We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place, can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Caribbean Resort
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Place, can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My friends and I had a wonderful vacation because of the hospitality at Royal Caribbean Resort. Marva the bartender is absolutely wonderful to talk to and gave us excellent recommendations on places to eat. You need to pick her brain when you stay here! Gilbert was also willing to help us even when he was "off duty". The service can't be beat here! The room fit the three of us comfortably with a small kitchenette and a small sitting area around the TV with cable. The location was far from town but we took taxis the whole time and the cost was 10 belize dollars each way plus tip. We didn't rent a golf cart because it was TOO expensive even divided by the three of us.

The place didn't have a restaurant but no worries, next door has a great restaurant we went too and it's a short walk on the beach away.

Overall I would definately stay here again. Marva and Gilbert can't be beat!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thinkpink791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    101
    31
    15
    7
See reviews for
50
111
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

My friends and I really enjoyed our stay at Royal Caribbean Resort. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms were great! Slept all 3 comfortably, air conditioned, large bathrooms and cable. We have no complaints.

We will for sure return and stay at Royal Caribbean again.
Marva was an awesome bartender and friend on our visit...can't say enough about her and her willingness to help us with plans for the day, restaurants and anything else we needed!!! She totally looked out for us. She is enough of a reason for anyone to go back and stay. Gilbert who manages the complex was also very friendly, and super helpful. Thanks for the tips on where to eat and where to hang at night.

If you are looking for a fun friendly place to stay book here!
And make sure to sit and chat with Marva and Gilbert!!!!
Texas misses you guys!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smac1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Very cute little individual cabanas. Very clean. Has bathroom, and small kitchenette. Cute and comfortable. However, very far from town. You can rent a golf cart, which is slightly pricey, but cabs are pretty cheap. No restaurant, but there is a bar next to the pool. The pool was unfortunately green while we were there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oils1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Each of the rooms were self enclosed in little houses/casitas. They had a kitchenette, small living room, bedroom area, bathroom. The bathroom had a wall separating it from the bedroom but the wall did not go up to the ceiling so there was no privacy. Beach was non-existent but apparently that is the norm in Ambergris Caye. You could not swim into the water from the beach as it was full of rocks and grass and even some garbage. There was plastic tarp surrounding part of the pool area so this place definitely needed work. There was free wi-fi in the office but it did not extend to the rooms. The hotel was a bit far from town but taxis were cheap. You cannot rent a car on the island, only golf carts which I thought were completely overpriced at approximately $60USD per day. The air-conditioning in the rooms were good but they made it so you cannot leave them on if you are not in the room, which is good because it saves electricity. Wasn't a big deal because once you turned it on the room cooled off very quickly. The staff was friendly and very nice. I probably would not stay here again due to the proximity to town and the lack of beach.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCSpark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

This was our type of place: Freestanding room with kitchenette. The bathroom was modern and clean. The bed was firm, just how I like it. The kitchenette had a microwave, coffee maker with coffee and creamer, a refrigerator, and a sink with drain board. There was even a set of dishes and silverware. I enjoy being able to keep ice and drinks at hand. The refrig also gives us the option of not having to throw great food away if we have left overs at a good restaurant. The resort also has a giant swimming pool, on site bar, and nice beach front with chase lounges and palaypas. We rented a golf cart to get around the island which was delivered right to the facility. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fongball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Very affordable but expect to rent a golf cart for the duration of your stay. Quiet, clean, great place for families.. Beach has washed away but still useable. Fantastic staff.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluehowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

This was our second trip to Ambergris Caye, but the first trip with our children so pool & beach were very important to us, which is why we picked this hotel.

The beach is so dirty with construction garbage from the resort - broken tiles, rebar, concrete blocks...that it is unsafe to walk on. About 2 feet from high tide they have started constructing some sort of retaining wall with bags of the above mentioned construction garbage - this traps the sea grass and makes for a great smell. Half way down the pier that have continued on with this effective disposal method and put in what they are calling a man made reef. Ok, should you manage to get down the handleless ladder into the water, the reef is really just bags of construction garbage spilling out into ocean. We were told by friends than live in San Pedro that the town has issued a stop work order & insisted that they clean/repair the beach & shore.
So that left us with the pool - so we thought. The pool had some issues with the filter. We could use it 1 day...the rest of our stay it was too green to use - we couldn't tell that there was a pattern on the bottom! Everyone that worked there was so apologic about the pool, but the owner - whom we saw 2 or 3 times a day didn't saw a word about it.
I really thought the cabana were great - the right size for our family, and it was nice to not worry about kids making too much noise as the cabanas were detached. The cabanas didn't have their own safe, but there was one in the office...
Marva that work in the beach bar was great! People that had stayed at the RCR last year came back to see her, even though they were staying at a different resort. Great staff!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.8 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#30 of 54 in San Pedro
563 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#36 of 54 in San Pedro
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,015 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#40 of 54 in San Pedro
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#37 of 54 in San Pedro
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Caribbean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Caribbean Resort

Property: Royal Caribbean Resort
Address: 1 Seagrape Street | Ambergris Caye, Belize, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#30 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Caribbean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Royal Caribbean Resort in Belize. Situated a mile south of San Pedro town on Ambergris Caye, we offer quaint rows of tropical cabanas, manicured grounds, large beachfront freshwater pool and a pristine secluded white sandy beach. Our unique Belize resort offers unobstructed views of the Barrier Reef which is less than one mile from our beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Caribbean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Caribbean Hotel San Pedro
Royal Caribbean San Pedro
Royal Caribbean Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing