We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff, very helpful, like a part of my family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Caribbean Resort
Ranked #34 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing staff, very helpful, like a part of my family”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here for a week. The receptionist Gilbert gave amazing service. Rooms are big and comfy. I would come back here in a heartbeat. They have golf carts you can rent daily or weekly that are well priced. The beach in front is the same as what you would expect in San Pedro.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    101
    31
    15
    8
See reviews for
50
111
26
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The resort is a bunch of cute little private bungalows with great amenities, nestled on the beach. The location was perfect - a little south of town for privacy, but close enough to enjoy everything San Pedro has to offer without eating a bunch of time traveling from point to point. The staff were awesome and super friendly. Loved our stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great hotel depending on your goals in San Pedro. Located 10 minutes (by bike) outside of San Pedro's downtown core and a 30 minutes (by bike) south of the Palapa Bar (north island), the RCR is secluded enough to be homey, but still close to great restuarants. A personal favourite was 'La Provencia Dominical' for casual meals and 'Hidden Treasure Restaurant' for a nice dinner.
Service was excellent, Gilbert gave great tips on how to take part in the town's local festivals. Rooms were clean and well maintained with a/c, tv, and a mini fridge.
The only compaint I had was no safe in the room, forcing us to carry our valuables, and no wifi in the rooms. These two small things wouldn't stop us from going back.
Great overall atmosphere and great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We loved it here. The pool is large, very clean and deep (very little of that 3 foot deep "safety" pool stuff). The beach is always kept clean. You get your own separate quiet bungalow with fridge, microwave, & very good air conditioning. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially Gilbert, the manager. (Helpful travel Tip for RCR: Bring Gilbert any souvenir that relates to the San Antonio Spurs, and he'll take extra good care of you). Perfect location - it's far enough from town that you feel like you're in a secluded part of the Caye. But you are withing walking distance to some great restaurants and markets. Rent the bikes for the day and you can pretty much cover every part of San Pedro. If your lazy, rent one of the golf carts. For the money, this is the absolute best place to stay - couples & families alike. If you want to party late nights, hang around a crowded pool, be next to all the expensive restaurants and dive shops, the RCR is NOT for you.
Note: The majority of the beaches on Ambergris Caye are not what I would call "swimable" due to the sea grass, which keeps the ecological surroundings very natural and pristine, so don't expect to be jumping in the surf at RCR, except for a swim area on the dock.
Don't pass this place up !!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pete f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Firstly, I am not giving the resort 5 stars because I am not sure if the issues I am going to write about have anything to do with it being "off season." The customer service,cabanas and the pool were the best thing about the resort. The beach was never cleaned of sea grass or the Man-of-Wars that washed up along the beach. The street side is nothing to see even though when the trees grow taller, the park area will be beautiful and hide the view of the water tower and commercial buildings in plain view. The poolside bar was closed and I was looking forward to that, and there were men constantly painting, building structures and cleaning. Again I realize this is off season and can only compare this resort to one of the higher end ones I stayed at before. We pretty much paid for a cabana and a pool, so it will depend on what you expect while on vacation.
Good Stuff: The pool is large, crystal clear and my Hubby and I had it to ourselves. The little "lagoon" on the far end of the beach has little tropical fish and thousands of hermit crabs to marvel at. The air conditioning in the cabanas will freeze you to death-in a good way and there is plenty of hot water for the showers. Only issue is the ceiling for the bathroom does not go to the top so anyone in the cabana can hear your business. Bring a few safety pins for the curtains because they are usually clipped to the side-if you want some privacy. All-in-all it was a great stay because I love San Pedro. If you want quiet, secluded simplicity this is your place. It would have been even better with that beach side bar ;)

Room Tip: Try to book close to the beach. Rent a golf cart, because it is a further walk from town then you th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluepill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We changed our plans last minute and headed to San Pedro for a 2 night stay at Royal Caribbean. We definitely enjoyed our own little cottage and found the value for money at this hotel was great. They were very helpful with local suggestions of restaurants and activities and we found it easy to call cabs and walk to nearby restaurants. The hotel is south of San Pedro so if you are headed into town it is a $10 Belize cab ride or you can rent golf carts to drive in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chukes17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I'm a 33 year old woman, traveling by myself and had such a wonderful experience at Royal Caribbean from the time I booked to the time I left.

They helped me plan all of my diving trips and golf-cart rental - everything they handled was perfect, enjoyable and professional. All of their tour partners were amazing as well!

The resort itself was awesome. My only complaint was there was no bar/restaruant so, when I wanted something close-by (without going the couple miles into town) I had to walk a few doors down to a neighboring hotel. However, I believe they are currently in the process of building a restaurant/bar - so that should hopefully not be an issue for long.

The place was clean and, as a single traveler, I felt perfectly safe.

It is a little ways from town so you need to rent a golf cart (about $70 USD a day) or take cabs ($5 USD each way) if you want to go to town. But the good part of that is that it's a little more private. So it just depends what you want. If you want to walk everywhere and have tons of conveniences...you may want to stay closer to town. But that's not out of any fault of the Royal Caribbean. If you want something a little more private, with lots of space (each room is it's own cottage with mini-kitchen), than this is definitely the place for you!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kasi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.8 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
793 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#31 of 53 in San Pedro
565 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#25 of 53 in San Pedro
177 reviews
2.4 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#19 of 53 in San Pedro
295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#36 of 53 in San Pedro
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Caribbean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Caribbean Resort

Property: Royal Caribbean Resort
Address: 1 Seagrape Street | Ambergris Caye, Belize, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#19 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#32 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Caribbean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Royal Caribbean Resort in Belize. Situated a mile south of San Pedro town on Ambergris Caye, we offer quaint rows of tropical cabanas, manicured grounds, large beachfront freshwater pool and a pristine secluded white sandy beach. Our unique Belize resort offers unobstructed views of the Barrier Reef which is less than one mile from our beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Caribbean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Caribbean Hotel San Pedro
Royal Caribbean San Pedro
Royal Caribbean Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing