We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Caribbean Resort
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
WA
1 review
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Clean, friendly, private place to stay. We walked to town each day and then came back to the peacefulness of the beach and our cabin. We are planning on returning next year!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWheelerWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    101
    31
    15
    7
See reviews for
50
111
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2009

The cabanas on RCR are nice and clean. Good A/C, but maids will turn it off if you're out on excursions. So don't expect your room to be cold when you return. But room cools nicely. Pool is nice with good cool water. No phone in room. Must make calls for excursions at the front desk, or be at the mercy of your cell company. The staff is extremely helpful and will do their best to arrange anything you like. Be advised that they are trying to help though, and don't actually set up or run the trips. So if you can't get one, it's not their fault. If you want to dive The Blue Hole, make it your first priority to set that up on arrival. It is a long boat ride with much fuel expense, so they must have enough people to go.
The restaurant has good food, but is expensive. However, just about everywhere is expensive to eat. Get the chicken club for lunch, very good! Be prepared to spend more on food than you expect. Also, only like one or two places to get breakfast (eggs, etc), and they are in town and usually can't be reached before a morning excursion. Food, drinks, etc in stores are much higher than home. Use the grocery closest to the resort. They had much better prices than the big places, and much more friendly. Just walk up the road and when you see the sign for "The Hidden Treasure" restaurant, take a left and it's the other side of the street from there. Local Rum is cheap $5-$8US for a fifth. If you're like me and like the almighty Jaegerbombs, expect to pay $45US for a liter and around $3 per 8oz of red bull-OUCH that hurt!
The walk to town is long and hot. Get a golfcart if you can swing it, but is expensive. Or take a cab. Should be no more than $10BZE/$5US day OR night. Be sure you have that straight before you get in the cab. Once we had a cab tell us $15BZE cause it was nighttime, and it's only a 2 mile ride?
Fishing- you will catch a lot on the reef, but nothing big. Was very disappointed after reading so much about it on the internet. Did see a manatee one day in a channel though, pretty cool. It is very hyped up. Flats fishing you will get some bonefish, but you'll be lucky to see a permit or even tarpon. Expect small baracuda to fill the gaps of time between bonefish. Again, with fishing being my #1 hobby, was very disappointed after reading all the hype. Cost should be $250US/day plus tip. Many will bring a mate too, so you have to include tipping them. Thinking back, I should have told them not to bring the mate cause I like doing everything myself anyway. Many of the guides on ambergriscaye.com aren't even in business anymore, so don't think you'll get less than 250/day. Did not go offshore, as there just doesn't seem to be enough knowledge of it yet there, and didn't want to risk it at 600-700/day. Also, the RCR dock isn't much and surrounded by turtle grass, so not much shore fishing here. However, by Belize law you are allowed to walk within 66ft of the water. You don't have to worry about going through peoples backyards or other resort property. It is legal unlike the USA. Try going a little north early in the morning and you may get some bonefish along the Victoria House property and beyond, as there are some good breaks in the grass. Be patient as you may have to wait for a school. Bring some small jigheads and bait the ends with shrimp and you wont' need to go on a flats trip, you'll have one right there.
Maya Ruins-Everybody seemed to like a lot. A very hot day usually, so be warned. Also, the ride to and from the mainland can be VERY rough if the winds have kicked up. Be prepared for a pounding if you get a rough day. Get to go to a real village also and jungle resort for lunch. Suggest the horseback ride. $15US and it's pretty fun, but sometimes the horses like to run so be ready!
EVERYBODY wants a tip in this country!!! Ask someone to take your picture, tip. One guy even started speaking a poem to my girlfriend and wanted a tip when I didn't even ask him? Be forewarned.
Definitely do the Chicken Drop, it's pretty amusing! Wednesday at 6pm. Also, if you are on eastern time, the time difference is 2 hrs now, not 1. People have got up too early for trips cause they thought this.
SNUBA is awesome if you want to snorkle, etc. They take you snuba for about 45 minutes, then they take you snorkling at the Shark Ray alley. Swim with nurse sharks, big rays, jacks, blue tangs, etc. THE BEST EXCURSION WE DID ALL WEEK. Probably worth to do twice even?
I hope this was helpful cause I had a lot of questions still when I went and couldn't seem to get answers to all of them.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brgman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

Enjoyed everything.....especially the staff who helped us alot. Patti, Nando, Nick, Rachael, Jennifer and Dave. This is Monika here from Maryland and if u r reading this I hope to visit again. The rooms were the best for privacy and the feeling of home. Could even get alot of channels on the tv. Can't go to most countries and this be true. I just wanted to read my books, finish writing my play and enjoy my husband and our 17yr anniversary. The bikes were fun and adventurous, but can hurt your butt if u ride too long. The golf carts were'nt as exciting but safe. No stop lights in this town....no need, everyone is courteous of one another. One lady found a big Starfish on the resort and she showed it to us. Bowling was fun. Hello Candy and Sho (not Joe) love u guys will submit picture later. Sho makes the best rum punch. This place and the people who work there is like home away from home. If you want privacy and peace without the busy crowds and noise...then this is the place to stay. Visit Suzanna's restaurant El Fogol for the best Hog fish dinner. You will not get this served at a tourist restaurant...no. This is a local favorite dish served with rice and beans. I was in blissful land with no cell phone or caller ID present. Enjoyed the church "The Living Word". It's always good to praise the Lord. Hopefully one day I can return. Traveling to Belize City was fun on water taxi, 15.00 US dollars roundtrip per person. Most activities were abit expensive but hey if u can swing it......swing.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monikasugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2009

We stayed with my 14-year old son only two nights out of the planned 6. Earlier reviews agree on and are correct about the cleanliness of the cabanas and the friendliness of the staff. And that is roughly where the good things stop. RCR is the very last resort on the way out of San Pedro town and quiet, no doubt. It is far enough to make even getting groceries a separate morning program. The resort itself is pretty barren: instead of the lush vegetation you would expect at an exotic vacation spot like this, there are 3 palm trees slowly falling into the sea at the beach - the rest is more like saplings that may make for a nice tropical garden in 4-5 years or so. The huge concrete swimming pool sits in the middle of nowhere with no shades, vegetation or, in fact, anything close by.

But the most annoying problem is the complete lack of access to the sea. Why would you want to fly thousands of miles for a large concrete hole in the ground filled with fresh water? At the beach sea grass is only part of the problem. The real annoyance is the depth of the water: to your ankles. And then there is the pier, at the end of which somebody cleaned the sea grass in an area of a mid size room: now that is where you
can "dip" in the sea - up to your chest. It is simply not true that this is the case over all
Ambergis caye as some earlier reviews suggest: we moved to Ramon's Village after
two days, where you could swim, and it was not the only property on the island where there's acceptable access to the sea.

The Sandbar restaurant - your only choice for dinner, unless you rent a golf cart for about 70 US a day or want to bicycle to town - serves quite good Caribbean hot pepper infused meals and the owners, Laura and David are nice and fun people, though the place usually is quite deserted and routinely closes around 9.30 pm or so. We were there in February, middle of the winter season and I do not believe more than a quarter of the 40-odd cabanas were occupied. And the Sandbar is simply too far to town for non-RCR residents to venture there. Meanwhile there are pretty good restaurants in town, albeit a bit pricey for where you are. We dined at Rico's at the Banyan Bay Villas resort, which is the closest - apart from the Sandbar - to RCR: it was plain bad. But both the Sunset Grill and Blue Water Grill in town were OK and the Wild Mango on the beach, a 45-minute walk from RCR, is excellent.

All in all: RCR is mainly for people who are content with reading a book all day at the beach, maybe dip in the concrete pool once or twice, then have an early dinner and go to bed.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peti22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We just returned from an amazing Ambergris Caye vacation and a fabulous stay at the Royal Caribbean Resort. It was a tearful departure leaving such a beautiful place and such nice people. The staff (Jennifer, Patty, Nick and Nando) is undoubtedly the best attribute of the resort. Incredibly welcoming, courteous, knowledgeable, funny and warm come to mind in describing them. We made it a point to go to the lobby to visit, obtain the best local information and get our daily internet fix. They go out of their way to accommodate your needs and can easily book tours, golf carts, scuba, snorkeling and inter-island flights. Most of these items can be charged to your room. The office does close around 6:30pm so it’s best to plan your adventures early. Its southern location makes it quiet but still close enough to town to enjoy the San Pedro nightlife and/or shopping. I highly recommend renting a golf cart (which is expensive) when you get there. We thoroughly enjoyed tooling around in it.
The yellow thatched cabanas are laid out in rows. In other reviews and the Tripadvisor forums, this seemed to be detraction to the resort. We found it to be like a quaint Belizean village and just not enough reason not to stay there. The trim was being painted as we left in different hues of Caribbean colors. The cabanas are private, spacious, and very clean, with awesome air conditioning and ceiling fans. The windows can be opened for ocean breeze at night. Rooms were cleaned daily and refilled with fresh towels. The bed was very comfortable and made up daily. The shower had plenty of pressure and hot water. We found the kitchenette to be useful for making breakfast and coffee. The fridge kept our Belikan stouts very cold which was important! There is no cook top available so lunches & dinners need to be planned outside of the resort. The rooms could have used a couple luggage rack stands for our suitcases but overall, I can’t see why you wouldn’t enjoy the comfort of your cabana. We always say in our travels that “if you’re in your room the whole time, you’re missing the point.”
The pool is large and refreshing. It’s located right next to the Sandbar restaurant/bar which is convenient albeit a bit expensive. A few umbrellas around the pool would be a nice addition as there isn’t any shade unless you’re on the beach. The soft sand beach is great and has plenty of loungers & umbrellas. The hammocks added while we were there are heaven! You can’t venture out into the water too far as there is a lot of sea grass, but that’s the case all over Ambergris. I still managed to find myself a small patch of turquoise water to sit in! The dock at the resort is where small boats pick you up for tours, scuba or snorkeling. I even saw a man fly fishing right from the dock.
All I can say is that we found our stay to be comfortable, enjoyable and affordable. Most importantly, we met people who made our trip unforgettable! We WILL be back!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2009

After reading the reviews we decided on RCR for our honeymoon. It was perfect! The private cabanas do look a bit like a Disney version of a WWII army camp. Cute as anything. Super clean! The staff is helpful and friendly. The cabins have a sitting area and a small kitchenette whose fridge is perfect for keeping your rum and fruit juice for rum punch at the end of the day. The beach is a nice size. Skip the Sandbar restaurant (it's not owned by RCR and is boring) the food is ok but nothing goes on there. Rent a bike to make getting around easier although at $5 US each way for taxis is still far less than a golf cart rental. We walked into town along the beach everyday but would take a taxi back to RCR ... It allows you to see and explore and find new little treasures each day.

The Hidden Treasure restaurant is close by and is WONDERFUL! It's very upscale for the island but well worth it for a special night out. Less expensive but still quite nice is El Patio in town. Elvi's is fine although overrated. Snorkeling and diving are a quick 10-15 min boat trip (except Blue Hole 2-3 hours each way) - the boats pick you up at the RCR pier - very convenient.

RCR is perfect for travelers who want a clean place to stay with privacy and relative easy distance into town. Oh and use Tropic Air for the 15 minute hop to the island it's worth the money over the hassle of taking a boat.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uk_philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, TX
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2009

My husband and I just got back from our honeymoon on Amberguise Caye (3/5-3-10). The staff was amazing. "Nando" went out of his way to make sure we had everything that we needed. Our a/c unit was acting up the first night, and he offered to move us to a different room, and also resolved some very minute issues for us. The owner of the Sanbar (hotel bar) is an amazing guy as well, he and his wife Laura and tucker the lab truly made the visit enjoyable. The resort is a little bit out of town, but my husband and i found it perfect. It wasnt so far out of town that you were excluded, but it was quiet. Staying on the South side of the island was better for us, because we went in town every night. Had we stayed on the north side, we would have had to pay a $10us toll fee every time you cross the bridge. Theres no toll on the south side. We found it very easy to get back in forth with the bikes at the hotel. As far as how the place looks, go to expedia.com the pictures they have online are dead on. Everything was just as i expected. Each room is seperated into little houses, so you dont share walls. For the price, the place was awesome. Our only complaint about the trip, was the hotel's USA representative (Jennifer i think) I called her a month prior to inquire about getting married at the resort, and got a less than friendly or helpful response. I hope I just caught her on a bad day, but i was told that there wasnt enough notice, and she treated me like she didnt have time for me. I found out later, that we could have gotten married there for a very nominal fee. My husband called her back and asked about room decor for when we arrived (weeks later) and she was more then helpful to him so who knows. anyway moral of the story is great place to stay great price and great staff.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kato22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.8 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#30 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#37 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#22 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Caribbean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Caribbean Resort

Property: Royal Caribbean Resort
Address: 1 Seagrape Street | Ambergris Caye, Belize, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#30 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Caribbean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Royal Caribbean Resort in Belize. Situated a mile south of San Pedro town on Ambergris Caye, we offer quaint rows of tropical cabanas, manicured grounds, large beachfront freshwater pool and a pristine secluded white sandy beach. Our unique Belize resort offers unobstructed views of the Barrier Reef which is less than one mile from our beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Caribbean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Caribbean Hotel San Pedro
Royal Caribbean San Pedro
Royal Caribbean Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing