We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't say enough good things about it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Caribbean Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Caribbean Resort
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't say enough good things about it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

My friends and I really enjoyed our stay at Royal Caribbean Resort. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms were great! Slept all 3 comfortably, air conditioned, large bathrooms and cable. We have no complaints.

We will for sure return and stay at Royal Caribbean again.
Marva was an awesome bartender and friend on our visit...can't say enough about her and her willingness to help us with plans for the day, restaurants and anything else we needed!!! She totally looked out for us. She is enough of a reason for anyone to go back and stay. Gilbert who manages the complex was also very friendly, and super helpful. Thanks for the tips on where to eat and where to hang at night.

If you are looking for a fun friendly place to stay book here!
And make sure to sit and chat with Marva and Gilbert!!!!
Texas misses you guys!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smac1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    99
    30
    15
    6
See reviews for
48
107
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

Very cute little individual cabanas. Very clean. Has bathroom, and small kitchenette. Cute and comfortable. However, very far from town. You can rent a golf cart, which is slightly pricey, but cabs are pretty cheap. No restaurant, but there is a bar next to the pool. The pool was unfortunately green while we were there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oils1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

Each of the rooms were self enclosed in little houses/casitas. They had a kitchenette, small living room, bedroom area, bathroom. The bathroom had a wall separating it from the bedroom but the wall did not go up to the ceiling so there was no privacy. Beach was non-existent but apparently that is the norm in Ambergris Caye. You could not swim into the water from the beach as it was full of rocks and grass and even some garbage. There was plastic tarp surrounding part of the pool area so this place definitely needed work. There was free wi-fi in the office but it did not extend to the rooms. The hotel was a bit far from town but taxis were cheap. You cannot rent a car on the island, only golf carts which I thought were completely overpriced at approximately $60USD per day. The air-conditioning in the rooms were good but they made it so you cannot leave them on if you are not in the room, which is good because it saves electricity. Wasn't a big deal because once you turned it on the room cooled off very quickly. The staff was friendly and very nice. I probably would not stay here again due to the proximity to town and the lack of beach.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCSpark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

This was our type of place: Freestanding room with kitchenette. The bathroom was modern and clean. The bed was firm, just how I like it. The kitchenette had a microwave, coffee maker with coffee and creamer, a refrigerator, and a sink with drain board. There was even a set of dishes and silverware. I enjoy being able to keep ice and drinks at hand. The refrig also gives us the option of not having to throw great food away if we have left overs at a good restaurant. The resort also has a giant swimming pool, on site bar, and nice beach front with chase lounges and palaypas. We rented a golf cart to get around the island which was delivered right to the facility. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fongball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

Very affordable but expect to rent a golf cart for the duration of your stay. Quiet, clean, great place for families.. Beach has washed away but still useable. Fantastic staff.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluehowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

This was our second trip to Ambergris Caye, but the first trip with our children so pool & beach were very important to us, which is why we picked this hotel.

The beach is so dirty with construction garbage from the resort - broken tiles, rebar, concrete blocks...that it is unsafe to walk on. About 2 feet from high tide they have started constructing some sort of retaining wall with bags of the above mentioned construction garbage - this traps the sea grass and makes for a great smell. Half way down the pier that have continued on with this effective disposal method and put in what they are calling a man made reef. Ok, should you manage to get down the handleless ladder into the water, the reef is really just bags of construction garbage spilling out into ocean. We were told by friends than live in San Pedro that the town has issued a stop work order & insisted that they clean/repair the beach & shore.
So that left us with the pool - so we thought. The pool had some issues with the filter. We could use it 1 day...the rest of our stay it was too green to use - we couldn't tell that there was a pattern on the bottom! Everyone that worked there was so apologic about the pool, but the owner - whom we saw 2 or 3 times a day didn't saw a word about it.
I really thought the cabana were great - the right size for our family, and it was nice to not worry about kids making too much noise as the cabanas were detached. The cabanas didn't have their own safe, but there was one in the office...
Marva that work in the beach bar was great! People that had stayed at the RCR last year came back to see her, even though they were staying at a different resort. Great staff!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

With all the hotels to choose from on Ambergris Caye, do yourself a favor and avoid this hotel at all costs. My husband and I went there to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and on each and every day experienced enormous frustration at the Royal Caribbean. We thought that it looked like a cute little no-frills place to stay (my husband and I are both experienced world travelers and look for good value, low cost accommodation so we can spend our money on great food and adventures). Well, in my younger days, I've stayed in youth hostels that provide 10x the service as RCR. This was our first trip to Belize, and we felt like we were constantly being fleeced by the dishonesty and negligence of the staff (and owner) or this hotel -- whilst there, a tropical storm came through and while I could go into 1000 words of explicit detail, suffice it to say that the hotel left us on our own, with no direction. We finally found a concrete hotel (Coconut Beach) to move into for the night, and when we arrived, discovered after speaking with many other travelers who had come there for the evening from other (non-hurricane equipped hotels), that ALL of their hotels had found them the replacement hotel, had comped them on the alternative accommodations, and provided them free shuttle service to the new hotel. RCR on the other hand, waited so late to start making arrangements for us, that we barely got the last room at Coconut Beach, RCR had no intention of paying for our night there, AND to top it off, the front desk manager's boyfriend took us and another couple to CB, which was about 100 meters up the road, and promptly demanded $20 US DOLLARS for the ride, refusing to leave until we gave it to him. This is just an example of how poorly run this hotel is, and how little they value their customers. (I have so many more examples (eg broken bathroom doors, non-working electronics, spotty restaurant service, etc but am running out room... ) We weren't looking for concierge service, just a reliable resource and decent service. We received neither, and my frustration and anger with the hotel (on a daily basis, there was something that went wrong...) almost ruined our trip. We will go back to Belize, but next time will absolutely stay at Coconut Beach. The staff there were incredibly nice, honest and the accommodations were just as good if not better than RCR for the same price.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BazMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.8 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#31 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#36 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Caribbean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Caribbean Resort

Property: Royal Caribbean Resort
Address: 1 Seagrape Street | Ambergris Caye, Belize, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#30 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Caribbean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Royal Caribbean Resort in Belize. Situated a mile south of San Pedro town on Ambergris Caye, we offer quaint rows of tropical cabanas, manicured grounds, large beachfront freshwater pool and a pristine secluded white sandy beach. Our unique Belize resort offers unobstructed views of the Barrier Reef which is less than one mile from our beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Caribbean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Caribbean Hotel San Pedro
Royal Caribbean San Pedro
Royal Caribbean Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing