We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Conch Shell Inn
Nearby Hotels
SunBreeze Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$224
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banana Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$331
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$194
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$186
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Secreto(San Pedro)
US$485
US$465
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Terrazas Resort(San Pedro)
US$475
US$465
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$394
US$372
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramon's Village Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$338
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sapphire Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$248
US$237
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
141
57
18
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
57
18
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconch shellswater taxiin townlarge verandaferry dockworked finemini fridgebeds were comfortablecoffee potair conditioningperfect locationwithin easy walking distancethree nightsbeach frontbelize citylounge chairsscuba diving
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Overall the Conch Shell is a wonderful place, if you want to be right in town where all the action is. We were there for 3 weeks (end Feb./ beginning March) and this included Carnival, where we could stand on our verandah and watch it all without leaving our hotel (a tricky undertaking when everyone's throwing paint at each other!). We loved the relaxed vibe and the owner was very attentive and friendly, going out of her way to make us feel welcome and cared for. We had to move downstairs for 2 days (our room upstairs was unavailable for those 2 days when we booked) and perhaps to make up for this the owner Joan offered us 2 days at her beautiful beach house north of San Pedro, which we enjoyed immensely. (It's called the "Blue Dolphin". If you have a large group and perhaps a special occasion I would recommend renting her house. It's fabulous!) The manager at the Conch Shell, Eleanor, was wonderful and accommodating, and kept the place pristine.
We loved the upstairs rooms, with the coffeemaker and microwave, and amazing view from the verandah. Our downstairs room was fine too and had a bigger bathroom (missed the coffeemaker but you can buy coffee 2 doors away, so no problem) .Not as good a view though. Both floors have such a great breeze from the sea that A/C seemed unnecessary, and there's a window in back too so you get a cross draft.
There's a lot going on on the beachfront, but of course this makes it very convenient for water taxis, excursions, restaurants, etc. and you can swim close by in the "green circle". Don't be afraid of the occasional nurse sharks or even stingrays--some are tame, and get out of your way anyway.
It's a great spot for people watching, gazing at the sea, setting out on excursions, reading and getting a good night's sleep due to the VERY comfortable beds. We had a fantastic holiday there and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The staff very pleasant but can't fix the 80 deg temps in the room at night. There was one night spent without sheets on the bed and no hot water. Stay away from people selling food on the beach!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonytr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConchShellInn, Owner at Conch Shell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Conch Shell Guest,
During your one week stay the country of Belize was celebrating "Fiesta de Carnaval"!!
More specifically, the island was celebrating a more intensified version called
"San Pedro Carnival", which is why you may have noticed large sheets of plastic covering
all benches and statues in central park and a majority of businesses!! It is indeed a true celebration starting at 3pm everyday with "Fat Tuesday" being the craziest!! We had been sold
out for months as this is a big tourist attraction and with the community and local group parades it can, and especially the last night, is noisey!! We received many photos from guests having a fabulous time!
Having 10 rooms, 3 chose to use AC during carnival week! Our manager and maintenance checked your unit and also switched it, everytime saying it ran very cool on the lowest setting?
We personally checked on the other two guests using AC and they said "it was working fine".
At check in our manager will now turn on the AC and check back after 1 hour to confirm "all is well," personally with our guests and make sure there is no confusion with operation.
We did indeed have a new commercial washer installed during your week and the hot water was turned off during the process, the next morning it did run out of hot water and turned on immediately after we were informed, we are very sorry for our unfortunate mistake.
Our policy is to change sheets after three days or there is a card in the room to place on your pillow should you need your sheets changed, there is a maid onsite from 8-5daily if full and if any guest needs anything there is a 24hour answered "button" next to the office.
Being a small island we typically know all the "walking food vendors" and have enjoyed great ceviche/stuffed jalapeno's/coconut tarts! I personally have not met the vendor selling "special fudge/brownies," however I do now advise our guests to inquire what makes them "special" as
that is "problematic" to say the very least!
All the best!
joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I booked my stay at the Conch Shell Inn almost exclusively based on Trip Advisor reviews.

I wasn't disappointed, at all. Stayed in a ground floor unit, and everything was as it should be. Extremely clean, with the beachy vibe I had hoped for. A table and chairs right outside my door, and I could walk directly into the sand.

Joan and her staff were very accommodating, and the hammocks were a good place to lay out and read.

Exxcellent location, although San Pedro is so small you're not far from anything.

My only concern was the scratchy towels.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a better view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWMtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My first visit to San Pedro and the stay was great! Joan was very accommodating during our visit even inviting us to go with a bunch of her family on a snorkeling day and visit to Caye Caulker. We had a great time and the location can't be beat. The rooms were very cool at night due to the breeze coming off the water and clean. Thanks Eleanor for keeping everything neat and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This was my 2nd trip to San Pedro and it didn't disappoint. The Conch Shell is the perfect place - reasonably priced, good location, good value, great hostess, comfortable rooms, etc. The 2nd floor rooms are preferable given the view and the lovely sea breezes - you don't need AC at all! Joan goes out of her way to make you feel at home - she even checks in periodically to make sure all is well which is much appreciated. We totally enjoyed our stay and look forward to next year - no question we'll be at the Conch Shell!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews