon!”
Reviewed 26 November 2008

We had a friend recommend the Belizean Reef and after looking at the one rating dated March 20, 2008 was just a little apprehensive about our safety. But the other ratings sounded good and the price was so much better than the other condos for what you get that we decided to give it a try. We will never be sorry! IT WAS AWSOME!

We took a honeymoon package and the manager took care of everything for us! We had flowers, a romantic dinner, sunset sail, snorkel trips and to the ruins. Everything was timed perfectly and we had an amazing time.

As far as security goes, the manager warned us not to wear expensive jewelry, leave cameras etc. laying around and not to carry obvious things that would have valuables like a purse. It really did not seem as dangerous as some other vacation resorts. We were careful and had an amazing time! Would highly recommend The Belizean Reef.

  • Liked — Spacious and very clean
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IslandloverOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

We spent a week at the Belizean Reef and although it was a great condo, we had a few troubles. First we were mugged just outside the gate on the beach at 8:00pm on a Saturday night in March 2008. Unfortunately I ended up with 3 stab wounds due to the struggle and had to get stitches and deal with the local police. This was a random act but the reason it happened at the Belizean Reef is likely due to the fact that a laneway is located right beside the property and it provides direct access from the beach to the main street. A local woman and her boyfriend were robbbed just 4 nights previous to our incident in the same location and the boyfriend was hurt. The police believe they have the culprit in custody now.

We also had an intruder in our condo 3 days later who attempted to lock the door from the inside (to lock us out as we were just out on the front beach). He left when he realized he couldn't lock the door from the inside without a key. But, when confronted by Ken (property manager), he was able to describe us and get away by convincing Ken that he was just there to take us snorkeling. He was found inside a 2nd floor condo the next day.

Clearly this is not always a safe property and we will not return.

I would recommend staying away from Ambergris Caye altogether because these incidents are increasing in frequency. After our incident we heard about several others that had happened in San Pedro within the previous couple of weeks.

  • Liked — cleanliness, large room, manager was very friendly
  • Disliked — location was suitable for break-ins and robbery
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank WinnipegBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2008

The Belizean Reef was much nicer than the pictures lead us to believe. The accommodations were spotless and the porch provided an awesome view of the Caribbean out our front door. It was only 1/2 block from town, so we could walk to numerous dive shops, food markets, and restaurants. The roof deck for watching the sunset was an added bonus.

The owner, Ken, was very helpful in recommending places to go and was there when we needed him and gone when we didn't!

We are so glad that we didn't stay in the local tourist hotel. It was 2 doors down and looked like Disneyland! Our condo felt like we actually lived in the little town. It was very reasonably priced for the height of the season and he gives a discount if you book 4 night or more.

I can't wait to go back! If you go, tell Ken that the Heffernans sent you...

  • Liked — proximity to town and the great beachview
  • Disliked — they bathroom got a bit steamy
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StudioMaquette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2007

My wife, daughter, step-daughter, brother-in-law w/partner and I stayed at the property in early June, 2007. On the plus side, the condos were very clean, and very well maintained. In addition the owner was readily available and very helpful.

The location was also superb, literally just steps from the beach.
The only drawback (at least from the perspective of a white, overweight, 55 year old American male) was the fact the condos were air-conditioned only in the bedrooms. As a result, even with ceiling fans in every rooms, it was hard to get away from the humidity which was high (no surprise, it was after all Central America in June). IF you can tolerate the lack of central air, the property is a very nice place to stay. If you need central air, then don't go.

  • Liked — Clean and relatively spacious
  • Disliked — no central air; air conditioning only in bedrooms, not the whole condo
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank psgron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2007

The best reason to stay at the Belizean Reef condos is that the location is about the best in Ambergris Caye. It is located half a block from the San Pedro airport and the condos are next door to The Palms and Ramon's which have the best beach in Ambergris Caye. Most of the beaches on Ambergris Caye have a lot of sea grass both in the very shallow water and washed up on the shore. Ramon's is among the few resorts that has a beach deep enough for swimming and clear of sea grass next to the shore and off their pier. By staying at the Belizean Reef condos you can use the adjacent beach at Ramon's and have the convenience of your own condo at a cheaper price than Ramon's charges. The Belizean Reef condos are quite spacious but the interiors could use updating. I stayed in unit 1 and liked that it had a large patio and could walk directly out to the beach from the unit. The location is also good for easy walking to restaurants and shopping. I would recommend the Belizean Reef if you are an independent traveller who is looking for a self-catering condo. If you are looking for a full service resort however, stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed wasn't too comfortable
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RBCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa fe
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2005

We've stayed at many places in Ambergris before from the luxury all-inclusives to the $30 per night beach shacks. Nothing comes close to this wonderful place. If you're going to be spending time on Ambergris, look no further - this is where to stay.
- Beauiful ocean-front condos on a pristine, quiet beach
- Close to downtown for walking, groceries or nightlife - yet quiet at night.
- Well-decorated, clean, daily maid service, air-conditioning in the bedrooms
- The kitchens are perfectly clean, with all ammenities.
- Terrific private covered deck with chairs, hammocks in the yard.
- The owner is kind, polite, helpful and inobtrusive, great advice given
Al in all, we just loved this place. After years of loving Belize but NOT loving the accomodations, this place has it just about perfect. I will never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank newmexicogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 April 2005

Belizian Reef is a great place to stay! The manager and staff are really friendly and helpful! Condo opens onto the beach and is extremely clean and tidy with very comfortable accommodation and a well equiped kitchen. San Pedro is busy, and this property is just on the edge of town but there was no late night noise. Really close to all emenities and no need to hire a golf cart. Very comfortable! When I return to San Pedro will stay here again...it's perfect!

Helpful?
24 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#40 of 53 in San Pedro
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#26 of 53 in San Pedro
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,040 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isla Bonita Yacht Club
Isla Bonita Yacht Club
#8 of 31 in San Pedro
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seven Seas Resort
Seven Seas Resort
#32 of 53 in San Pedro
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belizean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belizean Reef Suites

Property: Belizean Reef Suites
Address: Cocounut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 78028, Belize (Formerly Belizean Reef Luxury Beachfront Suites)
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These affordable, spacious and luxurious beachfront condos are in a prime location on the south edge of town close to all the shops, restaurants and palapa bars. There is a private sandy beach area overlooking the reef for sunning or for relaxing in a hammock. The roof top veranda can provide beautiful and memorable photos of the reef and azul waters complete with sailboats or sunsets. Great packages available for any adventure or special event. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belizean Reef Luxury Beachfront Hotel San Pedro
Belizean Reef Suites Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing