We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DC & Szana's Country Cabana
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Mata Rocks Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$225
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Bay Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$359
US$240
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayan Princess Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Banana Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$224
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Secreto(San Pedro)
US$521
US$500
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Cove Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$430
US$415
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
45
27
7
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
27
7
7
10
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We LOVE Tio and Pils! We were on San Pedro for 5 days and stayed the whole time at this hotel. The staff was awesome! We loved Dora, her boyfriend, and the others - they were so helpful! They helped us with our WiFi issues, booked a sailing trip (which was awesome) and even helped us order pizza (Pepperoni's, by the way, is fantastic!). The rooms are well equipped with all the comforts you need (running water, clean showers). Water bottles can be filled up in the office which is so helpful. Beds were comfortable and clean. The rooms are cleaned every day and water containers were put out to wash your feet off before you tracked sand all over your room. The view is awesome and location is perfect for all your Belizian needs (water taxi, diving, snorkeling, etc.). I was six months pregnant at the time we travelled, and this was the best location we could have picked. Dora and her boyfriend were so helpful, I will be forever grateful!

Room Tip: Choose a beachfront room, and get the corner rooms if you can. :)
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aldeberan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiopils, Owner at DC & Szana's Country Cabana, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Aldeberan5, we enjoyed reading your review as much as we enjoyed having you three here! We loved making sure your vacation was perfect and are glad you enjoyed it. :) All our best wishes! - Dora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Great location. Super warm welcome from the staff. Basic rooms but kept very clean.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank travelclo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiopils, Owner at DC & Szana's Country Cabana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2012

Travelclo4, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We always appreciate the feedback and are very pleased that your family enjoyed staying here. :) We hope to see you again soon. - Dora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I think this is one of the best deals in San Pedro. The hotel is in the heart of town, and you can walk from the water ferry along the beach to it. Its also right next to Amigos Del Mar so you don't have to get up any earlier to go diving.

Dora and her boyfriend have really taken over the operations of the hotel and are doing a great job. They are extremely friendly and eager to help make your stay be more enjoyable.

The room I stayed in was basic and clean. The patio at the hotel is amazing. It overlooks the beach and has some tables and hammocks to lounge in. The view is unbeatable.

The restaurant next door, Lily's Treasure Chest is great.

Overall, I highly recommend this place if you're looking for a no-frills, clean hotel on the beach.

Room Tip: The inside rooms are basic, with no view of the ocean. If you select an ocean view room, you walk right onto the patio.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerFromDC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiopils, Owner at DC & Szana's Country Cabana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

TravelerFromDC11, thank you very much for writing us a review. We're very happy to hear that you would recommend our hotel. Gus and I really do try to make sure that all our guests entirely enjoy their stay and are glad you did. :) Thank you once again and Happy holidays! - Dora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Its a very nice hotel, very close to the water taxi, not too many rooms and makes a great place to rest after a diving trip day or after a great night party at Sn Pedro, we spend about 3 days at San Pedro the rooms were kept clean, its an affordable place and its right infront of the beach and has one of the main streets at the back side. Great place to spend a few days on the island.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which was great, big balcony to have a couple of drinks on a table or just have yous stuff out to dry.
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gersson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiopils, Owner at DC & Szana's Country Cabana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review Gersson F. We're extremely pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and island. Since your stay we've continuously striven to improve and will be looking forward to having you here with us again. All the best- Dora.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Tio Pil's is a great budget hotel one minutes walk from the water taxi pier and therefore right on the water front. The staff are extremely helpful and the rooms and hotel is kept immaculately clean. The beds are very comfortable, there is plenty of hot water and the fans and air conditioning are a welcome extra. We stayed for five nights in October which is the low season and it was very quiet in San Pedro but the hotel is right in the centre so you can easily walk to the restaurants in town or walk along the beachfront to the dive centres. There is no swimming pool or fancy restaurant but at the prices charged you would not expect these facilities.Its definitely worth paying the few extra dollars for a seafront room which has a large balcony overlooking the water where you can sit for hours and watch the activity below

This is a long standing family hotel and Dora and the staff are working hard to make everyones stay a great experience and they definitely are doing a great job, Our advice, if you are coming to San Pedro, don't bother looking elsewhere just book Tio Pils, thanks Dora for a great stay.

Room Tip: Choose a seafront room for great views of the waterfront
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenselbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiopils, Owner at DC & Szana's Country Cabana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

We are elated to read your review! Thank you for taking the time to write about us and more importantly for staying with us. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your experience as much as we enjoyed having you here. Come back soon. Safe travels. Dora :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews