We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clearly the best value and location in San Pedro Town!!”
Review of Conch Shell Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Conch Shell Inn
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Murphy, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clearly the best value and location in San Pedro Town!!”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I had a great stay here! The location is perfect if you want to be close to the Dive Shops and in the Heart of San Pedro town. The price is right, accomodations are adequate, it's not a luxury resort with all the bells and whistles, nor does it "pretend" to be! It is however comfortable and you simply cannot beat the location. No A/C but if you need A/C it is available for a small extra charge! The ocean breeze and fans provided enough comfort so I didn't need the A/C. I had a room downstairs but would take one upstairs next time.

I can't say enough good things about the Owners and the staff. Extremely friendly and helpful with lots of good information and advice about San Pedro and Ambergris Caye! Thanks Joan for the conversations and friendship. I will be be back sooner, rather than later, and the Conch Shell Inn is where I will stay again!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a better view and ocean breeze. If you want quiet, ask for a room away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texblondi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    55
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
29
92
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We loved this place. It was reasonably priced and the location cannot be topped. if you want to be in the heart if San Pedro, five steps to everything, you must stay here. We had room #1 upstairs and it was perfect. Nice breeze through the slatted windows and it was on the end so no traffic past your door. Close beside a busy little side street and Cholo's bar so if you want peace and quiet, stay farther outside of the village. The best dive shop, Amigos del Mar, was right out in front as was the water taxi dock. The room had a kitchenette where we cooked most breakfast and lunch meals. Bathroom is tight and the water doesn't always smell so great. no A/C but lots of fans and we didn't miss it. No swimming in front of hotel. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Upper veranda 1 or 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We were on the second floor, the views are great! Very comfortable and close to the bustling downtown area of San Pedro Town. Very clean facility. The owners and staff are very helpful with anything you might want to have or do. We would go back in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 286TomS286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Conch Shell Inn on San Pedro. The location is perfect, right in the middle of everything. We had an upstairs room which moves you above the busy beach and the verandah is a great vantage point for viewing the ocean, boats and general happenings. The boat from Belize City dropped us off at the wharf in front of the Inn. The room was comfortable, spacious and the kitchenette was handy for making morning coffee and keeping fruit in the fridge. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 312802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
162 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is the second year in a row that we spent our spring break at the Conch Shell Inn. The staff is very nice and helpful. Joan set us up with a catamaran ride on the Lady Leslie that was amazing. The hotel itself is amazing as well. It is close to places to eat and drink. The room has plenty of room and a very comfortable bed. It can get warm at night but they have two fans in the room that help a lot. You can't get closer to the ocean than the Inn. It is steps away. You are not paying for a fancy resort here but I don't think I would want to stay anywhere else. If you want a pool, do what we did . We rented bikes for ten bucks for the day and road to fancy resorts with a pool. As long as we bought a drink there we were able to use the pool. Saving well over a hundred dollars a day from the fancy place is worth it to us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swandawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Rented a total of 3 rooms with friends for the majority of the week. Joan and Mark bent over backwards to make sure we were having a good vacation, and the staff was great as well. It can be a bit noisy at times, but I realized I didn't notice it after the first day. Central SP location for restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: Room 1 if you're going for first floor, 6 on the second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This was a great budget choice that turned out to be the highlight of my trip. Stayed in room 5 on the second floor. Clean room and a perfect location in the heart of San Pedro. It got a little loud in the evening but I was there at Carnival so what would you expect. Good fun was had and things did not go on too late anyway. Would recommend Conch Shell to my friends. Belize and this spot were a perfect place for a new romance.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.0 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#26 of 54 in San Pedro
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Hotel
Spindrift Hotel
#45 of 54 in San Pedro
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#24 of 54 in San Pedro
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#40 of 54 in San Pedro
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel La Vista
Hostel La Vista
#9 of 30 in San Pedro
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conch Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conch Shell Inn

Property: Conch Shell Inn
Address: 11 Foreshore Street | Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#29 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Conch Shell hotel awaits you. We are located in the heart of San Pedro Town and are surrounded by the best dive shops, restaurants, bars and tour operators. Enjoy one of our 10 Reef watching renovated rooms. Choose from upstairs rooms with mini-kitchenette and TV or Our Downstairs rooms with mini-fridge. We also have wireless internet available to our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Conch Shell Hotel San Pedro
Conch Shell San Pedro
Conch Shell Inn Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing