We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Local Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conch Shell Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Conch Shell Inn
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Local Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

The Conch Shell Hotel is just what it claims to be. It is small and on the water. The rooms are very clean with all the basic necessities you need. It is not fancy but the beds are comfortable, the TV is satellite, the shower has good water pressure, the fridge works and the "upgrade" of an AC is not really needed because of the sea breeze. I looked at the rooms with kitchens and they are upstairs and a little nicer. The kitchen only has a microwave for cooking but there are dishes. The place is small and the manager was great. He stays in one of the rooms so he is always available. He brought out hammocks when needed and kept the place really nice. The coolest thing is the whole price/location quotient. It is right in the middle of town and whlie it may not be the cheapest (I didn't do a lot of comparison shopping in this range) it is really inexpensive. Of all the places around for the money it is the best. It is really close to a bunch of nice places to eat and buy things you need. I am a diver and it is right next to most of the dive operations. I really liked it and would recommend it for anyone looking for a reasonable and nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sleepydeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    54
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
29
91
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2009

We absolutely loved our time at the Conch Shell. My boyfriend and I dont look for much in rooms and usually spend our money in our experience. Alex was the nicest man and our first friend of the island. He was immediate with assistance and was extremely helpful and kind. The rooms were cleaned by the time we got back. the hammock was amazing. The location was the in the heart of the city but still maintained a sweet boutique feel.

Our only issue was not a terrible one. Any hotel right on the beach in the humidity we were dealing with probably has the same issues in San Pedro. We had a LOT of ants in our room. We could temporarily handle the issue, but they would always come back. They didnt change our sheets once while we were there, but i think you can get that done upon request.

Other than that- i still call it the last cute place on the island. If you want to steer clear from the all inclusive feel and enjoy the island the proper way- stay here.

If you stay here, i would recomend you bring your own towels.

Thanks Alex for a phenomenal trip! we are looking forward to returning soon. now, take a vacation- you deserve it!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kobawalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2009

We came San Pedro on Marsh 30th and met the properitor, Alex, he was fabulous. Alex helped us with all our needs, We would advise you to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pollysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Pete
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

The Conch Shell Inn is a quant hotel located directly on the water with a beautiful beach in front. We had a wonderful stay. The rooms were clean and each had it’s own refrigerator. The location was fantastic, within walking distance to great restaurant and local shopping.

  • Liked — Location/wireless
  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Side_Laker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

We stayed at the Conch Shell Inn for a couple of nights in February. Having never been to San Pedro before, we got the low down from a couple of friends who had been there. One of the things they mentioned was the noise, since it is right in the hub of the activity on the beach. I brought earplugs. I didn't need to use them as I didn't think the noise was that bad. There was some early morning activity as the merchants got ready for the day but, other than that, no big deal. If you want something quieter, go further away from the center of activity.

The rooms at the Conch Shell were very clean and had everything you would need for coffee and light snacks. Mini fridge was handy for keeping the Belikins cold. Beds are really comfortable. I liked the second floor as the view was better from up there and great for people watching. Close to everything and the owners were very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely stay there again as I felt it was a great value for the location.

Side Note: (Funny thing is we went over to Caye Caulker for a night and stayed in a place that made a jail cell look plush. Not only that, there were a couple of drunks sitting outside of our window on Caye Caulker for hours and, of course, I forgot the earplugs.)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jondska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake norman NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

Our last three nights in Belize we stayed here and out of the 3 places in San Pedro and 2 in other locations, hands down the best value for our money. The place is practically brand new with architectural design included.

We had a middle upper room which does have a shared balcony but never found it to be a problem. I mean, most people are here to dive or just plain cool chill people. The only knock I would give and mentioned it to the owners (who are around incase you need them) is that the towels need to be larger. After saying it I had to laugh at that was my only complaint.

There is some street traffic but if you close the window in the bathroom that disappears. The beach side does get a little noisy but you are going to be finding that pretty much anywhere in the middle of town.

Did I mention posturepedic beds?... By far the best matress we stayed on all trip. NICE!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKN_Rydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

this is a great place-clean comfy and centrally located.the manager,monica,was great and helpful.the only problems i had were the noise-the windows are metal blinds and don't keep much noise or light out.other than that it was great!perfect for college students or people that like to stay out late

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovesanpedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.0 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#25 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.0 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Tang Inn
Blue Tang Inn
#1 of 21 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conch Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conch Shell Inn

Property: Conch Shell Inn
Address: 11 Foreshore Street | Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#28 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Conch Shell hotel awaits you. We are located in the heart of San Pedro Town and are surrounded by the best dive shops, restaurants, bars and tour operators. Enjoy one of our 10 Reef watching renovated rooms. Choose from upstairs rooms with mini-kitchenette and TV or Our Downstairs rooms with mini-fridge. We also have wireless internet available to our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Conch Shell Hotel San Pedro
Conch Shell San Pedro
Conch Shell Inn Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing