We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value!”
Review of Conch Shell Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Conch Shell Inn
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Zweibruecken, Germany
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Good Value!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Thanks Joan for your attentive response to our request for a room, on a last-minute basis. We really enjoyed being near the water, and the close proximity to restaurants and other local hotspots.

The room was very comfortable and spacious! We liked that you provided a fresh pitcher of water, and were so welcoming when we arrived. Even though it is the 'low season,' we were fine with the ceiling and floor fans provided.

The TripAdvisor posts about noise and room temperature are rather on-point. San Pedro is a warm destination, in a partying kind of location. Don't expect a long night's sleep at the Conch Shell - it's near a Reggae Bar which is open late. It's also near a very busy Pier (good and bad: Water Taxi, and Taxi Cabs...but it's walking distance to everything worth seeing!).

The staff was professional and courteous. The price: affordable!! The place: UnBELIZEable!

We would highly recommend the Conch Shell Inn to anyone who is willing to forgo the pretentiousness of fancy Resort Living, and for everyone who loves the Authentic Caribbean lifestyle.

Thanks for a terrific visit ---> we can't wait to see you all again!

Room Tip: We really liked our Room 6 --- South End, away from the Pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauramaymuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    55
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
29
92
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akumal, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

If you want excellent value and service please check out the Conch Shell Inn. You get a clean, confortable beacjfront room at an excellent price. Stay on the 2nd floor for sure.. nice deck and view. Joan and the staff will go out of their way to make sure your trip is fantastic.
I go often from Mexico and usually take the water taxi.. However with Joan's sugestion and reccomendations.. i used a shuttle service from Mexico to Corozal and flew directly into San Pedro.. best way by far, and dont need to spend the extra day the water taxi requires because of departure times..
Again, this isnt a 5star resort.. but if you need a clean place to rest our head with a great friendly staff... then the Conch Shell is you best bet in San Pedro Town

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed here many years ago and will never forget the wonderful staff and beauty of the place and the island! i loved being steps away from the beach. The rooms were a nice size. i liked being on the ground floor. It is esy to get the water taxi from the hotel. I hope to come back someday soon.

Room Tip: Ground floor makes it steps from the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelseyct0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Spent two nights here and it was by far one of the most relaxing experiences ever. A few feet away from the water and a nice view from the second floor. The breeze felt amazing and having a Belikin in a hammock was so perfect. GREAT PLACE!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyBoy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for 1 night in May. Great location right off the Caye Caulker Water Taxi dock. We stayed in an upstairs room that had great views of the water and a good breeze. The beds were super comfy. The bathroom and shower area were made of glass block, so hopefully you’re comfortable with your fellow travelers because it was pretty see through. They stored my luggage for me after check out as I was on a snorkel trip until after check-out time. They also had a little outdoor shower that I was able to use to rinse the salt water off when I picked up my luggage. Personally I prefer Caye Caulker to San Pedro (didn’t see the rest of Ambergris Caye), but if I did visit again I would definitely stay here. The location and staff were perfect!

Room Tip: Upstairs, end (far left or far right) units had the best views and the Hammocks in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in a ground floor room. Overall we had a good stay and enjoyed being here.

The hotel is near the centre of town, just of the jetty for the Caye Caulker water taxi. This is good to be near all the restaurants snd activities, but it can be a bit noisy. It is also smack on the beach, with the sea just 10 yards from the door.

The room itself was big with two beds. There was no air con but the windows have slat shutters that you can leave partly open to take advantage of the sea breeze. Despite no aircon we were not too hot at night. The room was very clean and was cleaned daily to remove all the sand we had dragged in from the beach.

The shower room is basic and the shower was OK (although a bit more water pressure would be nice). A jug of purified water was also provided for us on arrival.

In front of the room are hammocks and loungers for the shared use of hotel guests. These were great to relax in during the heat of the day.

The hotel doesn't do breakfasts but there are plenty of places nearby to eat overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Bogtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at Conch Shell twice in the last month. I found it to be an excellent bargain and met all my needs. Room was clean and staff was friendly and very accommodating. Location is great for people watching and is very centrally located. Had many emails back and forth with owner and found her to be very prompt in making arrangements. I will stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend it to someone who is looking for a basic clean and comfortable room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConchShellInn, Owner at Conch Shell Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Appreciated Conch Shell Guest,
Thank you so much for making our day. Having wonderful guests, like yourself, provides such positive energy to exceed our guests expectations and keeps everyone smiling!!
We will look forward for the opportunity to host your stay in the future!
Warm regards,
joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.0 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Hotel
Spindrift Hotel
#44 of 54 in San Pedro
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#24 of 54 in San Pedro
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#41 of 54 in San Pedro
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel La Vista
Hostel La Vista
#9 of 30 in San Pedro
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conch Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conch Shell Inn

Property: Conch Shell Inn
Address: 11 Foreshore Street | Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#29 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Conch Shell hotel awaits you. We are located in the heart of San Pedro Town and are surrounded by the best dive shops, restaurants, bars and tour operators. Enjoy one of our 10 Reef watching renovated rooms. Choose from upstairs rooms with mini-kitchenette and TV or Our Downstairs rooms with mini-fridge. We also have wireless internet available to our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Conch Shell Hotel San Pedro
Conch Shell San Pedro
Conch Shell Inn Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing