We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmmmm”
Review of Conch Shell Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Conch Shell Inn
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

The room was dirty when we check in. There were trash in the drawers, the lamp bulb was not working. Make sure you ask the room rate $ if you want air conditioning.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turtl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConchShellInn, Owner at Conch Shell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Conch Shell Guest,
There is never an excuse for a dirty room. I know we have been sold out most of the season and our maid/manager has worked very hard to maintain our "western standard" in Belize!
She has received many compliments on trip advisor and personal notes to myself!
We have however had "occasional" help to give her some needed family time off!!
We appreciate your informing us as we have since implemented "checks" to be sure this will never happen again!! Our goal is to insure our guests a fabulous stay on the island which includes a fabulous room at a wonderful rate and to exceed their expectations!!!
If in Belize again, please return for a complimentary night!!
Warm regards,
joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stayed here with a friend and was very impressed. Most hotels in San Pedro are very pricey. This hotel is affordable and a good deal. They have nice clean rooms and it is located right on the beach in the downtown area of San Pedro, walking distance to everything. I made friends with the manager and the owner. I look forward to going back soon. This is not a 5 star resort, but you do have everything that you need and the Inn keeper takes good care of you. It is a little lound at night since it is located downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dougzihua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and I stayed 7 nights at the Conch Shell Inn. This was our first trip to San Pedro and wanted to be right in town so we could walk everywhere. There are 5 rooms on the lower level and 5 on the top with a large veranda. The rooms are simple but very clean and functional. This isn't a fancy resort but who needs all the extra amenities when everything is right in town and just a stroll away. We loved the view in the morning with coffee on the veranda.The only two things I would inform others of is that you will be woken up early. Things start moving in San Pedro around 5:00AM and the sound carries right into your room. Not a big deal, just a warning. The other is that beach towels are not provided so bring your own or buy one in town, that's what we did.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SkippingStoneTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed 8 nights at the Conch Shell Inn. I believe it only has 8 units which is fine by us. The owners, Mark and Joan helped us with information we needed. Eleanor helped us even more as she was around most days. She is a wonderful lady. The Inn is right on the water so has a great location. We stayed in an upstairs room so got a great view. The beds were comfortable, there was a mini fridge to keep our belikins cold, and there was a beautiful deck with chairs and hammocks to read and enjoy the view. It is close to many places to eat and if you want to take any day trip, the water taxis, fishing boats, sail boats, etc. are right in front of you. There can be a bit of noise at night but most nights it was very peaceful. Also, even though it was very warm at night, there were two fans in the room that kept us comfortable. Overall this was a great place to stay. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms give you a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Swandawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel was in a great location. Easy to walk to most places. The hotel was noisy at night. It is close to bars and right on the beach, so you can hear people outside. I slept with ear plugs. The hotel was clean and not fancy, but for the price, it was worth it. I would consider staying here again if I was on a low budget.

Room Tip: I stayed on the lower level. I think the upper level has more to offer, but I never saw the upper le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niklar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Overall the Conch Shell is a wonderful place, if you want to be right in town where all the action is. We were there for 3 weeks (end Feb./ beginning March) and this included Carnival, where we could stand on our verandah and watch it all without leaving our hotel (a tricky undertaking when everyone's throwing paint at each other!). We loved the relaxed vibe and the owner was very attentive and friendly, going out of her way to make us feel welcome and cared for. We had to move downstairs for 2 days (our room upstairs was unavailable for those 2 days when we booked) and perhaps to make up for this the owner Joan offered us 2 days at her beautiful beach house north of San Pedro, which we enjoyed immensely. (It's called the "Blue Dolphin". If you have a large group and perhaps a special occasion I would recommend renting her house. It's fabulous!) The manager at the Conch Shell, Eleanor, was wonderful and accommodating, and kept the place pristine.
We loved the upstairs rooms, with the coffeemaker and microwave, and amazing view from the verandah. Our downstairs room was fine too and had a bigger bathroom (missed the coffeemaker but you can buy coffee 2 doors away, so no problem) .Not as good a view though. Both floors have such a great breeze from the sea that A/C seemed unnecessary, and there's a window in back too so you get a cross draft.
There's a lot going on on the beachfront, but of course this makes it very convenient for water taxis, excursions, restaurants, etc. and you can swim close by in the "green circle". Don't be afraid of the occasional nurse sharks or even stingrays--some are tame, and get out of your way anyway.
It's a great spot for people watching, gazing at the sea, setting out on excursions, reading and getting a good night's sleep due to the VERY comfortable beds. We had a fantastic holiday there and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The staff very pleasant but can't fix the 80 deg temps in the room at night. There was one night spent without sheets on the bed and no hot water. Stay away from people selling food on the beach!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonytr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConchShellInn, Owner at Conch Shell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Conch Shell Guest,
During your one week stay the country of Belize was celebrating "Fiesta de Carnaval"!!
More specifically, the island was celebrating a more intensified version called
"San Pedro Carnival", which is why you may have noticed large sheets of plastic covering
all benches and statues in central park and a majority of businesses!! It is indeed a true celebration starting at 3pm everyday with "Fat Tuesday" being the craziest!! We had been sold
out for months as this is a big tourist attraction and with the community and local group parades it can, and especially the last night, is noisey!! We received many photos from guests having a fabulous time!
Having 10 rooms, 3 chose to use AC during carnival week! Our manager and maintenance checked your unit and also switched it, everytime saying it ran very cool on the lowest setting?
We personally checked on the other two guests using AC and they said "it was working fine".
At check in our manager will now turn on the AC and check back after 1 hour to confirm "all is well," personally with our guests and make sure there is no confusion with operation.
We did indeed have a new commercial washer installed during your week and the hot water was turned off during the process, the next morning it did run out of hot water and turned on immediately after we were informed, we are very sorry for our unfortunate mistake.
Our policy is to change sheets after three days or there is a card in the room to place on your pillow should you need your sheets changed, there is a maid onsite from 8-5daily if full and if any guest needs anything there is a 24hour answered "button" next to the office.
Being a small island we typically know all the "walking food vendors" and have enjoyed great ceviche/stuffed jalapeno's/coconut tarts! I personally have not met the vendor selling "special fudge/brownies," however I do now advise our guests to inquire what makes them "special" as
that is "problematic" to say the very least!
All the best!
joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#37 of 54 in San Pedro
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#25 of 54 in San Pedro
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 54 in San Pedro
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 54 in San Pedro
815 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#24 of 54 in San Pedro
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conch Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conch Shell Inn

Address: 11 Foreshore Street | Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#29 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £29 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Conch Shell hotel awaits you. We are located in the heart of San Pedro Town and are surrounded by the best dive shops, restaurants, bars and tour operators. Enjoy one of our 10 Reef watching renovated rooms. Choose from upstairs rooms with mini-kitchenette and TV or Our Downstairs rooms with mini-fridge. We also have wireless internet available to our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Conch Shell Hotel San Pedro
Conch Shell San Pedro
Conch Shell Inn Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing