We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Worst experience there.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conch Shell Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Conch Shell Inn
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
San Ignacio, Belize
Level Contributor
276 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Worst experience there.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

They have a great location, and I've heard that they have done a refurbishment on the property, and they are inexpensive, which is why we used to take student groups out there. But the last time we used them, well I'll copy what I put on a forum post.

I usually chime in here since we used this hotel a few times for school groups. This was pre-renovation, and if they got a new caretaker with the new look, then they might have it together. They tried to screw us royally once, in fact they did since the rates they gave us over the phone were jacked up once we got there. We had no choice but to use them since we had every room there and at another hotel. They gave us no service, and didn't even give us some sets of keys. When we left, they tried to charge us for the keys. They obviously didn't realize how they were ultimately hurting themselves since we would never take a group there again. But the caretaker was about the most ornery person in Belize, and deserves a bad review. Come on, screwing a Catholic junior college!

On principle, I would highly recommend not using them for your stay.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrFeelAwesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConchShellInn, Owner at Conch Shell Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Dear Group Leader,
Just "for the record", we became owners May, 2008 and after a large renovation, rented our first rooms in late June, 2008! After your review was initially posted (I was crushed and writing a management response was foreign) I personally took time to locate, call and email. I also offered a fabulous deal to any future groups and offered yourself a complimentary stay to check us out. It has been 3 years and we have never met.
Being totally uninvolved with your experience but totally affected by your review I would sincerely hope, as a leader/teacher/mentor to our youth, that you might find the time to take us up on our offer to write another review!

"Just for the record" the previous owner is one of the most lovely individuals to walk the island, so your comments, from 5 years ago are still a "head scratcher". Your timing, being on the cusp of selling/closing a family home/business of over 30years is most likely the culprit!
Looking forward to hosting your stay in the very near future!
joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    53
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
28
88
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2010

Close to everything. It's a little loud outside, but you'll get the same noise from any of the hotels along the beach. Excellent price - big rooms, and internet! Just right for people who don't need a lot of luxury,

Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SnickersMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal Quebec
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

My friend and I stayed at the Conch Shell Inn for four nights and would have stayed forty more. The location is right on the beach in the heart of town. The rooms are very reasonable and spotless. We had a ceiling and a floor fan and found no need of a/c. The staff were lovely and helpful. There were interesting places to eat and shop within easy walking distance. The beds were posturepedic (excellent), tv an endless choice of English programming. There were many handy places to grab coffee/buns each morning and water pressure perfect. Sitting on the beach and on the verandah were perfect viewing for weather (there was a hurricane south, then north of us). Swimming is not far away. Many fish can be seen from the dock out front. Wish I was there now!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattimontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wylie, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

We stayed here for part of the beach leg of our Belize vacation. The rooms are fairly nice, with plenty of space, but there is no air conditioner, and the one they give you for $20 BZ a night doesn’t cool all that much, but it helps a tiny little bit if you stand right in front of it. The doors have wide gaps, and don't close well, neither did the windows. We paid a little extra to get second-floor rooms (to avoid roaches and things like that).

The bathrooms are in the room, but the walls are made out of glass blocks, so not all that private. They distort a bit, but not enough. Internet access is available, and it was nice for us, on the second floor, to be able to sit out on the porch of our room and watch the waves, birds and people. It was also nice to have a small refrigerator so we could make our own drinks.

Staff was willing to help us with some problems we had, so I give them a handshake, although the reason for this is probably because they weren't busy at all (we stayed in slow-season).

I felt as though the prices were about $15 a night too high for the features of the hotel (for the base room, not including the extra $20 BZ for the air conditioners). The rooms desperately need window unit air conditioners, and perhaps small renovations here and there to help with the gaps in the doors and windows. I think we will book elsewhere next time, however, unless these defects are fixed.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

I stayed at the Conch Shell 3 times prior to the new owners because of the location. I returned in 2009 and really liked the new renovations. Alex was great and always there to help you. He worked 24/7. The room was clean, great view, close to everything, had a microwave, small fridge, and cable TV. The beds were comfortable and since it is right on the ocean, a fan is sufficient. Since I am a diver, I like that it is right by Amigos del Mar. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diverMinneapolis_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

The Conch Shell is a recently renovated hotel located right on the beach. It is one of the least expensive options on the island of San Pedro but you wouldn't know it from your stay - fresh, spacious, clean rooms all face directly out towards the Caribbean. The owner went out of her way to accommodate our special needs. As a bonus, part of the proceeds from the hotel go towards supporting a local dental clinic. There is no A/C but the windows and many fans do a great job of cooling the room down. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the island.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backpacker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

The Hotel is on a great location right on the beach and in the center of san pedro. The views of the caribbean sea from the balcony are unbeatable. There are some bars nearby, so it can be a little loud at nights.
The rooms were very clean and really spacious. The beds by the way were really great (as advertised on their homepage...)
The only thing i didn t like was the airconditioning, it was a mobile unit, which was very loud and not very efficient. But it cooled down enough for the night and i would not use it by day anyway. The room was also equipped with 2 Fans.
The wireless Internet for my surprise worked really good, quite fast and allowing to skype.
Nata, the Hotel manager was doing a great job. She helped me to organise trips and my ongoing travel to san ignacio, including booking a taxi on the main land, a flight to belize city (it only costed half the price i paid, when i organized it on my own) and a nice hotel. She knows a lot about Belize and San pedro and had good connections also outside san Pedro. She was very helpful and always close by.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.0 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#24 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.0 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#18 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Tang Inn
Blue Tang Inn
#1 of 21 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conch Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conch Shell Inn

Property: Conch Shell Inn
Address: 11 Foreshore Street | Beach Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#29 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Conch Shell hotel awaits you. We are located in the heart of San Pedro Town and are surrounded by the best dive shops, restaurants, bars and tour operators. Enjoy one of our 10 Reef watching renovated rooms. Choose from upstairs rooms with mini-kitchenette and TV or Our Downstairs rooms with mini-fridge. We also have wireless internet available to our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Conch Shell Hotel San Pedro
Conch Shell San Pedro
Conch Shell Inn Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing